We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious, comfortable, well equipped and great...”
other travellers have booked this property
View of the front of the property facing open fields.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the front of the property facing open fields.
Lounge dining room Beautiful well equipped kitchen with breakfast bar, fridge, freezer,oven, hob and dishwasher.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
View of the front of the property facing open fields.
Lounge dining room
Beautiful well equipped kitchen with breakfast bar, fridge, freezer,oven, hob and dishwasher.
Master Bedroom
En Suite to the Master Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Family Bathroom
View over farmland from the Living Room
Uncrowded Local Beach at Cocklawburn
Another uncrowded beach at Cheswick
One of the Forest Walks along the River Tweed
Horse Riding in the Cheviot Hills
The beautiful College Valley in the Cheviots
Bamburgh Castle from further up the coast
The local beach at Bamburgh
A fantastic view of Holy Island. Not to be missed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
REHarroga...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious, comfortable, well equipped and great location”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A most attractive property in a lovely location surrounded by open country but very close to local amenities. Two excellent pubs close by for good meals. The kitchen is very well equipped. House bathroom, en suite and a laundry/cloakroom. Dog friendly with very pretty enclosed garden area, outside eating area, laundry line. Excellent off street parking area. Lovely neighbours.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with our two university aged kids and two dogs. The area offers interesting places to visit for all ages including some fascinating standing stones, a magical waterfall you can climb under and an outcrop of rocks with strange Druid type markings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bright, clean, airy well maintained
Liked least: Everything was great
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your very nice comments, I am really pleased you had such a good stay. Don't forget if you wish to return just let me know and you'll get a 10% discount on all charges.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
Rawtenstall, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely peaceful location give or take a few tractors passing by. Very well equipped, comfortable and clean property. Great garden to sit out in If you get the weather. Plenty of places to visit round about - car is a must tho.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Really really pleased you had such good holiday and the weather was kind to you. Please remember you get a 10% discount on any future bookings. Kind regards, Judi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcmullanj...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well equipped.”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Comfortable, spacious and well equipped cottage. Ideally located for access to Berwick on Tweed the North Northumberland coast and Scottish Borders.
I had some difficulty before leaving getting the access details. Be warned that communication through Trip Advisor is slow and when I emailed the owner directly her reply went straight into my trash. We assumed that 'linen provided' included towels but it didn't, they have to be specifically requested, so make sure you check this out and ask for them if necessary.
There are no shops nearby so again be sure that you take everything that you need with you.
Otherwise a very comfortable stay in a lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The garden. Lovely place to sit out.
Liked least: The small double bedroom, only really room for one person to move about
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your comments, and your points have been noted. Towels are now provided to stop any confusion. If you wish to return you can get a 10% reduction at any time of year just let me know. Kind regards, Juid
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Pipes”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The conversion is lovely and location is very peaceful. Kitchen was well equipped and we had everything we needed. Beds are very comfortable and everywhere was clean enough. (We were met by a fly graveyard at the lounge windows on arrival). Despite allowing pets it does smell very clean. However, I would also state the following for personal preference; the main thing being we all thought that both the settee and dining chairs are extremely uncomfortable. I would prefer that the drawers and cupboards in the kitchen were kept free of various miscellany that should be boxed and left elsewhere e.g. old DVD player and other unidentifiable pieces of plastic.
This is our first visit to this area and was assured by lots of people that the area was stunning - I would disagree; it is very nice but it doesn't hold a torch to Pembrokeshire or the West Country- I am from the midlands so there is no bias. We were limited in what we could do because we had the dog and the weather wasn't the best so overall it was not a good week in terms of getting out and about. I wouldn't recommend Berwick town or Hexham as places to visit (in the rain with a dog) Lindesfarne was very nice (nice weather) but no dogs allowed to the very top. Bamburgh castle very nice (no dogs allowed) but we did have a very good day in Edinburgh - well worth a visit. If you love castles, you'll love this part of the world - if you love to shop definitely go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Thank you for your feed back. The fly graveyard has been reported to my cleaning people. I cannot however control the weather unfortunately. I hope it didn't spoil too much of your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay with lovely sorroundings”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The old cart shed is a wonderful conversion and has all the amenities we needed, area is fantastic for walking and sightseeing, will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfy clean and homely
Liked least: forgot to close the blinds on the skylight
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Thank you very much for such a glowing review. We are really pleased you had a good holiday. Regards, Judi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well appointed and comfortable holiday let!”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The property is in a tranquil setting that is within reach of many places of interest such as Holy Island and Bamborough. We were most comfortable in the well furnished and roomy cottage. There is easy and spacious parking in the altogether attractive complex.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your comments. We are really pleased you had such a good holiday. Kind regards, Judi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissie2...
Little Hayfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great property in a great location for exploring Northumberland”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here at the end of August for a week with our teenage children. The house was very comfortable and well furnished/equipped. Very peaceful location. Although backing onto a road, it is a very quiet road. Holy Island/Lindesfarne Castle was a great day out, you need to cross when the tide allows. Bamburgh Castle was not far away, and we enjoyed our visit there. Alnwick castle and gardens was superb and also the town of Alnwick itself. We also went to Edinburgh for the day, twice ! Went to Royal Yacht - highly recommended, and the city, the Fringe Festival was on so plenty of entertainment for the day. Went by train from Berwick, the first time - takes about 50 mins. The second time we went by car, took about an hour, and visited the Zoo, to see the Pandas. The Zoo is lovely, and we managed to see the male Panda. You need to book timed tickets to go into the Panda enclosure. We had a couple of evening trips to the Leisure Centre in Berwick and played Badminton. There is also a swimming pool there. Eating out locally we recommend the Plough Inn at the end of the road. Very nice food. we also had a takeaway from one of the Chinese Restaurants in Berwick, which was good. M&S simply food in Berwick is next to the Leisure Centre, we went there a couple of times. Other supermarkets - Asda in Spittal is close, and Tesco in Berwick. Great week, would highly recommend the house, and we managed to keep teenagers happy (the wifi helped with this of course !).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was modern, clean, comfortable and very well equipped
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your comments. There is a 10% reduction for return renters. Just contact us if you wish to re-book. Regards Judi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing