We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to spend the afternoon.”
Review of Paxton House

Paxton House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the finest examples of an 18th-century Palladian Country house in all of Britain. There are many activities at Paxton House to keep you busy for a whole day, including house tours, boat trips and net fishing on the River Tweed, tearoom and gift shop, extensive grounds and gardens, galleries and exhibitions. We also have different types of accommodation, including an apartment, a lodge and a caravan park if you wish to stay and enjoy Paxton House for longer.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We spent a couple of hours walking the gardens down to the river. The views are lovely. It's very peaceful. There is a nice play ground for children. It's a bargain at 3.50 per adult. We had an amazing Excellant lunch in the coffee shop. Local smoked trout and salad.

Thank Justine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your walk and lunch at Paxton House. The boat trips that we run down the river tweed are also a great way to entertain children when you visit us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chippendale furniture"
in 42 reviews
"guided tour"
in 59 reviews
"the river"
in 116 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 23 reviews
"boat trip"
in 36 reviews
"lovely grounds"
in 22 reviews
"picture gallery"
in 21 reviews
"zip wire"
in 18 reviews
"tea room"
in 41 reviews
"old stables"
in 16 reviews
"stables cafe"
in 14 reviews
"teddy bear"
in 12 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 47 reviews
"highland cattle"
in 6 reviews
"extensive grounds"
in 6 reviews
"walled garden"
in 8 reviews
"salmon"
in 14 reviews
Filter

270 - 274 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2016

Excellent guided tour by Richard. Well informed, interesting and fun with the children in the party. Second visit however will return again. Thank you for a lovely day.

Thank Kath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Many thanks for your lovely review- we are glad that you enjoyed your tour of Paxton House. Thank you for your continuous support of Paxton, we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We passed this as we were travelling past on the rural road from Berwick to Kelso. We had not planned to visit but called as we were passing. There is free entry to RHS members but only on one day of the week. We were short of time so felt the entry fee per couple not worth a short visit. Will probably go back some day

1  Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

Thank you for your review- we appreciate your feedback. Our RHS free entry day is a Thursday. We have tried to offer a reasonable rate for everybody to use Paxton House on a regular basis, we have a £3.50 day pass and a £5 annual ground pass, which allows you access to all the grounds and gardens everyday of the year. Without these small donations from customers we would struggle to keep our doors open and keep the grounds maintained. We hope you visit Paxton House again soon, as we can assure you that the grounds are extensive and there are many different activities on offer so each visit will be different from those before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Paxton House is a wonderful venue situated on the River Tweed and with all the grandeur offered by a classic stately home, albeit in a smaller more relatable way. There is much to see and with regular events throughout the year, it is worth checking out what is going on. The grounds are lovely, especially down by the River Tweed, where demonstrations of salmon netting can be seen at certain times of the year. The house, whilst grand, is homely and all the more attractive for that. If you are on the area and are looking to find something to do for an afternoon, it could be the perfect solution.

1  Thank Coldst57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad we can provide so much for you to enjoy at Paxton! For upcoming events, we have Music at Paxton running from the 15-24th of july and many more in the next few months. Thank you again for your support, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Guided tour of the house was excellent. Guide was well informed about the history of the house and it's occupants, and the tour was a suitable length. The house itself is beautiful, well furnished and many portraits are on display. The grounds are well kept formal gardens and a riverside walk. Good value for money

1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Many thanks for your kind review! We are glad that you enjoyed your house tour and the grounds! Our groundsmen work very hard to keep them looking beautiful all year round, so your positive feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paxton House also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Paxton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing