We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, clean and well-equipped - perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
oil mill lane living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
oil mill lane living room
kitchen main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
oil mill lane living room
kitchen
main bedroom
bathroom
Oil Mill lane self catering apart
Berwick upon tweed
sun deck end of may
An Indian style BBQ
Berwick Pier
Berwick's Old Bridge built 1634
The Avenue originally built for Army Officers 1720.
View of Berwick's pan tiled roofs from Fishers Fort
View fro Berwick's pier to Spittal Beach
View from Coxons Tower to Saluting Battery
View from Coxons Tower to Fishers Fort
The Russian Gun at Fishers Fort
View from Brass Bastion to Windmill Bastion
Berwick's High Street, Marygate and The Guild Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, clean and well-equipped - perfect!”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Oil Mill Lane apartments ranks as probably the most well equipped and comfortable cottage we have ever stayed in. John was there to greet us on our arrival and provided parking permits and information about places to go and where to eat. The welcome pack of milk, chocolate cake, and fruit bowl were really welcome after an eight hour drive, and the fresh flowers were another added touch of welcome and homeliness. I always take some essential pieces of kitchen equipment with me on holiday as often they are missing from a holiday let, but everything you could possibly want was provided at Oil Mill Lane, and we made good use of the slow cooker especially. The apartment was warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean and was just what we needed to rest and recharge our batteries. The location of the apartment is ideally situated in a quiet part of town, yet only a two minute walk to the town centre one way and a two minute walk to the estuary in the other. There are three big supermarkets within a 5 minute drive which is also useful for emergency trips to a pharmacy at 10 o'clock at night! We spent quite a bit of time relaxing at the apartment but we enjoyed visiting Edinburgh (by train), Lindisfarne, St. Abb's Head, Paxton House and Eyemouth and found the location to be an ideal base for visiting the area. All in all we had a lovely week at this wonderful apartment in an amazing part of the country and have no hesitation in recommending.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and cleanliness of the property
Liked least: Noisy seagulls
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Dear Alison, David and Hanna, its very good of you to spend your time to give such a lovely review of the apartment and informative of the local and surrounding attractions. I really must thank you for leaving the apartment very clean and very tidy, I would certainly like you and your family to vist again and again, best wishes, John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very comfortable and quiet apartment”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent a week in Oil Mill Lane - two couples - and found it very relaxing and comfortable. John, the owner, is friendly and very helpful about local info - where to visit, places to eat out, etc. As other guests have mentioned, the milk, cream cake and bowl of fresh fruit waiting for us were thoughtful little touches and much appreciated.

The apartment itself is centrally situated and within walking distance of shops and attractions but also quiet. It is very well-appointed and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We visited a number of attractions in the area, including Norham, Alnwick and Bamburgh Castles, Holy Island, Chain Bridge Honey Farm and Flodden Field. Berwick is an ideal base for visiting the many places of interest in North Northumberland, as well as being a border town with its own rich history.

Unfortunately, the weather meant we were unable to enjoy sitting in John's beautiful garden but it does afford a very nice view from the living room (even in the rain)!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Dear Paul,
many thank's for your super review despite having a week of terrible weather you all managed to visit quite a lot of attractions in the local area. Well done and thank's again, Best wishes, John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_mariahut...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My mother and I recently stayed at Oil Mill Lane Apartment. When we arrived the owner was there to greet us and carried our luggage in. He showed us round the apartment and explained where everything was and how everything worked. There was a pint of milk in the fridge along with a fresh cream cake, there was also a supply of tea, coffee and sugar, a bowl of fresh fruit and some beautiful roses waiting for us on our arrival. The apartment was spotless, very spacious and comfortable and contained everything you could possibly need to make you feel at home. The owner was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for him. We are already talking about returning for another holiday next year. Excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The apartment contained everything you could possibly need
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Dear Maria, thank you so much for your lovely comments, you also left the apartment very clean and tidy which is much appreciated. I am looking forward to your next visit when we can have a BBQ in the garden, Best wishes to you both, John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilman201...
Hesse, Germany
1 review
“Central, quiet, very clean and comfy”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Highly recommended!
Great location. Quiet Place. Very friendly owner! City center within a few minutes walking distance. Many attractions in and around Berwick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Many thanks for you lovely review. You were excellent guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireG36...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely peaceful apartment in centre of town”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Fantastic apartment, very clean and well equipped, very central but also very quiet. John the owner could not have been more obliging. He left a welcome pack of milk fruit and cake which we appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Dear Claire,
many thanks for your kind review you are such a nice couple and in your short stay managed to visit quite a number of the local attractions using local transport. I would be very happy for you to visit again, Kind regards,
John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarryRobe...
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in a historic town”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed here from 16th-23rd August 2014. Its a two bedroom apartment with a double bed in the main bedroom and a bunk bed (with the lower bunk almost a double size) in the second bedroom. So it can sleep 5.
The lounge is a very good size and equipped with a large screen modern TV, blue-ray DVD player, etc. Kitchen and bathroom both a good size and very clean - as was the whole apartment.
We found it very comfortable and extremely well supplied with all the accessories one might require.
Parking is via a resident's parking permit supplied by the owner (John)- and is outside the property. John also very kindly supplied us with a Northumberland County Council Parking Disk which saved us a lot of money during the week as we didn't have to pay in any NCC car parks.
John was very welcoming and offered helpful advice about local sights to visit and the apartment contains a wealth of brochures, tide times, bus and train timetables etc - just about everything a tourist might need if using Berwick as a centre for exploring Northumberland and the Borders area.
There is an attractive garden with seats, BBQ, and a clothes drying facility (whirly gig).

John was an excellent host and we have no reservations about recommending others to stay at his Berwick apartment.

Berwick itself has the city walls and castle which are well worth a hike around. There is much evidence of the contested nature of the town - for history buffs, There is a pier - which merits exploration. Plus a Lowry Trail - the artist used to holiday here regularly - check out the Lowry Gallery. Within driving range are trips to the Farne Islands (grey seals...and puffins if you go along at the right time of year) from Seahouses; Bamburgh Castle; Alnwick Castle and gardens (used in some of the Harry Potter films); Barter Books in the old railway station at Alnwick (one of the biggest second hand bkshops in Britain); Craster (old smoke houses and a kipper shop); Dunstanburgh Castle. We also took a train ride into Edinburgh and went along to a couple of shows at the Fringe - a brilliant day out. St Abbs Head - just over the border - is worth exploring and is a short drive from Berwick.
So...don't be put off by the name (Oil Lane Apartments !) - its a great apartment and a smashing base for exploring Northumberland and the Borders. Many thanks to John for helping make our holiday so enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Kitchen facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Hi Mike and Zita, many thanks for a splendid review. I didn't see much of you both as you really packed a lot of traveling into your holiday,
Best wishes John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpetual...
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“The Best Equipped Self-Catering Cottage I have encountered. Perfect!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have been using self-catering accommodation for my holidays in England for the past 25 years, and I can say without a work of exaggeration that this is the best equipped cottage I have come across. The owner John has given great thought to what is needed to make for a thoroughly comfortable and relaxing weekend, without making the place feel at all cluttered. But beyond that attention to detail, it is John himself who makes the place just that bit more special. He is always there when you need him, but in a manner that is not at all intrusive. He goes above and beyond: he picked us up from the train station Saturday evening and even offered to drive us there on our return...despite the train leaving at 6:30 a.m.! He gave us a lift to go shopping for groceries, and then gave us an impromptu tour of the town on the way back. It is the small things that can often make a place memorable...from the wine, fresh roses and chocolate sponge cake awaiting our arrival to the offer to use his clothes dryer when the one in our cottage was not working (and which John promptly had fixed). If there is anyone who should be running this kind of business it is John. He keeps the apartment spotlessly clean and everything in good order. The apartment is conveniently located near the ramparts and to some very lovely restaurants, and a parking pass is provided with the apartment rental. We had a truly lovely time and highly recommend this lovely, perfectly appointed cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The many little extras provided in the apartment by John.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your great review, I really enjoyed your company and its great to hear the apartment had everything you needed, kind regards, John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing