We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great boat trip from Paxton house ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paxton House

Paxton House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the finest examples of an 18th-century Palladian Country house in all of Britain. There are many activities at Paxton House to keep you busy for a whole day, including house tours, boat trips and net fishing on the River Tweed, tearoom and gift shop, extensive grounds and gardens, galleries and exhibitions. We also have different types of accommodation, including an apartment, a lodge and a caravan park if you wish to stay and enjoy Paxton House for longer.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great boat trip from Paxton house ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Our family went on boat trip today from Paxton house. Had a lovely trip along the river tweed and our 4 young children loved it. Rounded off with a play at the adventure playground and walk round the grounds. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 29 June 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your boat trip, the Tweed is a magical river. Maybe next time come and enjoy a lunch in our lovely Stables Tearooms, all homemade produce prepared the same day. Thanks again and we hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    110
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful walks and an interesting house tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2016

Lovely grounds and a peaceful atmosphere, this is a good place to bring visitors and friends. There is a good bistro open for lunches, teas and coffees, with home made dishes and cakes.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Stercks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 28 June 2016
Thank you for your lovely review- we are glad you enjoyed our grounds. The tearoom make fresh dishes and baking daily, using local ingredients. Our menus change frequently so it is different for regular visitors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful stately home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Visited Paxton House as we were attending a vintage rally and were very impressed with the grounds and house. Lovely walks along the river Tweed which we could take the dogs and a delightful tearoom. Well worth a visit if in the area as only 4 miles from Berwick.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Jesscrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 28 June 2016
Thank you for your kind review- we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Our grounds are quite extensive and extend right out to the chain bridge, so there are many different walks you can take. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent gardens and tearoom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

After a walk round the well marked paths a visit to the tea rooms in the old stables is a must. Great hot food and really great cakes.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy57B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 27 June 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so encouraged to here you enjoyed your day here at Paxton House. The Tearooms are so wonderful after a nice long walk around the gardens the food really is a welcome sight, it is all home-made which makes for a delicious meal, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Excellent and very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2016

The staff are all very friendy. The tour which is definitely worth it was an eye openers,,this place is full of Chippendale furniture, Raeburn paintings and lots more. Our guide was Jim Stewart ( I thnk that is his surname) was fun and informative. A good guide makes the tour do much more enjoyable. The grounds are lovely and the tea room is good price and food was tasty- fantastic Victoria Sponge cake. I would certainly visit again.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank ScottishPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 27 June 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review and its wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your time here at Paxton House. The Chippendale furniture is one of the biggest in the country and the picture gallery is such a wonderful treasure to behold here. We are so encouraged by your review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paxton House also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Paxton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing