We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queens Head Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“NICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

had a meal here whilst staying at a different establishment in Berwick and on entering immediately wished we had booked here instead.
The atmosphere was great in the bar and restaurant with good beer and a decent menu.
The food was ok but way too salty for my wife who suffers from an ulcer so, a third of the way through it had to send it back.
To their credit a replacement meal was offered but was declined and a desert was provided without charge.
This hasn't put us off a return when we will probably book a nights stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyp949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Many thanks for your constructive review Mikey. May I firstly apologise if your wife's lasagne was not to her taste. Its difficult to get seasoning correct but as we all know chef use this as a seasoner to al dishes.Also everyone has their own perception of seasoning but with your wife having an medical condition this is highlighted even more.
I was not working the evening you dined with us but its nice to know the member of staff dealt with the complaint in the correct manner & the prove is in the pudding on your saying, that you would both me more than happy to return to our restaurant to dine with us again .
If you are back in the area in the future please contact in advance & our chefs would be more than happy to accommodate your wife's intolerances as this seems to be a ever growing problem in our society & we are aware that we need to cater for peoples needs.
The menus we provide to our customers are specifically describe to all ingredient contents, this showing that we are aware of peoples intolerances & give peace of mind to all potential customers. We sincerely hope to see you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    87
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
58
186
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The ambiance of the this boutique lodge is not to be missed. It met all of our criteria for a near perfect way to kick off our trek of the N.E. Coast and St. Oswald's Way. Few of our friends believe how we pamper ourselves on our walking vacations and the Queen's Head is one of these special places where not only the rooms are top notch but the building has history, the breakfasts well prepared, and the staff was helpful and friendly. I do not know if we have stayed anywhere on our two walking holidays in the UK that had finer food served in an atmosphere that reflected the quiet charm of Northumbria. This is a special place that will long be remembered.

Room Tip: Do not miss a quiet dinner at the Queen's Head, relaxed and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
A big thanks for your kind & endearing words. Its nice to know we made your stay with us a memorable & lasting memory. To be honest not used to someone being so complimentary.
We are a grade 2 listed building & we try to retain the characteristics of a period building but incorporate contemporary features which I kind of guess New World customers appreciate.
I certainly would not say we are boutique & not being detrimental in any way. We just try to create a comfortable relaxed atmosphere & cater for all our customers needs. Fresh local seasonal produce plays a big part & freshly prepared breakfasts certainly add to the customers general consensus. Power showers & some rooms which have baths in to soak after along walk play their part to.
Here's hoping you may return in the future to this lovely part of the UK to enjoy some more picturesque walking & to reside & relax in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

On holiday in Berwick-upon-Tweed and wanted somewhere to go for a nice meal in nice surroundings and I have to say this place ticked all the boxes. The staff were very attentive and the food was well presented and very tasty. Probably one of the more expensive places to eat out in the town and drinks quite expensive but worth it for a special treat. I would definitely eat here again if I found myself back in Berwick-upon-Tweed

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cumbriabreakaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are more than happy we made your evening with us a happy & pleasurable one. Repeat business & to spread the word to family & friends is a powerful & wonderful tool.
I can appreciate that we are one of the more expensive restaurants in the town but unfortunately using fresh local produce does come at a price but if any potential customers look at other past reviews either on the hotel site or restaurant site, the majority are more than happy with what the hotel has to offer & everyone has their own perception of 'value for money' which again hopefully ticks all the correct boxes. Hope to see you again if you both decide to visit the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I deliberately waited before writing this review until I had calmed down, but to be honest I'm still a bit peeved. Having booked via the companies own website more than a month before our much awaited, last night away alone before baby number 2 arrives trip, having received e-mail confirmation of that booking, and having driven for 3 hours, to say that we were surprised and disappointed to arrive and be told the hotel was full and there was no room for us would be an understatement. Yes they said sorry and rang round for a room elsewhere (how lucky that there was one available...) but given the magnitude of the cock up (from our point of view - not sure they got it) that wasn't really enough to make us happy. We had taken time researching our trip and choosing somewhere we wanted to go for a romantic night away, for the last night away from the children we will be able to have for nearly a year, and were being shunted to somewhere we had no control over. (Luckily it was very nice, its the Parade School Guest house if anyone's interested). Now we both work in service industries and understand mistakes happen, and appreciate that there was nothing that anyone could have done once we got there to completely make it right, however, for future reference Queens Head, this is what you might have tried to make me slightly less cross:

1)Take some responsibility. How about 'We are so sorry, this really shouldn't have happened' Trying to blame the website (the hotels own website....) and showing me a book of fully booked rooms is not going to help. The fact that your book is full is neither here nor there to me, I didn't think you were lying, I just couldn't quite believe that you were really telling me at this stage that we had been double booked.

2)Don't repeatedly ask 'Is that alright?' When clearly there is no way it can be. Of course the answer is no. Why would it possibly be alright? The fact that you have found a room for us to sleep in is stopping me from shouting and making a scene, it isn't making me want to ring all my friends and recommend you to them.

3)Saying 'Its just a 6 minute walk' when the walk is up hill and I am 7 and a half months pregnant is not 'alright' either. How about 'Do you need us to arrange transport?'. Personally I would have gone for 'I can give you a lift' but ringing a taxi would have been a start. Luckily, we did have a car, but I had to volunteer that.

4)The room will be ready an hour after we expected to be able to check in (because the lovely lady at the Parade School guest house wasn't really open that night and had gone out of her way to fit us in). Rather than 'Is that alright?' - again, clearly it's not, how about 'I'll get her to give us a bell when its ready, would you like a drink here in the meantime?'. Would a cup of tea really have cost the earth in exchange for our good will?

5)And finally, how about 'I see you were booked in for dinner tonight, we are pretty busy but if you would still like to dine here I can ask if the chef can squeeze you in?' We had been hoping for a romantic meal and Berwick isn't overrun with nice places to eat - we were contemplating Wetherspoons at one point, nothing against the chain but it wasn't quite what we had planned for the evening. As it was, found Foxtons which was perfect so worked out well, and by the time we left we didn't really want to give you a penny of our hard earned cash to be honest, but would have been nice to be asked.

Don't think I've had worse service in this country, didn't get our special night off to a good start. Don't need to add we won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gracie7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Gracie please accept our apologies & the inconvenience caused on the confusion of the booking with us & I accept full responsibility in saying it was entirely our fault.
I have sent a direct e-mail to you on receiving this review but as of yet not had any correspondence from you. We take complaints very seriously & to avoid any negative comments on sites like trip advisor which can be detrimental to any future business.
However I do feel as if I need to make some comments for our own integrity. We all make mistakes & for some reason our hosting site on the website pushed your booking into spam hence no initial booking with no deposit taken. A 30% deposit is taken on booking through our site & an automated e-mail is sent to confirm this but this is not a direct e-mail from our own site. The reservation of dinner is also through that system & again this is why we had no recollection of a dinner booking. We found alternative accommodation on checking-in & there seems to be a contradiction in your review with you saying the member not apologising initially. As mentioned the damage is done & everyone has their own perception on how to deal with a complaint, the last we want to do is rub the salt in the wounds!
As mentioned please accept our apologies & I have sent a direct e-mail & hope to have some contact with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Highly recommend having a meal at this establishment. We had two evening meals here whilst visiting the area and everything was delicious, nicely presented and the staff very attentive. Would eat here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish borders
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I live just over the Borders in Paxton and think nothing of the travel into Berwick to The Queens Head as it is to us the best place for consistently good food and service, the quality of locally sourced food is superb

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glorian2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Appreciate your kind words & comments. Consistency is everything in this business from the food, service & atmosphere & its nice to know that locals continue to support us, which in all honesty are our bread n butter in the winter.
Seriously though we are pro-active & hope to continue to stay ahead of our competitors & provide what our customers expect from either dining or residing with us. Loyalty cards are in operation now so while we are receiving continued support we are not taking our regulars for granted & showing by giving something back to them as a form of appreciation. Long may it continue & hope to see you both soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemingford Grey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed one night on our way to Scotland for a week's holiday. Warm welcome, comfortable twin room - very clean - albeit with a slightly sloping floor which was a bit strange after a glass of wine or two!! Location is excellent, right in town centre, and ideal for a walk of the city walls. Ate an extremely good dinner in their restaurant - food was really very well cooked and presented. Breakfast also was a delight. If you are going to be in or near this very lovely border town, this is a super place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
A big thanks for your kind words & were pleased your over night stay was a happy & pleasurable one. With being a listed period building we certainly do have some characteristics & hotels would be monotonous if they were the same. lol
Also nice to know you enjoyed your evening meal with us the service your received reached your expectation. Freshly prepared & cooked breakfasts make a difference from the usual big conglomerations with breakfasts sitting on a hot plate cooking. Hope to see you again in the future all being well. Appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick-upon-Tweed
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
21.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#22 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Property: Queens Head Hotel
Address: 6 Sandgate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel providing quality accommodation with a contemporary feel whilst retaining old period characteristics. All of our food is locally sourced & seasonal produce is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Head
Queens Head Hotel Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing