We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queens Head Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at the Queens Head for 2 nights and wished we were there longer [tho most places of interest in Berwick were closed for winter or on Monday!!] This independent hotel has everything you could need for a good stay. positioned within easy walking distance of town centre, river paths and coastal walks.The added extras provided in the room - fruit, sweets and bottled water are a welcome touch not afforded in many chain run hotels. Our room was warm, quiet and comfortable - good quality mattresses, duvets & pillows made for an excellent nights sleep. The room was also extremely clean, as were the public areas.The owner is friendly and helpful and made us feel at home and very welcome. An added bonus is the great food served in the restaurant - we ate 'in' on Sunday night and enjoyed our meal so much we did not seek anywhere else to eat on the second night! We sincerely hope to visit Berwick again and to stay here and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. Thank you Garry for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a detailed review Mary. Not sure we deserve the plaudits you are giving us but we try to ensure that our guests are giving the best possible service we can provide them. Its all about the whole experience & package.
We pride ourselves on the locally sourced seasonal produce & delivering the presentation of the food to the customers & let it speak for itself. Professional service without being intrusive & friendly atmosphere are also a vital part of the whole experience.
For me personally the 3 vital parts of accommodation, is hygiene, good bathroom facilities & a comfortable bed. Its incredible how many customers sleep in for work & say they slept too well! The hotel is in a quiet area which obviously plays a part to.
We are closed for a refurbishment of all our rooms & re-open on the 3rd March. From my own business perspective you have to stay ahead of your competitors & if the customers see a place looking tired, the damage is already done. Excited because although the rooms are being fitted with bespoke furniture & we are still able to retain the characteristics of a period building with a more modern contemporary feel. Here's hoping it works?
Thanks again for your detailed review & hope to see you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    91
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
60
206
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I had chosen a trip to Northumberland as a special treat over New Year and a Birthday trip for my Partner. We wanted to have a relaxed New Year with a special NYE Dinner and the reviews of the Queens Head convinced me we would find that there. I was not disappointed.
The hotel is central in Berwick and tucked into a quiet end of street near the old city walls, typicl old hostlery type building. When we arrived about 3pm on 30th Dec we saw a large multi generational local family still sitting chatting away after their lunch - a reassuring sight.
We were met at reception by a young friendly lady (Katrin - I believe) who showed us to our large, comfortable, very well appointed Double room. (Room 6). Comfy, cosy and with a large en-suite, walk in shower and a corner bath. We explored the town and booked ourselves in for dinner having seen the tempting and sophisticated menu, local produce proudly stated to be sourced from a 15 mile radius.
We had a wonderful stay with Gary and Joanne and the team providing a relaxed, yet attentive atmosphere, offering guidance on the walking we planned to do and on where to explore further. Especial thanks to Gary for serving us in the bar after midnight on New Years Eve and being there to give us a wonderful breakfast on New Years Day. We will be back to explore further in slightly warmer weather!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Many thanks for your compliments & taking time out to write an honest review. New Year is a big event for the hotel & everything seemed to go well on the evening with great positive & complimentary feedback from our customers. Although we were not full for accommodation, which is unusual, the priority is to ensure that any residing guests had an enjoyable & relaxing time.
The winter & holiday time over the Xmas period for customers staying can be slightly frustrating as all of the visitor attractions are closed & the weather has an influence on what people can do apart from the customary over indulgence of eating & drinking. That apart it is a beautiful area which some people enjoy coming to on the quieter times of the year to relax & re-charge the batteries.
We are having a refurbishment in all the rooms on the 24th February with new furniture & decor. Some people say that its not necessary but with being pro-active & having high standards, you have to say ahead of the competition & if our guests see wear & tear in the rooms , the damage is already done. Everything is based on personal professional service with the little touches & giving customer satisfaction |& their perception of value for money'.
We sincerely hope to see you both in the future as mentioned on your review when the weather is warmer & the attractions are all open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here on new years eve, and had a wonderful evening in Berwick. Lovely little hotel and restaurant, with bags of character. We were in room 5 and were very impressed with the lovely little touches, fruit, sweets, water, and a great assortment of teas, coffee etc. Comfy beds and a seating area. Toiletries in the bathroom, and nice BIG bath towels! We had a super night in Berwick, the barrels around the corner worth a visit, as was Foxtons up on the same side as the Queens. The food looked lovely at the Queens, although we did not dine, as we were meeting friends. At breakfast there was a good choice, and could have had the kippers, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, but went for the full english, to set us up for the day, and very glad we did! Beautifully cooked and presented, and we were served by the very friendly owner! We will certainly return to this great little find, they have got the recipe right, and I will recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Room 5 overlooking main street, large enough to take double and single bed, did not see other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karentimmins53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks Karen for your review & pleased you enjoyed your evening in Berwick. Although Berwick is suffering in the economic climate (the High St & retail shops) the natives of the town continue to be positive & network together to hopefully raise the profile of the town & for all of our tourists to leave happy & content to either 'spread the word' or hopefully return.
There is not a lot of job prosperity in Berwick or the surrounding area so tourism must be one of the ways forward generating income & securing jobs.
We are more than happy your room was more than acceptable & you appreciating the little extra touches in the room We are a listed building so although there are lots of restrictions to what we can do within our premises, we continue to be pro-active & are constantly looking on how to improve our business & our concept. We are under going a re-furbishment in end of February in the hotel thus retaining some of the characteristics of a period building but looking to incorporate a contemporary feel(like mixing the old with the new).
Lets hope if you decide to stay with us next time you dine with us so you can sample some of our culinary delights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for three nights between xmas and new year.the staff were friendly,helpfull and welcoming. Had a great nights sleep in one of the most comfortable beds ive slept in.Breakfast was plentiful and of good quality. The choice on the lunch and dinner menu was varied and great value. Room had all you needed and more. Great central location. Will definatley stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citybreakers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Appreciate your kind words Citybreakers & pleased we exceeded your expectations.
Compliments when you say that the bed was one of the most comfortable you have slept in. All of our beds are orthopaedic individually 1200 pocket sprung. But if I am truthful that's only part of the correct answer as peace & quiet play a big part.
We can all relate to when staying in a big hotel, other guests walking past our rooms talking & creaking floorboards, thankfully being a small hotel this does limit that form of disturbance. Traffic is also limited outside the hotel, so as mentioned comfortable beds are an important part to the overall picture but it is what guests most remember a decent nights sleep'.
A good selection of breakfast sets you up to do the site seeing & Berwick is an ideal location for any potential customers to do this.
Let's hope we see you both in the future & again appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Queens Head on traveling up to Scotland. The food and service were both superb and the family room suited us well. I'm sure we will stay again and would recommend it. Free wifi, good a TV and lots of snacks provided.

Room Tip: Plenty of room for 4 in the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
A big thanks Sue for your kind review & were pleased the family had an enjoyable evening with us. Although we are a grade 2 listed building, we try to utilize the space as best as we can with thought & consideration being taken into what goes into the concept of all of our bedrooms.
We are having a re-furbishment in all of our rooms at the end of February using a reputable National company who have prepared floor plans & bespoke furniture to maximise what limited space we have in our rooms. I personally think they have succeed in this but guessing only time will tell & feedback from our customers.
The little touches matter in the rooms like free jelly beans, fruit & water &' in this day & age' free wi-fi is expected. As previously mentioned power showers & a good comfortable bed are absolutely paramount irrespective if on holiday or business.
Your review mentioned that all of you were more than happy with the food & service, fingers crossed if you decide to return to this area we can hopefully replicate ticking all the correct boxes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Queens Head is a great comfy welcoming hotel in a ideal setting to visit Berwick. The welcome was warm friendly and informative, the room was clean,fresh very comfy excellently presented for evening meal which was wonderful, and stylishly furnished. We ate in the restaurant in the evening,Gary was a wonderful host and even offered us things that weren't on the menu.The food was excellent and the setting superb. Breakfast was as good as expected and the service excellent, overall we'd highly recommend the Queen's Head Hotel and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: only got 6 rooms so all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Appreciate your kind words Adam. All the boxes seemed to be ticked in the right places. In all honesty though its the whole package ie. customer service, hospitality, good bedrooms (a power shower & comfortable bed a must) free wi-fi , & fresh locally sourced food..
Hopefully if all the boxes are ticked customers generally return or 'spread the word'. Recommendation is a powerful tool.
Your review also mentioned stylish furniture which we are due to have a re-furbishment of all the rooms at the end of February 2014. As previously mentioned you have to stay ahead of your competitors & if residing guests think the rooms are tired the damage is already done.
With regards to the evening meal again our aim is to ensure everyone is happy & content. Our menus, which change regularly may not be to everyone's taste but using fresh produce we can diversify the menu upon request. Freshly prepared & cooked breakfasts although take time make a massive difference & I think customers appreciate that.
In all many thanks again for your kind review & hope to see you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely 4 night stay. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. Couldn't ask for more. I definitely recommend it. Good wi-fi as well. A good base for doing Berwick.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Many thanks for your kind words Hugh & pleased your 4 day stay with us was an enjoyable one. Its a fine line as tourist season drops off considerably when the main attractions are closed at the end of October. I can appreciate that main attractions need to carry out re-furbishments & maintenance but if advertising was done correctly attractions could alternate on opening, therefore tourists would still come to this part of Northumberland in the closed season & continue to generate income throughout the year.
Some people do prefer peace & quiet or re-charge their batteries in the off season. There are an abundance of sites to see free of charge in Northumberland & the Borders, that's what makes Berwick an ideal location with accessibility & public transport ready available if required.
We are having our own re-furbishment at the end of February in the bedrooms with all new furniture being installed in the rooms.
In all honesty you have to stay ahead of the competition & if the guests think a place is looking tired, the damage is already done.
Here's hoping we see you both in the future all being well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick-upon-Tweed
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
455 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
290 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#23 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Property: Queens Head Hotel
Address: 6 Sandgate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel providing quality accommodation with a contemporary feel whilst retaining old period characteristics. All of our food is locally sourced & seasonal produce is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Head
Queens Head Hotel Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing