We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, cosy, family run hotel which was excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cobbled Yard Hotel
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Having spent the last two years having our holidays in Britain we have had quite a few "short-break holidays". This hotel was certainly on of the best ones. It's extremely clean, our room was a good size and the decor was very nice. The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for you (gave us good advice on the surrounding areas)
The hotel is situated in the centre of the town which was very handy for the shops and the Saturday market. The food was excellent with a real varied menu (recommend the haddock and chips and the homemade sherry trifle was our favourite!) We found Berwick to be ideally situated for a short trip to Edinburgh - we took the hotels advice and went by train - really nice day out - we'll certainly return to this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomseyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 94 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2009

This is very standard old pub type hotel with 5 rooms upstairs. They are very clean and remodled. Management is friendly. But check prices carefully on websites!

My mistake, I just phoned the hotel and spoke the proprietor Fred MIller and asked for best price for 2 nights. He quoted £60 single / nt. But their own www.cobbledyardhotel.com website however shows £55. When I mentioned this, he mubbled and dismissed it saying, " That is just the internet and things change! " When pushed he reluctantly agreed to £55. I note now that there are websites quoting these rooms for £32,50ppn. Seems best to go through those sites and do not contact the hotel directly! Also please know they take a deposit on booking, not just a card authorisation like most hotels. Check the cancellation policy if something comes up.

Note most websites quote this hotel has a 11:00 am check out. The proprietor however says it is 10:30 and you will be forced to pay another night if you are not vacated by then.

These are standard rooms (no phone) but very clean. Room toilets are saniflush type, so there the noise of the disposal electric motor grinding away on every flush. The shower is very low volume electric type. The shaver plug in my bathroom splits out the 2pin plug seconds after inserting it. No glasses for drinking, just 2 very flimsy cheap disposable plastic cups. This is what you might expect in a £25-£30 single, but definetly not for £60!

The food was average. Breakfast included, offers a choice of cereal <or> grapefruit sections, <or> orange juice! Then there is the full cooked english breakfast. Just was suprised that small glass of orange juice was considered a course in itself, in lieu of other choices. I have never seen type cost counting meaness with any inclusive B&B before.

If you eat dinner there, just be aware there is replaying electonic elevator music playing continously, suitable for those guests over 80, but enough to drive most others right up the wall!

The only advantage is that dogs are allowed for an extra £5 a night.

In all I would say it is a fine place to stay in Berwick if you want to be in the center of town. The price of £50 or more is definetly over priced,

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We stayed at the Cobbled Yard for 2 nights in October. As the other review says the hotel is very close to the station, the town centre and the old town walls, however it is also opposite the Jobcentre and council offices.

The rooms were very clear however the bathroom was tiny with very noisy plumbing, not helped by the toilet which is a macerate system which you certainly couldn’t flush at night for fear of waking the entire hotel!

Breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9.30 and whilst the staff were very friendly I wouldn’t recommend the breakfast – do avoid the sausages as I am not sure they had seen much meat.

The town has a number of shops but very few restaurants, however we could certainly recommend Café Curio (see separate review) and the Queens Head Hotel. It is worth walking around the town walls and following the Lowry Trail, as well as walking out to the lighthouse where we saw a grey seal.

A good weekend but I don’t think we would return to the cobbled yard.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Have to consider this as a lucky find as it wasn't our first choice but due to no vacancies at our original choice we settled for the Cobbled Yard and have to say that it will be our first choice from now on whenever we visit Berwick or Northumberland.
The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the railway station and is in a quiet street just off the main street. Ideally located to visit all the sites in town and is within the town walls.
Staff were simply wonderful and nothing was too much trouble from advising us on rural walks to places of interest to visit in Berwick itself.
The cooked breakfast was traditional, well presented and filling but the evening meals are out of this world. Great food and good prices (I heartily recommend the banana and toffee sponge with custard)
Facilities in the room include freeview on the TV, ironing board and iron, hair dryer etc
It also claims to be the only hotel in Berwick with free off-road parking which from walking around the town would certainly seem to be the case.
We are looking forward to our next visit already.
The Laing family in Fife

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roary-the-Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisel5939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
434 reviews
1 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
329 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 44 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#9 of 44 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle Vale House
Castle Vale House
#13 of 44 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cobbled Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cobbled Yard Hotel

Address: 40 Walkergate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range: £73 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cobbled Yard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly small hotel in Berwick-upon-tweed. We have 5 en-suite bedrooms: 2 family rooms, 1 double, 1 triple and 1 single. Having recently taken over the property (September 2017) there is an ongoing programme of updating including. We have started already by changing the bedding, guest amenity products, restaurant ambiance and food suppliers. Our food is locally sourced and where possible direct from the farm. Have a look the new imagea of our product. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cobbled Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cobbled Yard Hotel Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing