We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stop over”
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queens Head Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel stop over”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Queens Head on traveling up to Scotland. The food and service were both superb and the family room suited us well. I'm sure we will stay again and would recommend it. Free wifi, good a TV and lots of snacks provided.

Room Tip: Plenty of room for 4 in the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
A big thanks Sue for your kind review & were pleased the family had an enjoyable evening with us. Although we are a grade 2 listed building, we try to utilize the space as best as we can with thought & consideration being taken into what goes into the concept of all of our bedrooms.
We are having a re-furbishment in all of our rooms at the end of February using a reputable National company who have prepared floor plans & bespoke furniture to maximise what limited space we have in our rooms. I personally think they have succeed in this but guessing only time will tell & feedback from our customers.
The little touches matter in the rooms like free jelly beans, fruit & water &' in this day & age' free wi-fi is expected. As previously mentioned power showers & a good comfortable bed are absolutely paramount irrespective if on holiday or business.
Your review mentioned that all of you were more than happy with the food & service, fingers crossed if you decide to return to this area we can hopefully replicate ticking all the correct boxes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    91
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
60
205
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Queens Head is a great comfy welcoming hotel in a ideal setting to visit Berwick. The welcome was warm friendly and informative, the room was clean,fresh very comfy excellently presented for evening meal which was wonderful, and stylishly furnished. We ate in the restaurant in the evening,Gary was a wonderful host and even offered us things that weren't on the menu.The food was excellent and the setting superb. Breakfast was as good as expected and the service excellent, overall we'd highly recommend the Queen's Head Hotel and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: only got 6 rooms so all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Appreciate your kind words Adam. All the boxes seemed to be ticked in the right places. In all honesty though its the whole package ie. customer service, hospitality, good bedrooms (a power shower & comfortable bed a must) free wi-fi , & fresh locally sourced food..
Hopefully if all the boxes are ticked customers generally return or 'spread the word'. Recommendation is a powerful tool.
Your review also mentioned stylish furniture which we are due to have a re-furbishment of all the rooms at the end of February 2014. As previously mentioned you have to stay ahead of your competitors & if residing guests think the rooms are tired the damage is already done.
With regards to the evening meal again our aim is to ensure everyone is happy & content. Our menus, which change regularly may not be to everyone's taste but using fresh produce we can diversify the menu upon request. Freshly prepared & cooked breakfasts although take time make a massive difference & I think customers appreciate that.
In all many thanks again for your kind review & hope to see you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely 4 night stay. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. Couldn't ask for more. I definitely recommend it. Good wi-fi as well. A good base for doing Berwick.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Many thanks for your kind words Hugh & pleased your 4 day stay with us was an enjoyable one. Its a fine line as tourist season drops off considerably when the main attractions are closed at the end of October. I can appreciate that main attractions need to carry out re-furbishments & maintenance but if advertising was done correctly attractions could alternate on opening, therefore tourists would still come to this part of Northumberland in the closed season & continue to generate income throughout the year.
Some people do prefer peace & quiet or re-charge their batteries in the off season. There are an abundance of sites to see free of charge in Northumberland & the Borders, that's what makes Berwick an ideal location with accessibility & public transport ready available if required.
We are having our own re-furbishment at the end of February in the bedrooms with all new furniture being installed in the rooms.
In all honesty you have to stay ahead of the competition & if the guests think a place is looking tired, the damage is already done.
Here's hoping we see you both in the future all being well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddleworth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A lovely, small family-run hotel right in the middle of Berwick. We found the service to be very friendly, the food excellent - (we dined in each night. Such was the qualityand range of choices that we saw no reason to trudge around the town looking for anywhere else in the short time
we were there) - and the accomodation comfortable and very clean.
Gary, the owner, and his staff were all cheery and friendly and added to the extremely freindly and relaxed atmosphere that characterised the hotel.
Its not surprising that many locals appear to eat there too and there is something quite reassuring when one sees whilst eating breakfast each morning the local Eyemouth fisherman walk in with a selection of the day's catch for the kitchen to prepare and serve that day.
Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any other traveller or tourist

Room Tip: Only have knowledge of rooms 5 & 6, but both were very good and although at the front of the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind words Michael. Thanks for supporting us through your 3 night stay & its all reassuring from our perspective that you decided to dine with us each night.
With us running the hotel for the last 13 years, we have built up a reputable reputation in the surrounding area & fingers crossed will continue to do so. I agree from a visitors point of view that its reassuring to see locals dining in the restaurant because ' word of mouth' in a small is the best form of advertising.
With using locally sourced seasonal produce we are fortunate to have such great suppliers who can deliver on a daily basis(including a Sunday) to ensure fresh produce is always available & to have no excuse to using anything else. Long may that continue!
Here's hoping we see you all in the future all being well?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A comfortable hotel, right next to the town walls and a great base for exploring Berwick.On street parking is £1 for two hours, from 9am-5.30pm, so if you time your visit well, you can park outside the hotel for just two £1 tickets. The room was comfortable, the wifi was good but the main selling points were the lovely staff and the outstanding evening meal menu - much more sophisticated and tasty than pub grub. We'll be back, whenever we next visit Northumberland and the Scottish Borders.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JournalistLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. Berwick is an ideal base to visit the attractions & historic buildings surrounding the area. Accessibility through the main A1 or main line on British rail is good too. Parking is also good value but from March 2014 is going to be free of charge, which in return will hopefully increase the footfall through Berwick in the future, lets hope so anyway.
The hotel provides free wi-fi but in all honesty that should be standard practice these days? You were both complimentary on the service & evening meals,as the old saying goes 'you are only as good your last meal' certainly bares some truth'. Here's hoping we see you both in the future. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

had a meal here whilst staying at a different establishment in Berwick and on entering immediately wished we had booked here instead.
The atmosphere was great in the bar and restaurant with good beer and a decent menu.
The food was ok but way too salty for my wife who suffers from an ulcer so, a third of the way through it had to send it back.
To their credit a replacement meal was offered but was declined and a desert was provided without charge.
This hasn't put us off a return when we will probably book a nights stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyp949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Many thanks for your constructive review Mikey. May I firstly apologise if your wife's lasagne was not to her taste. Its difficult to get seasoning correct but as we all know chef use this as a seasoner to al dishes.Also everyone has their own perception of seasoning but with your wife having an medical condition this is highlighted even more.
I was not working the evening you dined with us but its nice to know the member of staff dealt with the complaint in the correct manner & the prove is in the pudding on your saying, that you would both me more than happy to return to our restaurant to dine with us again .
If you are back in the area in the future please contact in advance & our chefs would be more than happy to accommodate your wife's intolerances as this seems to be a ever growing problem in our society & we are aware that we need to cater for peoples needs.
The menus we provide to our customers are specifically describe to all ingredient contents, this showing that we are aware of peoples intolerances & give peace of mind to all potential customers. We sincerely hope to see you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The ambiance of the this boutique lodge is not to be missed. It met all of our criteria for a near perfect way to kick off our trek of the N.E. Coast and St. Oswald's Way. Few of our friends believe how we pamper ourselves on our walking vacations and the Queen's Head is one of these special places where not only the rooms are top notch but the building has history, the breakfasts well prepared, and the staff was helpful and friendly. I do not know if we have stayed anywhere on our two walking holidays in the UK that had finer food served in an atmosphere that reflected the quiet charm of Northumbria. This is a special place that will long be remembered.

Room Tip: Do not miss a quiet dinner at the Queen's Head, relaxed and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
A big thanks for your kind & endearing words. Its nice to know we made your stay with us a memorable & lasting memory. To be honest not used to someone being so complimentary.
We are a grade 2 listed building & we try to retain the characteristics of a period building but incorporate contemporary features which I kind of guess New World customers appreciate.
I certainly would not say we are boutique & not being detrimental in any way. We just try to create a comfortable relaxed atmosphere & cater for all our customers needs. Fresh local seasonal produce plays a big part & freshly prepared breakfasts certainly add to the customers general consensus. Power showers & some rooms which have baths in to soak after along walk play their part to.
Here's hoping you may return in the future to this lovely part of the UK to enjoy some more picturesque walking & to reside & relax in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick-upon-Tweed
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
454 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
290 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#24 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Property: Queens Head Hotel
Address: 6 Sandgate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel providing quality accommodation with a contemporary feel whilst retaining old period characteristics. All of our food is locally sourced & seasonal produce is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Head
Queens Head Hotel Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing