We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Anne & William - 6-8th Feb 2015”
other travellers have booked this property
Linnet Cottage master bedroom with views out to fields
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Linnet Cottage master bedroom with views out to fields
Linnet Cottage with views out to organic farm land where you can see hares, sika deer and swallows. Sunfilled sitting-room, light and cosy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Linnet Cottage master bedroom with views out to fields
Linnet Cottage with views out to organic farm land where you can see hares, sika deer and swallows.
Sunfilled sitting-room, light and cosy
Kitchen with a pint of milk in the fridge and fresh organic free range eggs for breakfast
Kitchen table with fresh flowers from the garden
Power shower, local organic handsoap and luxury slate floor
Enclosed south facing garden looking out to open fields, barbeque available and peace perfect peace
Field of organic oats in front of Linnet Cottage
Unspoilt and deserted beaches a short drive away
Peace perfect peace
Cheswick beach only 15 minutes from Thornton
Breakfast in bed watching what's going on in the field, is it a hen or a guineafowl?!
Comments from our guestbook
Our much loved Herdwick sheep
It's all very relaxed at Thornton
Stunning coastline walks to Lindisfarne
Wildlife is very important to us at Thornton, enjoy walks around our field margins
Thornton Farm, a 600 acre organic arable farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annef1104
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Anne & William - 6-8th Feb 2015”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have just returned from a weekend away at the lovely Linnet Cottage. We cannot speak highly enough of the accommodation and the lovely Laura who gave us such a lovely welcome.
The cottage is perfcet for 2 and I just loved the decor in the bedroom and the bed itself was so comfortable it was amazing.
Well equipped, very very clean, superb views and a great place to get away from it all.Laura even left eggs, milk and fresh flowers on the table for us. Such a lovely touch. We would not hesitate to recommend this cottage to friends and family.
If you are down this area anytime please give Linnet Cottage a try.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved it all.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It has made my day. I am so glad you appreciated our eggs and the roses. We hope we see you again some time and can welcome you back to Thornton. All the best, Laura, Thornton Farm Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Di A
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great few days in Linnet Cottage, Laura has created a comfortable and very cosy holiday home. The lovely huge bed, the fluffy white towels and well equipped kitchen meant we were very happy to return after a day exploring the area, settle down with a glass of wine and chill out.
We would definitely recommend this cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It is great to receive lovely feedback and I am so pleased you had a wonderful short break. I hope we can welcome you back to Linnet Cottage some time in the future.
Best wishes, Laura Smales
Thornton Farm Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo755
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A beautifully presented and well equipped cottage. There is a luxury feel to the cottage from the big fluffy towels to the top quality kitchen equipment. My partner loves cooking and usually takes pan and knives with him because of the poor quality usually offered in holiday lets but this was unnecessary in Linnet Cottage.
The setting is beautiful and extremely peaceful. Laura manages the cottage very professionally whilst retaining the personal touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury feel
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. I am especially glad you found the quality of the kitchen utensils and equipment to be of a high standard. It is something we really try to maintain in Linnet Cottage.
We hope you had a safe journey home and very much hope to welcome you back to Thornton some time in the future. Best wishes, Laura Smales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R
Kirton, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely cottage on working farm. We stayed during a heatwave & was lovely & warm. Location lovely Only downside is that it describes cottage as semi but is actually only a quarter so lounge is very bijou with kitchen & dining room & lounge in approx 12ft sq space. Would recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Thornton. I will attach an access statement to Linnet Cottage's listing so that people can see the size prior to booking. It is a petite cosy cottage but is spread over two levels. The dimensions of the ground floor sitting-room come kitchen diner are 12 square meters. I hope we can welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage is a really good base for visiting the surrounding towns. Laura is lovely, really helpful, great with kids and teaching them how to collect eggs which my son really enjoyed. Will be coming back!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. It's great to hear your son enjoyed egg collecting, the ducklings have doubled in size since your visit. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra G
Lower Kingswood
1 review
“Cosy cottage perfect for 2 with dog.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Cottage is well equipped, clean with all mod cons. Best bed we have had on holiday for ages!! The situation of the cottage is quite remote, but a short drive takes you to some amazing beaches great for walking the dog. Some interesting places to visit Holy Island, Berwick and Farne Islands well worth a boat trip to see the birds nesting and seals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well kept
Liked least: Only suitable if you have a car to get anywhere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, glad to hear you slept well (very important on holiday)! Linnet Cottage is situated on a farm 5 miles from Berwick-upon-Tweed and our nearest pub is 5 minutes by car or 15 minutes on foot. I am pleased you had some great weather for the beach and the Farne Islands. Makes all the difference when you can see Lindisfarne Castle in sunshine! Thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissie D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect escape from city life”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Brilliant weekend, v comfortable cottage with everything we needed. Great advice re places to eat out. Loved Cheswick beach. Everyone we met was friendly and welcoming.
Thanks Laura - We hope to be back before too long!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, they are much appreciated. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed the restaurants we recommended, The Plough Inn and Audela in Berwick. Cheswick beach is awsome, and it's even better you got a fantastic weekend to walk along it. Hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing