We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Paxton House and Grounds

A great venue for taking the dogs, who were allowed in the grounds and to eat with us in the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
TonyD569
,
Belford, United Kingdom
Wow just wow

What a genuine site Paxton house wonderful grounds excellent staff and worth every penny the house... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2018
Andrew S
via mobile
Read all 624 reviews
  
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveller rating
441
155
17
10
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
155
17
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chippendale furniture guided tour adventure playground lovely grounds picture gallery tea room zip wire the river old stables stables cafe boat trip teddy bear stately home extensive grounds well worth a visit walled garden knowledgeable guide
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 624 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We passed this as we were travelling past on the rural road from Berwick to Kelso. We had not planned to visit but called as we were passing. There is free entry to RHS members but only on one day of the week. We were short of time so felt the entry fee per couple not worth a short visit. Will probably go back some day

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

Thank you for your review- we appreciate your feedback. Our RHS free entry day is a Thursday. We have tried to offer a reasonable rate for everybody to use Paxton House on a regular basis, we have a £3.50 day pass and a £5 annual ground pass, which allows you access to all the grounds and gardens everyday of the year. Without these small donations from customers we would struggle to keep our doors open and keep the grounds maintained. We hope you visit Paxton House again soon, as we can assure you that the grounds are extensive and there are many different activities on offer so each visit will be different from those before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Guided tour of the house was excellent. Guide was well informed about the history of the house and it's occupants, and the tour was a suitable length. The house itself is beautiful, well furnished and many portraits are on display. The grounds are well kept formal gardens and a riverside walk. Good value for money

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Many thanks for your kind review! We are glad that you enjoyed your house tour and the grounds! Our groundsmen work very hard to keep them looking beautiful all year round, so your positive feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Our second visit to Paxton House was as enjoyable as the first. We were just too late to catch a tour when we arrived but passed the time with a visit to the Carrie art exhibition and lunch in the delightful tea room, before taking a (slightly soggy) walk down to the river.

Our guide, Richard, was very knowledgeable and witty and the tour (which over-ran) was just as good as last time. We learnt even more about the house and its owners.

Another visit to the tea room for tea and cake finished off a very pleasant afternoon. We shall return! Next time, we hope to take the boat trip.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank MoPho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Visited Paxton House on the 29th of June, was a pouring wet and rainy day and we're working our way round a lot of stately homes!

We booked for the 3.30 tour -the last tour of the day. With half an hour to kill we had a wonderful cup of tea and cake in the stables tearoom before meeting for the tour.

Our tour guide; Richard was fantastic, he took us round the house a leisurely pace allowing us to gape and fully appreciate the beauty of the house, his jolly demeanour and anecdotes make me feel so comfortable and the tour so much more enjoyable! Can I also commend him on his knowledge of the history, architecture and contents of the house, he is a credit to your staff!

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank Fraser W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Many thanks for your wonderful review! We are so glad you managed to fill a rainy day with activities at Paxton House. I will pass on your kind words to Richard, he definitely is a credit to our staff! We hope to see you back at Paxton again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Our family went on boat trip today from Paxton house. Had a lovely trip along the river tweed and our 4 young children loved it. Rounded off with a play at the adventure playground and walk round the grounds. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank clairedP4626RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your boat trip, the Tweed is a magical river. Maybe next time come and enjoy a lunch in our lovely Stables Tearooms, all homemade produce prepared the same day. Thanks again and we hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews