We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed for one night . Although welcome was friendly that was the end of anything positive. The hotel and room are both very tired. The dinner was terrible with vegetables cold and food poorly cooked and presented.The breakfast was even worse with the tea undrinkable food cold and i did not even get what i ordered.
Advertised as an up market hotel and restaurant but this was anything but. we had some of the worst food I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    132
    33
    14
    11
See reviews for
60
249
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We didn't know what to expect, having chosen a place a little outside of Berwick......and very close to the Scottish border, as we found out when we drove a little too far past the Marshall Meadows turning. Really friendly and helpful staff: every single one of them, and a very comfortable room: we were made so welcome. The amazing freshly-baked short bread and sponge cakes that we had in the lounge every day, along with all our dinners (we chose to eat here, for convenience) were great.....'though perhaps I'd avoid the seafood platter as it wasn't the best I've had. Most enjoyable were the breakfasts: try the fantastic kippers; I've never had anything like it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkannie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

7 of us stayed here whilst on our way to Scotland and had the most fantastic time. The owners cannot do enough for you and the whole experience was relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable, especially the food !!!

Many thanks to David and Robert for everything, and also to the lovely staff. There was a wedding on our first night, but we had been telephoned and warned prior to our visit, and it did not disturb any of us.

David also helped us with booking golf courses in the area, which were wonderful.

Will be returning next year and make this our base for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for one night as a family (kids and grandparents in tow..) as we were visiting nearby Holy island (Lindisfarne) for the Viking re-enactment.

We had two children with us so had requested a family room but as this was taken we were given a double room with extra beds. This concerned me at first and Robert (the owner) was fantastic and offered us an additional twin room if were were unhappy. There was no need as the room was beautiful with plenty of room for the 4 of us, including a lovely comfy sofa so the children could curl up and watch a movie in the afternoon. There is free WIFI available which was great for the kids and board games and cards available which led to a wonderful relaxing family afternoon.

The hotel itself is charming and such a wonderful friendly atmosphere and nothing was too much trouble. There was a wedding in the conservatory (which from previous experiences at hotels could have been a nightmare) but there was absolutely no problem at all as they were separate to the other hotel guests who were not part of the wedding party.

The real gem of this hotel however is the food...if you live locally you should go just to experience the fabulous food, and if you are visiting this is reason enough to stay. This in itself is wonderful but when you consider they were also catering for a wedding at the same time makes it even more special.

I look forward to going to stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which was beautiful and overlooked the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were well met at the reception desk after telephoning ahead to make a booking whilst travelling up to Scotland. Help with cases was given upstairs to a beautifully decorated room overlooking the developing new garden. It was interesting to walk around this area (previously an old tennis court and car park apparently) after our evening meal which must have been cooked by the last winner of master chef! All comments in the dining room whilst we were there were excellent. 'First class' and 'lovely meal' and 'very tasty' were just some of the comments we heard. We loved the chocolate mints left on the dressing table, a nice gesture. The breakfast, after a good nights sleep, was well prepared and served by efficient waitresses (the same as in the evening). We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to return the next evening..luckily there was one room remaining so popular is this hotel. Another couple had also required a second night after enjoying their stay so much too. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a quiet country area ( no amusement arcades for miles!) and excellent personal service from the two brothers who own the hotel. We will return again very soon I am sure.

Room Tip: All rooms seem quiet as it is a very quiet area. All seem to have good outlooks too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Ok, the decor is an odd mix of dated and quirky and the music is a throwback to 1970s hippy heyday at times but we really enjoyed the experience. The two brothers are a different mix of personalities but the food was great and they couldn't have been more helpful.
Rooms were clean and everything there.
The wine chillers were a particular feature!
We will be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vickst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on the last leg of our Honeymoon. The hotel is a country house set in 15 acres of grounds. Although we didn't eat there in the evening, the food looked fantastic and everyone we spoke to raved about it. The breakfast was fantastic, especially the locally caught and smoked Kippers. Very dog friendly and the staff were excellent. Will defiantly return for our anniversary :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick-upon-Tweed
2.7 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
23.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill-on-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
19.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
5.9 mi away
Chirnside Hall Hotel
Chirnside Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirnside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel

Property: Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Address: Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel Marshall Meadows, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1UT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marshall Meadows is an authentic Georgian, 3 star country house Hotel, standing in around 15 acres of peaceful grounds with sea views. It is uniquely situated just outside the historic town of Berwick-Upon-Tweed only a stone's throw away from the A1 crossing point of the Scottish Border. It is, therefore, both the first and last hotel in England depending upon one's point of view. The hotel is believed to date from the mid 18th century and provides the perfect setting for a relaxing break, discovering the attractions of border country or for the more adventurous numerous coastal and inland walks and cycle routes, great golf courses and fishing on the river Tweed. The hotel comprise 19 letting rooms, in addition to a main bar, residents' lounge, restaurant, large function area and music room, conservatory and terrace overlooking a large well manicured front lawn. Entrance to the grounds is via a tree-lined driveway flanking a wooded stream. The rear of the hotel overlooks a farmyard, paddock and walled garden. The location allows easy access to the main town, Northumberland Coastal attractions such as Holy Island and Alnwick Castle, National Parkland and the Scottish Border Regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Meadows Country Hotel
Hotel Marshall Meadows Country
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing