We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Splendid venue, great afternoon out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paxton House

Paxton House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the finest examples of an 18th-century Palladian Country house in all of Britain. There are many activities at Paxton House to keep you busy for a whole day, including house tours, boat trips and net fishing on the River Tweed, tearoom and gift shop, extensive grounds and gardens, galleries and exhibitions. We also have different types of accommodation, including an apartment, a lodge and a caravan park if you wish to stay and enjoy Paxton House for longer.
Coldstream, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Splendid venue, great afternoon out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Paxton House is a wonderful venue situated on the River Tweed and with all the grandeur offered by a classic stately home, albeit in a smaller more relatable way. There is much to see and with regular events throughout the year, it is worth checking out what is going on. The grounds are lovely, especially down by the River Tweed, where demonstrations of salmon netting can be seen at certain times of the year. The house, whilst grand, is homely and all the more attractive for that. If you are on the area and are looking to find something to do for an afternoon, it could be the perfect solution.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Coldst57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 2 July 2016
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad we can provide so much for you to enjoy at Paxton! For upcoming events, we have Music at Paxton running from the 15-24th of july and many more in the next few months. Thank you again for your support, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    110
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A grand day out at Paxton House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2016

Guided tour of the house was excellent. Guide was well informed about the history of the house and it's occupants, and the tour was a suitable length. The house itself is beautiful, well furnished and many portraits are on display. The grounds are well kept formal gardens and a riverside walk. Good value for money

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 1 July 2016
Many thanks for your kind review! We are glad that you enjoyed your house tour and the grounds! Our groundsmen work very hard to keep them looking beautiful all year round, so your positive feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Return Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Our second visit to Paxton House was as enjoyable as the first. We were just too late to catch a tour when we arrived but passed the time with a visit to the Carrie art exhibition and lunch in the delightful tea room, before taking a (slightly soggy) walk down to the river.

Our guide, Richard, was very knowledgeable and witty and the tour (which over-ran) was just as good as last time. We learnt even more about the house and its owners.

Another visit to the tea room for tea and cake finished off a very pleasant afternoon. We shall return! Next time, we hope to take the boat trip.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank MoPho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rainy Day made better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Visited Paxton House on the 29th of June, was a pouring wet and rainy day and we're working our way round a lot of stately homes!

We booked for the 3.30 tour -the last tour of the day. With half an hour to kill we had a wonderful cup of tea and cake in the stables tearoom before meeting for the tour.

Our tour guide; Richard was fantastic, he took us round the house a leisurely pace allowing us to gape and fully appreciate the beauty of the house, his jolly demeanour and anecdotes make me feel so comfortable and the tour so much more enjoyable! Can I also commend him on his knowledge of the history, architecture and contents of the house, he is a credit to your staff!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraser W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 30 June 2016
Many thanks for your wonderful review! We are so glad you managed to fill a rainy day with activities at Paxton House. I will pass on your kind words to Richard, he definitely is a credit to our staff! We hope to see you back at Paxton again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great boat trip from Paxton house ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Our family went on boat trip today from Paxton house. Had a lovely trip along the river tweed and our 4 young children loved it. Rounded off with a play at the adventure playground and walk round the grounds. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this review, 29 June 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your boat trip, the Tweed is a magical river. Maybe next time come and enjoy a lunch in our lovely Stables Tearooms, all homemade produce prepared the same day. Thanks again and we hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paxton House also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Paxton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing