We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural paradise with first class accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fenham Farm Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a very special B and B with guest rooms in the converted steading of a working farm with glorious views across to Lindisfarne.Walter and Gill the owners take complete pride in all they do and have thought of everything you could possibly wish for - and more besides.The rooms are beautifully appointed and even have stone tiles on the floors - ideal if you are enjoying the great outdoors and come back with slightly muddy feet! There is also underfloor heating and a big commitment to green tourism for which they have won several awards. There is an excellent selection of teas and coffees in the rooms as well as a delicious piece of home baking to welcome you when you arrive. Breakfast is truly wonderful - it all looked so delicious and healthy I did not know what to leave out! Only slight drawback is the fact that the nearest restaurant is about three miles away so you really do need to have a car to come here or be a very keen cyclist. Another possible one might be that you have trouble getting to sleep because it is so quiet! An absolute pleasure to stay here - hope to be back very soon.

Room Tip: Any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarabella1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at Fenham Farm when attending a nearby wedding at Middleton Hall.

The accommodation was easy enough to find. The signage from the A1 was very good.

Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room when being shown around by the owner. The photos on the website look good but it is much better in person.

We had a great room with a sea view. All the little touches were present. Tea, coffee, biscuits and two wonderful slices of chocolate fudge!

Breakfast was excellent. There was a wide choice of fresh fruit, cerals, yogurts, tea, coffee, apple & orange juices. The cooked breakfast was excellent, and none greasy which we were both pleased about.

The owners are excellent, very friendly and there to help if needed.

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dj_ely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem. I ditto what everyone before me has said unless of course if it was negative! Attention to detail is outstanding. From the fresh milk in a flask, the home baked cake, the teapot, bottle opener/cork screw, umbrellas, to the fridge in the main house to store wine/soft drinks etc. We stayed in Lapwing which was a nice size room looking onto a garden but you could see the sea slightly. Excellent size bathroom, adapted for the disabled. There was a sofa also that could be used as a sofa bed for young visitors.
From the accomodation are some lovely walks. An easy one was carrying on down the road to the old mill, approx 5mins and cutting through to the mudflats opposite Lindisfarne. Or right opposite entrance cut down straight ahead to join path to causeway a mile or so away. The owners quite clearly love what they do and seems nothing is too much trouble. Truely wonderful, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulou090669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I feel really sorry for those reviewers who stayed here only one or two nights. We were lucky enough to stay for a week. It isn't always easy to find accommodation with three single beds in a room but Redshank room ticked that box nicely, with plenty of space and storage too. Other room highlights were the home made cakes (different every day - can't pick a favourite, they were all delicious), fresh milk, a teapot, bathrobes and very comfy beds. The range of fruit and cereals at breakfast was amazing and the cooked breakfasts of the highest quality (lovely, creamy, bright yellow scrambled egg). Walter's service at breakfast was second to none. Loads of tourist information is provided, including menus from local pubs and restaurants. The location is superb - very peaceful but just off the A1, so easy to get around from - with great views of Lindisfarne. This is a great area for birdwatchers - there's even a hide just up the road. We wouldn't stay anywhere else if visiting this area again as Fenham Farm could not be bettered.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Our rooms were in a converted cow shed, but what a conversion. Spacious and available made up as double or twin on request with a large sofa in the room. The breakfasts were marvellous and the hosts welcoming. We were walking the Coast path but had car back up. I'm not sure this would be ideally located for the walk without that as the nearest pubs/restaurant are several miles away. Lindisfarne and Berwick are within easy car reach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a beautiful B&B in an idilic setting near to Holy Island and Lindisfarne. Walter and Gill were welcoming and helpful above and beyond the call of duty! The rooms are beautifully appointed, the ensuite bathrooms have big showers and plenty of room. Colours all very calming and lovely artwork around by Gill's Mum, very talented! Nice outdoor area to sit in the sun and then through to the reception and dining area. We had fresh milk and homebaking on our tea trays each day and the breakfasts were delicious with fresh fruit, seeds, prunes etc. good choice of cooked breakfast. This part of Northumberland is so beautiful and with so much to see and do here I think we will be back ASAP! Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuluWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for one night when visiting Lindisfarne on Holy Island. If you don't want to stay on the island or tides make it difficult then this is an ideal spot to stay. Our room, Sandpiper, was spacious, warm and well equipped. The banana cake on arrival was a treat and breakfast was all you would want in a B&B. This farm is tucked away down a country lane and is a quite beautiful location - but you must have a car or bike!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sussexpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick-upon-Tweed
11.8 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
494 reviews
12.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,288 reviews
9.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
1.8 mi away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
9.4 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#7 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenham Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenham Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Fenham Farmhouse | Beal, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 2PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Hotel Class:4 star — Fenham Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation on a beautiful coastal spot overlooking Holy Island in an area of outstanding natural beauty and of special scientific interest. The premises are old stone buildings which formed part of the original farmsteading. Converting the smiddy, cow byre and cartshed has created 5 spacious en-suite rooms that are independent of the farmhouse and have individual front doors so your space is your own. You will enjoy modern comfort all round and be kept warm and cosy by underfloor heating. Our location is idyllic with an ever changing landscape as the sea comes and goes with the tide. The farm is an ideal base for walking, cycling, and exploring the local area – particularly Lindisfarne and Bamburgh with their magnificent beaches, castles and rich history, and The Farne Islands – a haven for wildlife. Breakfasts are served in the farmhouse with plenty of fresh options and cooked breakfasts made to order using local produce. Enjoy homemade jams, local honey and Northumbrian bacon and sausages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Fenham Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenham Farm Bed And Breakfast Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing