We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Andy Howeys Birds of Prey Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a lovely couple of hours here. Having read the reviews and having a animal mad 2 and a half year old we thought we would give it a try and we were really pleased we did. We got there at quarter past 10 just after it opened and had a look round ourselves. They have some birds of prey and lots of other animals. Then the lady there let us feed the rabbits, stroke the guinea pigs, ducklings and chicks. At 11 o clock there was a animal show where all the creepie crawlies and animals were brought out there were stick insects, cockroaches, lizards, snake, tarantula, mouse and the two ladies gave lots of information about each one and then children and adults could hold them. At the end they brought put a barn owl to fly. Our little girl loved it and was eager to hold and stroke every animal. The only thing I would say is that if you were only interested in birds of prey this isn't really the place for you as we didn't see a flying display and there isn't a vast array of birds but if like us you are after a fun few hours learning about a variety of animals then I would definitely recommend it.

Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy H, Owner at Andy Howeys Birds of Prey Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review, We are pleased we were able to entertain you with our animal display. . We do actually have approx. 25 Birds of Prey, including Harris Hawks, 7 different species of owls, a Jay and Kestrels, all habitants of our Centre, and they are regularly involved in displays or photography workshops locally. Once again thank you for your view and we hope you will return when next in the area.

Regards
Juanita and Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"haggerston castle"
in 56 reviews
"creepy crawlies"
in 23 reviews
"bearded dragon"
in 14 reviews
"barn owl"
in 12 reviews
"corn snake"
in 9 reviews
"photo shoot"
in 5 reviews
"baby owls"
in 5 reviews
"reflection pool"
in 5 reviews
"hold snakes"
in 5 reviews
"the staff were great"
in 5 reviews
"his head"
in 5 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 10 reviews
"great hands on experience"
in 4 reviews
"photography workshop"
in 4 reviews
"educational experience"
in 4 reviews
"no pressure"
in 10 reviews
"family ticket"
in 8 reviews
Filter

282 - 286 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful visit here. The staff were informative and helpful. Got to handle creepy crawlies which was great.

Had the cutest bird flying between us.

A definite must whilst in the area. The highlight of our holiday!

Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy H, Owner at Andy Howeys Birds of Prey Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We would love to welcome you back next time you are in the area.

Regards
Juanita and Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a fantastic attraction. Totally worth the admission fee as you can stay all day or come and go as you please. Juanita, Louise and Carly were absolutely brilliant. We loved meeting and getting cuddles from "Fish and Chip" and also the new Barn Owl chicks. Children and adults alike will enjoy the information available and also the interaction with the exhibits. I would thoroughly recommend this attraction to anyone visiting the area. Hope all the babies that we saw are thriving well and growing quickly. Thanks to you all for a great day out.

1  Thank mrsb789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy H, Owner at Andy Howeys Birds of Prey Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your time spent with us, and yes all new additions are quickly growing up and and thriving.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.


regards
Andy and Juanita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We went to Haggerston last year and visited the centre my grandaughter loved it as did I.Returned again this year again and visited at least 4 times.Andy,Jauinta and all the staff are very knowledgable on both birds and reptiles .Well worth the entry fee as you are encouraged to stay as often as you like also your entry ticket is valid for the whole day so you can return.In my opinion the best value for money place on the Haggerston Site.Mia got to hold snakes birds guioea pigs.and an owl flew from handler to Mia a great experience for her .We would definately reccomend a visit.

1  Thank Pam968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy H, Owner at Andy Howeys Birds of Prey Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review and also recommendation, We are pleased you enjoyed your numerous visits to us during your week at Haggerston. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

It was our last day stopping at haggerston castle park and we had wanted to visit the bird of prey centre all week but there's so much to see and do in Northumberland. We made sure we went on the last day and we are so glad we did. The birds on show are beautiful and look so comfy and we'll looked after. We got to see baby chicks and ducks swimming around in the heat too lol they looked like they were loving their bath lol. The creepy crawly bit was a bit nerve racking for us both initially as we aren't too good with bugs and spiders but I am so glad we went in. We got to hold snakes, ducks, chicks, we had a slight interlude when an owl was getting flight training, we were allowed to help and we all took turns calling it and having it land on our gloved arm all under the supervision of the owners. We went back to finish the creepy crawly show and the part both me and my partner were dreading... The tarantula, we were put at ease and the spider wasn't brought to us but we could go and have a look and hold of we wanted to. My partner is absolutely terrified of spiders, but through the patience and reassurance of Juanita she managed to get up close and hold the spider, an absolutely massive achievement for somebody that would never be in.the same room as a spider. Throughly enjoyed the visit, held some creatures I never thought I would. Would definitely recommend a visit if you are ever close by. Thank you so much for an amazing experience Juanita, Andy and the team. Many thanks Michael and Sarah (one of the two spider ladies)

Thank michael771986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy H, Owner at Andy Howeys Birds of Prey Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you decided to visit and that you both enjoyed your experience whilst at the centre. Thank you for recommending us and we would look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in the area.

regards
Andy and Juanita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andy Howeys Birds of Prey Centre also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Andy Howeys Birds of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing