We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Paxton House and Grounds

A great venue for taking the dogs, who were allowed in the grounds and to eat with us in the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
TonyD569
,
Belford, United Kingdom
Wow just wow

What a genuine site Paxton house wonderful grounds excellent staff and worth every penny the house... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
Andrew S
via mobile
Read all 624 reviews
  
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveller rating
441
155
17
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
155
17
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chippendale furniture guided tour adventure playground lovely grounds picture gallery tea room zip wire the river old stables stables cafe boat trip teddy bear stately home extensive grounds well worth a visit walled garden knowledgeable guide
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 624 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

It's a great day out wonderfully grounds we wandered for miles. House tour was very informative the guide was excellent. Lunch in the cafe was also a truly home made a fair and very yummy. I would recommend a visit.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit- the cafe produce fresh home baking daily using ingredients from around the Paxton estate. I'm sure on your return visit you will discover even more areas to wander in the grounds as they are extensive. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Jioned a tour guide ,most knowledgeable on Chippendale furniture but ,opinion of four "oldies" he lost them in over elaberation.Would have viewed at our own pace but not a great deal of visual information.
Also disapionted as ,tour did not include gallery as ,private function was taking place.
Must attempt to have Richard as a guide on next visit.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback! We are always wanting to improve the guest experience at Paxton House. We are now looking into the possibility of offering 'free flow' tours where guests can look through the house at their own pace. On this occasion you should have been informed that the tour was going to be cut short, I am investigating why this didn't happen and will make sure that future guests are informed if they are not getting the full tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We had a really enjoyable day out at Paxton House. The weather was good and we made the most of the walk around the lovely gardens . The tour of the house was very interesting , the guide was excellent. The meal we had at the tea rooms was lovely, all home made food, probably one of the best meals we had during our week away. All the staff were very efficient and friendly. We'll be back!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank SheffieldLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thank you for your kind review! We are glad that you enjoyed many different areas of Paxton house. The guides have a great passion for the house tours and try hard to make sure the tour is enjoyable for everyone. We are glad that you had a great meal in the tearoom too, and we hope to see you back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Very enjoyable tour of a modest historic house, large collection of original Chippendale furniture. Our guide (Richard) was excellent, entertaining and very informative. Very good value.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank bobble350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for your fantastic review! We will pass on your thanks to Richard, our guides invest a lot of time to learn about the house so we always appreciate it when guest thoroughly enjoy their tour. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

I took my daughter here for a quick visit on our way to Berwick (she had to get the train back to London at 3pm, or we would have stayed longer). We didn't have much time, but we did need lunch! So we visited the Stables Restaurant.

My daughter was keen to try a traditional Northumbrian dish, so we ordered panhaggerty - it was delicious! We were served by very friendly staff, and the food freshly cooked to order.

We will be back!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank NUTMEG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed some of our local dishes! Be sure to pop in whenever you are passing as the stables tearoom are always cooking fresh, local dishes. If you have time, our grounds are great to have a walk around in aswell!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews