We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous house and tour (and cafe!)”
Review of Paxton House

Paxton House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the finest examples of an 18th-century Palladian Country house in all of Britain. There are many activities at Paxton House to keep you busy for a whole day, including house tours, boat trips and net fishing on the River Tweed, tearoom and gift shop, extensive grounds and gardens, galleries and exhibitions. We also have different types of accommodation, including an apartment, a lodge and a caravan park if you wish to stay and enjoy Paxton House for longer.
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We bought our tickets for Paxton House online, an easy process. My wife found the details of the house and all we can say after our visit is, excellent!
The house is really quite something and it was interesting to see how the descendants of the house lived. The chippendale furniture is rather impressive too. We went on a tour of the house with our guide, Jim, who we have to say, was brilliant. Extremely friendly and knowledgeable, we'd thoroughly recommend if you visit to go on the tour. He made the tour entertaining, fun and we left with a good understanding of Paxton. Thanks Jim!
The gardens are also beautiful and we saw goldfinches and a great spotted woodpecker in the bird and squirrel hides.
A special mention to the ladies in the cafe too. They were so friendly and the food on offer was delicious. I had lamb hotpot (which was a special of the day) which reminded me of one my mum would make, it was so nice. My wife had cumberland sausage and jacket potato which was also very very good. We treated ourselves to a slice of victoria sponge each for after which was also tasty (home made - always a winner).
If you're in the area Paxton House is a brilliant place to visit. We spent four - five hours there and had a fantastic time. We'd have quite like to have left with a guidebook so we could have read more at home, but a very small gripe!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are so glad you enjoyed your time here at Paxton House. There is so much here to see and its great you took the time to see it all, the house has that 'wow' factor as soon as you walk in and then the grounds are just beautiful. I will be sure to mention to the ladies in the cafe your wonderful review of their amazing home made food, always the best way to dine when you having a day full of adventure. Thanks again for your feedback, we always like to know where we can make improvements and a guidebook is something we are looking into for the near future, but we will hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chippendale furniture"
in 52 reviews
"guided tour"
in 62 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 24 reviews
"lovely grounds"
in 24 reviews
"picture gallery"
in 22 reviews
"tea room"
in 46 reviews
"zip wire"
in 19 reviews
"the river"
in 122 reviews
"old stables"
in 18 reviews
"boat trip"
in 37 reviews
"stables cafe"
in 15 reviews
"teddy bear"
in 13 reviews
"stately home"
in 12 reviews
"extensive grounds"
in 7 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 49 reviews
"walled garden"
in 8 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 9 reviews
Filter

320 - 324 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2016

Very friendly welcome and an enthusiastic guide gave us a tour of the house to explain the history of the house and family that had lived there and the objects on display. A great example of an Adam house with some superb furniture on display.
It also has a nice garden with river walks.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank P9274TAlindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased to hear your enjoyed your time here at Paxton House. The house is so rich in its history and the Chippendale collection really makes it something special. We hope to see you back here to enjoy more of what Paxton House has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Have made a number of visits to Paxton House now!
The house tour is excellent and gives you a real feel for how folk lived in the past and the rooms show off the opulence of yester-years culminating in a wonderful picture gallery.
Some fabulous furniture including many items of Chippendale manufacture!
The tea room is a must visit - excellent food and drink to sustain you and we broadened our knowledge of Paxton House yesterday by taking the boat trip on the Tweed - really great views and Kerry - our tour guide - showed excellent skills manoeuvring some shallow bits of the river and showed us many salmon/sea trout lying under the boat using his fish sonar!
It's a lovely house in a lovely setting and a must see if your in the East Berwickshire area on a holiday or short break

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank davidwA9034DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are so glad you enjoyed many aspects of Paxton House. The boat trips are truly amazing, and the fish sonar make it even more exciting. It would be great to see you back at Paxton soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

As a culture vulture I was in 7th heaven staying in the area visiting castles..islands...historic sites then I found my 8th heaven and quite simply WOW!!....the tour guide was superb...cafe excellent...and all so readonably priced...I just wish every stately home was as organised and welcoming as Paxton :-)

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Teddie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2016

Thank you so much, your kind words have brightened up our day!! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit so much, we also have accommodation on site if you were wanting to return! It would be great to see you again at Paxton House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

It's a great day out wonderfully grounds we wandered for miles. House tour was very informative the guide was excellent. Lunch in the cafe was also a truly home made a fair and very yummy. I would recommend a visit.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit- the cafe produce fresh home baking daily using ingredients from around the Paxton estate. I'm sure on your return visit you will discover even more areas to wander in the grounds as they are extensive. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paxton House also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Paxton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing