We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The very best in the region” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paxton House

Paxton House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the finest examples of an 18th-century Palladian Country house in all of Britain. There are many activities at Paxton House to keep you busy for a whole day, including house tours, boat trips and net fishing on the River Tweed, tearoom and gift shop, extensive grounds and gardens, galleries and exhibitions. We also have different types of accommodation, including an apartment, a lodge and a caravan park if you wish to stay and enjoy Paxton House for longer.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The very best in the region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

As a culture vulture I was in 7th heaven staying in the area visiting castles..islands...historic sites then I found my 8th heaven and quite simply WOW!!....the tour guide was superb...cafe excellent...and all so readonably priced...I just wish every stately home was as organised and welcoming as Paxton :-)

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Teddie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 18 June 2016
Thank you so much, your kind words have brightened up our day!! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit so much, we also have accommodation on site if you were wanting to return! It would be great to see you again at Paxton House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    110
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

It's a great day out wonderfully grounds we wandered for miles. House tour was very informative the guide was excellent. Lunch in the cafe was also a truly home made a fair and very yummy. I would recommend a visit.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 17 June 2016
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit- the cafe produce fresh home baking daily using ingredients from around the Paxton estate. I'm sure on your return visit you will discover even more areas to wander in the grounds as they are extensive. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Sunday outing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2016

Jioned a tour guide ,most knowledgeable on Chippendale furniture but ,opinion of four "oldies" he lost them in over elaberation.Would have viewed at our own pace but not a great deal of visual information.
Also disapionted as ,tour did not include gallery as ,private function was taking place.
Must attempt to have Richard as a guide on next visit.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 17 June 2016
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback! We are always wanting to improve the guest experience at Paxton House. We are now looking into the possibility of offering 'free flow' tours where guests can look through the house at their own pace. On this occasion you should have been informed that the tour was going to be cut short, I am investigating why this didn't happen and will make sure that future guests are informed if they are not getting the full tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely setting , excellent tour of the house, very friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2016

We had a really enjoyable day out at Paxton House. The weather was good and we made the most of the walk around the lovely gardens . The tour of the house was very interesting , the guide was excellent. The meal we had at the tea rooms was lovely, all home made food, probably one of the best meals we had during our week away. All the staff were very efficient and friendly. We'll be back!

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Thank you for your kind review! We are glad that you enjoyed many different areas of Paxton house. The guides have a great passion for the house tours and try hard to make sure the tour is enjoyable for everyone. We are glad that you had a great meal in the tearoom too, and we hope to see you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best guided house tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2016

Very enjoyable tour of a modest historic house, large collection of original Chippendale furniture. Our guide (Richard) was excellent, entertaining and very informative. Very good value.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank bobble350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 10 June 2016
Thank you for your fantastic review! We will pass on your thanks to Richard, our guides invest a lot of time to learn about the house so we always appreciate it when guest thoroughly enjoy their tour. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paxton House also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Paxton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing