We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky we came across this”
Review of Audela

Audela
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Lucky we came across this”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

After walking the walls in Berwick (lovely on a fine day) we thought we were headed for the ubiquitous chain coffee shop fore lunch when we found this place. Very nice, and cosy inside. Efficient service, great choice of teas which were very well presented. Home made cakes looked delicious but after a substantial sandwich I did not unfortunately have the room. Would return. There is wifi.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Two_Fogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    149
    44
    29
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenlaw, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Woof woof and Yummy”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a great place to coffee and cake in Berwick or even have a good lunch. And the place is dog friendly. The service was excellent. A regular eating hole!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great sunday lunch”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very good sunday lunch here. Roast rib of beef and dessert for £14 is good value in my opinion. The beef was very tender and came with a mountain of imaginative vegetables and gravy. The brioche bread and butter pudding was amazing. Nice wines too. Only feedback is that Michael Jackson music not that relaxing for sunday lunch!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 115115115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were staying in Berwick for 1 night en route to Scotland. I had researched trip advisor for recommendations, unfortunately for us Audela did not live up to its reputation. The restaurant had a board outside advertising fish and chips which seemed appropriate for a meal at the seaside.
It was 6.30 and we asked if they had a table, only 1 girl was working, after seating diners who did have a reservation she asked 2 ladies if we could share their table which was fine with us. Bench style table that seat 6 so there was plenty of room. A menu was bought but no sing of fish and chips, we asked about the board outside but were told that it was the lunch menu, no times on board. The server said she would ask chef if he could cook from the lunch time menu which he agreed to do, drinks were ordered at the same time as food. Food arrived and drinks had to be chased which eventually arrived, presentation good but food very mediocre, soggy thick batter on fish.
We finished our drinks and decided to move on.
Audela is a small restaurant that I feel looks after it's regulars, unfortunately they have no way of knowing if we could have become regulars.
Very disappointing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nicole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice and easy...”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a breath of fresh air, with a clean appearance, unfussy - yet almost gourmet- meals and drinks, relying heavily on local produce and artists. The lovely staff made us feel welcome and valued - and we will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nanacarbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Audela also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Audela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing