We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyable and great value

Spent an enjoyable 3.5 hours at Paxton House. A good walk around the grounds included the beautiful... read more

Reviewed yesterday
NewcastleGeordie83
,
Newcastle
via mobile
Lovely walk round the estate

We visited for the grounds and had a lovely circular walk round. The flower beds gave me... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Karen W
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Read all 619 reviews
  
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveller rating
438
154
17
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
438
154
17
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chippendale furniture guided tour adventure playground lovely grounds picture gallery tea room the river boat trip zip wire old stables stables cafe stately home teddy bear well worth a visit jacket potato highland cattle extensive grounds
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 619 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Very friendly welcome and an enthusiastic guide gave us a tour of the house to explain the history of the house and family that had lived there and the objects on display. A great example of an Adam house with some superb furniture on display.
It also has a nice garden with river walks.

Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased to hear your enjoyed your time here at Paxton House. The house is so rich in its history and the Chippendale collection really makes it something special. We hope to see you back here to enjoy more of what Paxton House has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Have made a number of visits to Paxton House now!
The house tour is excellent and gives you a real feel for how folk lived in the past and the rooms show off the opulence of yester-years culminating in a wonderful picture gallery.
Some fabulous furniture including many items of Chippendale manufacture!
The tea room is a must visit - excellent food and drink to sustain you and we broadened our knowledge of Paxton House yesterday by taking the boat trip on the Tweed - really great views and Kerry - our tour guide - showed excellent skills manoeuvring some shallow bits of the river and showed us many salmon/sea trout lying under the boat using his fish sonar!
It's a lovely house in a lovely setting and a must see if your in the East Berwickshire area on a holiday or short break

Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are so glad you enjoyed many aspects of Paxton House. The boat trips are truly amazing, and the fish sonar make it even more exciting. It would be great to see you back at Paxton soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

As a culture vulture I was in 7th heaven staying in the area visiting castles..islands...historic sites then I found my 8th heaven and quite simply WOW!!....the tour guide was superb...cafe excellent...and all so readonably priced...I just wish every stately home was as organised and welcoming as Paxton :-)

Thank Teddie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2016

Thank you so much, your kind words have brightened up our day!! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit so much, we also have accommodation on site if you were wanting to return! It would be great to see you again at Paxton House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

It's a great day out wonderfully grounds we wandered for miles. House tour was very informative the guide was excellent. Lunch in the cafe was also a truly home made a fair and very yummy. I would recommend a visit.

Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit- the cafe produce fresh home baking daily using ingredients from around the Paxton estate. I'm sure on your return visit you will discover even more areas to wander in the grounds as they are extensive. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Jioned a tour guide ,most knowledgeable on Chippendale furniture but ,opinion of four "oldies" he lost them in over elaberation.Would have viewed at our own pace but not a great deal of visual information.
Also disapionted as ,tour did not include gallery as ,private function was taking place.
Must attempt to have Richard as a guide on next visit.

1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback! We are always wanting to improve the guest experience at Paxton House. We are now looking into the possibility of offering 'free flow' tours where guests can look through the house at their own pace. On this occasion you should have been informed that the tour was going to be cut short, I am investigating why this didn't happen and will make sure that future guests are informed if they are not getting the full tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews