We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house. Lovely view”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 6 Pier Maltings

Open-plan living on the second floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open-plan living on the second floor
Master bedroom door and balcony Ground-floor bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Open-plan living on the second floor
Master bedroom door and balcony
Ground-floor bedroom
Kitchen and dining area
The Pier Maltings river front
Mezzanine
First-floor family bathroom
Master bedroom
Ground-floor bedroom and ensuite
View from the ground-floor bedroom
Living area
Mezzanine window
The arch leading to Pier Maltings
Pier Maltings
View from the second floor
Berwick Pier from Pier Maltings
View down the coast from Pier Maltings
Spittal Point and the view down the coast
Berwick and its old bridge
Berwick's Royal Tweed Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marely
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house. Lovely view”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved this house. The property was originally a Maltings which has been converted into townhouses. The house is full of light from the many skylights and every room has a sea view. The 2nd floor living / dining area is huge and beautifully furnished. (loved the window seats overlooking the harbour) Also loved the attention to detail throughout the house. There is also a glass walled mezzanine level in the roof space with a table and chairs and a laptop for guests use. The family bathroom is lovely and has a whirlpool spa bath. The house was in immaculate condition but still felt homely. The table was also laid for afternoon tea when we got there with a lovely cake and welcome card left by the owners Katharine and Michael Tiernan. I would have no hesitation recommending this to anyone looking for either a quiet break, or a base to explore further afield. We had a great time and were sorry to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved everything about this house.
Liked least: No negative comments whatsover.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debs294no...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

What can we say except that we had a truely amazing holiday, this town house is absolutely awesome has definitely has the WOW factor. The house is beautiful, it is light, bright and airy, it is very tastfully decorated throughout. The house itself has everything you need and much more, it was exceptionally clean throughout, it was such a relaxing atmosphere, the furnishings were lovely, the whirlpool bath amazing, it exceeded all our expectations and more, the photo's, descriptions and what we had been told, did not do it justice.
The owners were lovely and nothing was a problem, from the day we booked until our return, one of our party had a minor back operation just before we went and we thank the owners for helping us with that. The flowers, teabags, milk and lemon drizzle cake on arrival added an extra special touch.
The ever-changing sea views were absolutely stunning as was the house, would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Got to say everything, truely amazing
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsNeed...
Leeds
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We had a wonderful short break at pier maltings. Beautifully decorated yet comfortable an homely aswell. Very well equipped an a very tasty an thoughtful home made cake on arrival. Perfect setting for peace an stunning views and very convenient for shops, pubs and restaurants...wish we could have stayed the week!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuG32
1 review
“Couldn't be closer to a view to die for.”
Reviewed 22 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

2nd time we've stayed in winter - we're a family of four and this beautiful and house full of light ticks all the right boxes - really well done.
Berwick is out there on its own - can't think of anywhere in uk quite like it. The Lowry trail is a delight. Why hasn't Berwick spawned its own art community and style?
Stayed for a week, and day in Newcastle / Gateshead on the train was a big highlight - next year Edinburgh?
Recommend 'black bun' from bakers bear town hall - Scottish delicacy, £6.00 a loaf (staff will warn you of price as soon as you look at it!) but it's a treat to last the week.
All in all can't recommend it highly enough.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misterjba...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Townhouse for Family Holiday”
Reviewed 4 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I visited 6 Pier Maltings for a belated 30th birthday celebration for myself at the end of September. We stayed for a weekend, arriving Friday evening and leaving first thing on Monday morning. I often travel by rail down the East Coast and have passed through Berwick-Upon-Tweed many times, vowing to visit one day.

The townhouse is very well located, looking out over the Tweed mouth, and is spread out over three floors with a smaller mezzanine level at the top (three and half floors?). There are three bedrooms; one master with king size bed and TV, one on the ground floor with an en suite, and a smaller one on the first floor with two single beds. Both of the bathrooms are well equipped with a jacuzzi bath in the upstairs bathroom. The kitchen is huge and very well stocked making preparing food a breeze; large fridge/freezer, gas hob, ovens, plenty of prep area, toaster, microwave, etc. Indeed, we ate in every night bar one when we visited the nearby Queens Head hotel for a Sunday evening meal.

The light is fantastic, and the views are great, better when the tide's in mind you. Plenty of lounging space, a library of books and a television of course. As it's off the main road it is also very quiet, I was woken up only by the sound of the waves gently lapping the shore in the morning.

Berwick-Upon-Tweed is very small but has a good number of interesting shops; a couple of vintage clothes and bric-a-brac places, a really well stocked kitchen goods place, coffee shops and souvenir places. You can hire bikes (as we did) and cycle round the coast to Holy Island, it's a 20 mile round trip. Also worth a mention is The Barrels pub at the end of the street, great ale selection and very welcoming with some good nights on at the weekend in the downstairs area (a reggae, dancehall, dub night on the Saturday we were there). Great walks around the town walls and down by the Tweed as well as a brief sojourn through the town itself.

All-in-all, a great, comfortable and spacious place to stay in a great location for a quiet weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very relaxing and comfortable
Liked least: Sink in first floor bathroom kept splashing me
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Reviewed 18 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything but the location is stunning
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane B
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb - home from home in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 4 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Wow were the first words that we uttered. Accommodation is first class. Lovely special touches - table laid for tea and delicious lemon cake awaited us, together with fresh flowers on the table. The views of the estuary and sea were fantastic. Binoculars and books to help identify the bird life were really helpful. Walks around the city walls and along the River Tweed from the front door and a 15 minute walk to the train station make this an ideal spot if you want a break from the car. We only booked for a week but would have loved to have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and high standard of property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing