We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect and excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redrig Cottage

Redrig Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redrig Cottage
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect and excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stay here. The photos don't do it justice at all & it's so peaceful.

I've always had a phobia of b&bs having stayed in some overly attentive, overly floral ones for work so when we booked this for a last minute get-away I was expecting average....

You're greated by lovely hosts who very kindly welcome you in, point out fresh milk in the fridge & then just leave you to the homemade lemon drizzle cake & shortbread biscuits... *nom nom nom*

Once in your room you'll find it immaculately clean and decorated in a simple and homely style. The ensuite was so clean it looked brand new. Our room had a sofa and a lovely double bed that looked out over the fields to the sea in the distance. There's only one other room and a few houses near by and we never heard a squeak from anyone.

You pick your breakfast the evening before which avoids waste & wait and it was delicious.

The couple who own & run the place are friendly without being one of those overbearing b&b owners & I would absolutely recommend the place to anyone. We'll be back.

Berwick is a few miles down the road (car is essential for this place) and in the other direction we had dinner in a lovely pub called Craws Inn. Once again friendly and home made food. Good beer too.

If you're after peace & quiet and some time to yourselves this is the place. If you're after a base to investigate Northumberland & the borders this is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katdave19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were touring Scotland without stanav and came via Edinburgh during Friday rush hour, so it was dark when we got near and approached from a direction not given. John's instructions were fine, but we expected the railway bridge to be near to Ayton and 'second left' to be within a hundred yards or so of the bridge. On reflection, it's all relative and shows difference between country and city dwellers

What an absolute delight we found when John welcomed us showed us round and left a most hospitable cake. Room was spacious, warm, clean and tea tray well stocked - even fresh milk from the fridge. The settee was a great touch. Excellent breakfast in the kitchen so could make and top up tea pot/toast etc. It was a pity the morning mist hid the views and we had plans to move on early. We would have loved to walk the lanes..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockerbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Redrig cottage is not easy to find unless you follow the very detailed directions provided by John but it is worth the journey. We were greeted by Claire and her delicious lemon cake and tea. The countryside is delightful and there are walks for those who wish to have a look around. We enjoyed our stay and the peaceful setting. Claire's breakfast. including home made preserves was good and we would return there.

Room Tip: I think that there are only two rooms and we were travelling with another couple and there seemed li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindagreenacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

A lovely b&b in the middle of beautiful countryside. A car is necessary for getting in and out of Berwick and for restaurants and pubs, but there are walks within a few metres of the property. The rooms were clean, airy and individually decorated. Homemade cake and great breakfasts in a relaxed atmosphere. We were visiting for a family party and this was a very lucky find.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham Kent UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Firstly, you need a car!!! Having said that, we could not fault this wonderful B&B. The welcome was good, the rooms were lovely,lovely linen and towels, and a very comfortable bed, and the breakfasts-well!! The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs( from the next door farm) were delicious. Home made jams and marmalades of all different flavours, all the extra touches that make a visit that bit special. John also makes beautiful cakes- which add to the welcome.
The cottage is surrounded by fields, but with a car is an ideal place to stay to visit the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Spent two nights at Redrig Cottage with my wife. Room was excellent and equipped with everything you need. It was clean and comfortable. John the host was brilliant. He met us on arrival and gave us the choice of two rooms. He explained the breakfast ordering process. We enjoyed an extensive breakfast on both days. We used the B and B as a base to explore the area visiting Holy Island and Berwick on Tweed itself. Both very historic places. We then moved on to Scotland having found the place to be an ideal half way stop. Must just mention the cakes we had Lemon Drizzle and Jaffa Orange Sponge both delicious. Would definitely go again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

John the owner gave us a very warm welcome and for them to have such short notice of our booking, there were no faults whatsoever. They also baked us a lemon drizzle cake and biscuits, delicious! Has the feel of coming home. We are just about to leave the cottage now, i couldn't say anything bad about this beautiful place, so comfortable here, honestly don't want to go yet, enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
5.5 mi away
Caroline House
Caroline House
#2 of 4 in Spittal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#21 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Castle Vale House
Castle Vale House
#11 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Rob Roy Restaurant
The Rob Roy Restaurant
#8 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.5 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redrig Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redrig Cottage

Property: Redrig Cottage
Address: Redrig Cottage Moorpark Foulden Redrig Cottage | Foulden, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Hotel Class:3 star — Redrig Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Redrig Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redrig Cottage Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing