We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, but.....”

The fairways restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$26
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food, but.....”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Booked a table for 2 adults and 3 kids for 530pm, we arrived ten minutes early and was given a strange look from the lady behind the bar, she was rather stern looking. The restaurant itself is really in the bar area of the clubhouse
There's a good menu and they have specialist nights too Thursday is fish n chips but we all opted for a burger instead, it came to 31 pound and tbh it really was worth it very very nice indeed, unfortunately my 16 month daughter started kicking off so I went for a walk while the others were finishing off
When I came back 20 mins later they were waiting to order desserts so I went back to our caravan, they arrived 10 minutes later and said in the end they gave up waiting and just purchased icecreams instead
The other staff were very very polite and chatty and did say sorry that they never got back to us for desserts, there was however a large family in maybe 10-15 people so I can only assume this was the reason why...we would go back again as it was all home cooked and rather tasty indeed
3.5 out of 5
Not 4 as stated...ps cheer up bar lady!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    24
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service & value for money. What more can you ask for...”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

First visit & it won't be the last. Friendly helpful staff, nothing was a problem. Excellent food with prices which mean a family can eat out without breaking the bank.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazmcbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't get a steak cooked properly”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After having 2 great visits here, I brought my in laws for my son's birthday in April. It was steak night and my son loves a good steak. My son ordered his steak to be cooked rare, how he likes it. We had a very long wait on our meals arriving and when it did come the steak was cooked well done! I was about to send it back but he was that hungry he ate it the way it was. I thought it was maybe a blip because they were really busy and gave them the benifit of the doubt.

I decided to give it another go and went on Friday. My wife and I ordered burgers which I have to say were excellent and my son again ordered a rare steak. To say I was shocked when it came cooked well done is an understatement! This time I did send it back and when the replacement came it was cooked medium. My son didn't want to send it back again so just ate it. How can a chef get it so wrong? Surely if your charging nearly £20 a steak you would want to get it right!
I will probably return again for the burgers but steak is definitely of the menu for us

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank theboo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really poor service, average food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit here as I had enjoyed the food the first time even thought the decor resembles that of a old British Legion Club However I wish I hadn't bothered. we were seriously let down. Once again lasagne off the menu is it ever available? The spaghetti bolognese inedible, but on a plus the chicken dishes weren't too bad. There was a memorial service taking place in the other half of the club and was surprised that the restaurant was still open to the public. I thought this was totally out of order as there is no separation between eating area and bar. And don't complain, the owner (I assume it was she) does not believe the customer is always right and will belittle you in front of your arty. Waitress not to pleasant either! Will not be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank HelenMc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic as usual!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and sons were down in Berwick for the Hibs match and I had to take the chance to pop down from Edinburgh and meet them for dinner as it was Steak night! Was glad to see the sweet nachos still on the menu to round off another wonderful steak. Pleased to say we are returning for a week in August so will be back :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank konthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The fairways restaurant also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to The fairways restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing