We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ian and Sandra Are Brilliant Hosts!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchorage Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I regularly stay at this B n B during my work with corps security- and the full English is something to look forward to-when I finish my nightshifts!!! - It's good to have a natter with Ian (whilst we're putting the world to rights!!!)- Good TV too- might buy one of those myself!!
Also has a lovely shower!!-Could do with a corner shelf for my shampoo though!!!
Keep the brown sauce flowing Ian and Sandra - lovely on that brekkie!!!

Room Tip: Not Room 2 -that's MINE!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a superb B&B with all that we could wish for in welcome, room and breakfast. It is well located for sightseeing and shopping if that is your thing. The only downside is the lack of parking but as it is unlimited on sunday and we left by mid-day on Monday we got it for free on the street outside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay at the Anchorage Guest House in Berwick-upon-Tweed. Ian and Sandra were very welcoming, and the room very clean, comfortable and had all the facilities one could need. Breakfast was excellent with ample choice. Also great to have somewhere secure to store the bicycle overnight, not to mention the opportunity to hose it down. The Anchorage is situated close to good restaurants and we had a very pleasant walk around the city walls which were within easy reach.

Room Tip: The Double Room with ensuite facilties that we used was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilVeitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Not quite sure how we came about booking this B&B, but really glad we did. Ian and Sandra are really welcoming, the B&B is extremely clean, and if you can get through breakfast without leaving some, then you must have a massive appetite! The B&B is very well placed for the centre of town and is very good value. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzydi711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the anchorage for just three nights and found Ian & Sandra extremely helpful and great hosts, breakfast was excellent and they even supplied a special storage area for our motorbikes...
There local knowledge of where to eat and what to do was invaluable, well done to them both.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue-SeaWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Had an enjoyable stay at the Anchorage Guest House in Berwick. Within walking distance from train station. Clean & tidy room, welcoming staff & a good selection of food and drink for breakfast. Execellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donaldk_jwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot on business and happened to chance upon this gem, for which I count myself very lucky!
My room and rest of the accommotation was spotlessly clean (and I have very high standards/expectations).
The bed and pillows were comfortable, the location felt safe for a lone female traveller and it was quiet.
There are many unexpected and thoughtful extras, which I would normally only expect from a much more expensive hotel, let alone B&B e.g. Shower cap, toiletries, ample supplies of tea, milk etc., a couple of kit kats (lovely touch!) and free wifi.
The house is full of Georgian character such as window shutters, a wonderful staircase (look up for a view of the stunning domed skylight! And my room had a good ensuite with a modern shower.
If I have one tiny vritivism, it would be the size of bath towels was a tad too small to wrap all the way around me- I'm a large lady though!
Breakfast was well cooked, with quality local ingtedients and I had a huge pot of tea all to myself.
I'd highly recommend a stay. The hosts were lovely - very knowledgable and welcoming. I honestly think that they undercharge for what is on offer. It cost me half of what a night at a boring generic chain would be (ie Premier Inn etc) and I'd have gladly paid more. I van 100% recommend this lovely B & B.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#33 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#7 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parade School Guest House
Parade School Guest House
#6 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Captain's Quarters
The Captain's Quarters
#45 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wallace Green Hall
Wallace Green Hall
#11 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Guest House

Address: 35 Woolmarket, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range: £40 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage is a grade 2 listed Georgian town house in Woolmarket,a quiet street close to the historic centre of town.The Maltings Art centre,restaurants,town walls and the river Tweed are all close by. The Anchorage has just been tastfully renovated. The Anchorage has 1 double, 1 twin and 1 single room, all rooms are en-suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Guest House Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing