We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tucked Away - YHA”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Granary Bistro

Granary Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: As part of the YHA, the Granary bistro is open to all from 7:30am until 8(ish)pm. We offer a wide range of light bites, homemade soups and sharing platters in a modern, contemporary setting.We cater for large groups of all ages and can arrange parties and functions to suit, using either the ground floor bistro or the mezzanine. We also have fully equipped conference facilities for which we offer a full catering service. Whatever you're looking for, we'll try and accomodate you if we can.
Greenlaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tucked Away - YHA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Granary Bistro/Cafe is on the ground floor of the YHA and is a fine place to hide away over a good coffee or lunch in Berwick. It has a convenient alleyway to the harbourside and is a welcome stop if walking around the ramparts. Nice art gallery above to round off a stop!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice cafe and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Attached to the hostel, this cafe provided a pleasant late lunch (comprising very nice panini's) tea and coffee. In fact, the rest of the menu looking very appetising. It was also good value. Nice with lots of room inside and with tables outside for the warmer days.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Mrs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Well mixed review here...several tables covered in crumbs..had to look for clean one..the cutlery which was in pales was not clean..the bottom of the buckets had paper in them which was dirty.....I returned the cutlery and was given clean ones.the chef brought out the food with a very grubby jacket on.....not nice. We waited at least 20 minutes for the food....The food was okay...the restaurant was not busy..only 4 other people there.....

Helpful?
Thank suseeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great location and good food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Attached to both hostel and gallery this restaurant is just perfect. Friendly staff and great menu with well considered selections - the portions were suitable even for a big eater like me. The soups were very tasty and the sandwiches and pizzas were very tasty.
Excellent place to relax with indoor and outdoor seating - absolutely worth a visit - L.S. Lowry exhibition on at time if visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe with seats outside so you can take dogs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Excellent lunch in a really nice cafe whicb we came across by accident. Parking requires a permit which they can give you. Seats outside so we could take our dog. Gorgeous lunch enjoyed by all (make your own burger, toastie and soup were our choices). Very friendly staff

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missbrightstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granary Bistro also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Granary Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing