We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wednesday night is band practise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fishers Arms

The Fishers Arms
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wednesday night is band practise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Enjoyed a meal here after receiving a warm welcome from the landlord. The local band meet on Wednesday and we enjoyed some fine music on penny whistle and mouth organ. Food was simple but well cooked and puddings were very nice indeed

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank a27ngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Proper English pub with a great Geordie welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Whilst staying at the chainbridge camp site we visited the fishers arms on two occasions, once to eat and once for a drink, on both occasions is was quiet but we got a very warm welcome from the landlord who sat chatting to us as we had a drink. The food we had was lovely, good home cooked grub, the batter on the fish and chips was the lightest I had ever tasted. Lovely little traditional pub with a nice welcome, felt like a local not a tourist, definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gumpandwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

It was very quiet on the night we visited and had been let down by a pub we had booked - we picked the Fishers Arms from the Good Beer Guide and when we walked in we were greeted warmly and given a table. The pub looked a 'bit tired' and we wondered if we had made the right decision. But we needn't have worried - the food was good home-cooked grub, a good price and good beer as you'd expect. We all loved the sherry trifle for pudding! Very friendly and good service

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gcook68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A 'must do' for fine pub grub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The first time we used 'tripadvisor' to find somewhere new to visit and eat we read a review saying the Fishers Arms served the best fish and chips. The reviewer wasn't wrong. Small quiet village and large quiet pub/ restaurant.
When we entered the pub the chap standing at the bar reading a newspaper was not a customer. He was in fact the co-owner, who, along with his wife, the chef, run a very laid back place that serves some of the finest food we have eaten over the 40 or so years of travel and eating pub grub. Their beer battered fish is the best we have ever eaten. The owner admitted that the peas and chips that accompanied the fish were frozen but if he had said they were fresh we would have had to believe him. The selection of sweets, though tempting, were not chosen as we were both unable to eat any more. A very good selection of wines, at reasonable prices, made us remark that we would be back in the near future.
After a very disappointing visit to an hotel less than 6 miles from the Fishers Arms, the following Saturday, we returned to the Fishers Arms, this time to enjoy a meal with a my sister.
This time we had the chicken chasseur, steak and ale pie with puff pastry topping and minted lamb cobbler. It won't be long before we return to the Fishers Arms with other members of our family as an excuse to enjoy their food, company and friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janette-jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly village pub with good meals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We visited this pub twice whilst staying in a cottage in a nearby village, once in the evening & once at lunchtime. On each visit we were given a warm welcome by the landlord & good service. The meals we had were great, good pub grub at a very reasonable price. We will certainly visit this pub again when we are back in the area later this year.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jmystockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fishers Arms also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The Fishers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing