We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares”
Review of Deyn's Deli

Deyn's Deli
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While the word deli would usually imply high-quality fresh produce, that certainly was not the case at Deyn's Deli.

Although the prospect of a tasty homemade cake was certainly alluring, with one bite it became clear that it was not homemade, and probably was manufactured many months ago and recently thawed for my 'benefit'. While I admit that this is purely speculation, I wonder if the proximity to an Iceland supermarket has anything to do with the poor food quality. One might also wonder why the food takes so long to arrive when none of it is fresh.

The atmosphere also leaves a lot to be desired, from the plethora of dirty dishes in sight to the constant sound of a microwave disturbing my mealtime, all topped off by a rude and hostile manager. 0/10 would not recommend.
Shocked, horrified, and very disappointed

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddy M, Front Office Manager at Deyn's Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations.

However, I would like to reassure you that all our food is freshly made, on the premises, and certainly not frozen or thawed (although I am certain Iceland may with to take issue with your views on their quality...)

All our sandwiches are prepared to order in the Deli, and customers can not only observe this, but also request changes to our listed selection - something not possibly with pre-packaged fare from other establishments. Our scones, cakes, quiches and salads are made fresh daily and all clearly on display.

I do hope that you have a better experience should you decide to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Stopped by after four on a Saturday afternoon , service was excellent pleasant and helpful coffee nice and hot and cake delicious and fresh.

2  Thank stu992015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddy M, Front Office Manager at Deyn's Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

The best sandwiches and the best cup of tea anywhere in Berwick. Lovely surroundings with great views from first floor. Good selection of local produce. Takeaway also available. Definitely worth multiple visits!

Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddy M, Front Office Manager at Deyn's Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you. Look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Service was slow. Platter ofcooked sausages on the counter that customers had to lean over to pay cash or operate credit card machine. NO cover over said platter. I did ask as to why they were lying g there and the assistant looked bewildered at the question. She replied and I quote”they will be heated up and put into customers rolls!!!”zYnete was also a plate of scones with no cover. Shop was extremely busy as it was Easter Saturday but no excuse for food lying around uncovered. I will not be back

7  Thank Margot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

This was my first time in here and I would come again. It is more spacious on the inside than it looks on the outside and is very pleasantly furnished. Service was fine and the scones were delicious. Coffee was good too. It serves a pleasant range of casual foods at fair prices and is very centrally located for anyone walking through town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deyn's Deli also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Deyn's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing