We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queens Head Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is an excellent location for exploring the city. On street car parking but generally lots of free spaces directly outside. Rooms were good with very comfy beds. Snacks in room are a great idea and well needed after a long day. I was a bit concerned about the sloping floor in my room but think it adds to the character of the place and the hotel is a listed building. The breakfasts are really tasty as is the restaurant food. Very good sized portions.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chih14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
A big thanks for your constructive review & we are please you would either return in the future or recommend our hotel to other friends & family?
We are a grade 2 listed building & as you mentioned old buildings certainly have characteristics like sloping floors etc? You can imagine with our recent refurbishment in the rooms the fitters had a nightmare with the bespoke furniture, but as you said it adds character to the building!
Although we offer little ouches to me the customers priorities are a god power shower & a comfortable bed. Appreciate your comments & fingers crossed we see you in the future all being well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    85
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
56
180
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were recommended this hotel by a friend and I was so pleased to see the positive reviews, which I can only echo. The hotel was lovely, in a great location in a quiet street. All the staff were friendly and helpful and Gary, the owner, was so nice and gave us a good recommendation for a local pub to have a drink after dinner. We stayed in a small double room - which was not actually that small. Very well appointed and all the extra touches - fruit, sweets and water etc - were a nice touch. Really comfortable bed and I so appreciated a 'proper' hair dryer! We had dinner in the hotel and the food and service was great. Lots of choice on the menu and beautifully cooked fresh food. Breakfast was also excellent and you could tell they used good quality ingredients.
All told we had a great stay and are already planning a return - this time for longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind words Fiona. Recommendation & repeat business plays a big part in our accommodation bookings.
It is nice that we ticked all the right boxes from the accommodation, dinner & breakfast. The little touches certainly play a big part on our guests approvals & you sometimes lose this in a consortium hotel chain?
Let's hope we see you both in the not too distant future, where your stay with us on a longer basis will be just as pleasurable as this one? Appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent a very enjoyable four nights at the Queens Head in Berwick. The room was comfortable and very clean. Fruit and a wide variety of beverages and biscuits provided. Fresh milk on request. The restaurant served delicious, locally-sourced food, supported by excellent service. We were made very welcome by Garry and his knowledge of the local area was invaluable ( including lending us two guidebooks). The hotel is in a quiet location within the historic town walls. We would recommend this hotel as a base for exploring the Northumberland Coast and Scottish Borders. Good public transport links nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thanks Paul for you kind review. We try to provide the personal touch in our small hotel & I think we achieve this, but that certainly mean to say we are complacent! Although the rooms have just recently been refurbished to a high specification its most important with this being a period grade 2 listed building incorporating contemporary feel that you retain the old characteristics.
The little touches are certainly what customers remember & keep the coming back for more punishment! lol but on a serious note though fresh bottled water, fruit, sweets & fresh milk on request is just standard but also providing what our guests expect!
Obviously our food probably is the most important sector of the trade, providing visitors to the town, residents & locals with new appetizing seasonal dishes sourced locally. You certainly never stop learning in this trade & every day is different.
Hope to see you both in the future if you decide to return to this beautiful part of the country. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband have yet again been welcomed into the Queens Head Hotel by Gary and his staff. The hotel itself is a real gem within the historic walls of Berwick. The rooms have been refurbished to a very fine standard with attention to detail. The rooms are warm, comfortable and spacious. All appetites are catered for and the menu from breakfast time through to lunchtimes and evening meals are varied and offers dishes with a difference.
Gary and all his staff are very welcoming and have always made all our stays very comfortable. You gain a sense of being accepted into their family, nothing is too much trouble.
We love going back to the Queens Head and hopefully we will return very soon. We would most definitely recommend this lovely little hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind words Karen & appreciate you both continuing to return to the hotel throughout all the years. You both must be glutens for punishment?? lol seriously though we know how competitive the market is, so it speaks volumes for you to continually reside with us.
We are always looking to improve all aspects of the trade as you can not afford to be complacent.
Here's hoping we see you in the not to distant all being well. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stay here frequently on business and always receive a warm welcome. The rooms are well equipped with home luxuries like good size flat tv's . The restaurant is amazing which offers a good range of international food. Overall I give Queens Head 5 stars and look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommysleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thanks Tommy for your kind words. I certainly hope you like the refurbishment that we have done in the rooms? A lot of thought has went into this & obviously a females touch with regards to the soft furnishings!
We continue to be pro-active & are always looking to improve all aspects of the business! Repeat business certainly speaks volumes & sounds like we provide this for you & your colleagues? I sincerely hope we can continue to provide across all sections in the up & coming future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I had a 5 night stay in Berwick during February and as we stayed at a B&B, travelled into the town centre each night for something to eat. The B&B mentioned that we could get a really nice meal at the Queens so we decided to try it. We didn't book as it was a dark and damp Tuesday night in February so thought it would be relatively empty but on our arrival we saw there were quite a few people in the restaurant which we thought was a good sign. We were so right !
We were greeted by an extremely friendly and efficient lady who sat us down in the bar area to have a drink while we chose our food from the menu. We didn't have to wait too long and we were shown to our table, just at the bottom of the stairs. The food that arrived was simply delicious. I had a belly pork and black pudding starter followed by a perfectly cooked steak, just how I asked for it. My wife had the fish pie, which was full of fish rather than huge amounts of potato and a creme brulee. As far as Berwick prices go, it wasn't what I would call cheap but I came out feeling I got what I paid for and was very happy with both the quantity and quality of the food. So much so I wanted to return the next night but my wife put her foot down and said it was embarrassing to go back straight away...wouldn't have bothered me but we ended up in a decent Chinese.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind words Neil & pleased you enjoyed your evening with us & all the boxes were ticked. Also kindly pass on y thanks to the accommodation provider for their recommendation.
We work closely with the accommodation providers & networking is absolutely paramount to try and ensure all visitors leave the area happy & content & hope to either return or 'spread the word'?
I fully except we are not the cheapest in the town & certainly do not try to be, unfortunately using fresh local produce does come at a price & you only get what you pay for also bares some truth! Lets hope we see you again if you decide to visit this beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at the Queens Head for 2 nights and wished we were there longer [tho most places of interest in Berwick were closed for winter or on Monday!!] This independent hotel has everything you could need for a good stay. positioned within easy walking distance of town centre, river paths and coastal walks.The added extras provided in the room - fruit, sweets and bottled water are a welcome touch not afforded in many chain run hotels. Our room was warm, quiet and comfortable - good quality mattresses, duvets & pillows made for an excellent nights sleep. The room was also extremely clean, as were the public areas.The owner is friendly and helpful and made us feel at home and very welcome. An added bonus is the great food served in the restaurant - we ate 'in' on Sunday night and enjoyed our meal so much we did not seek anywhere else to eat on the second night! We sincerely hope to visit Berwick again and to stay here and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. Thank you Garry for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a detailed review Mary. Not sure we deserve the plaudits you are giving us but we try to ensure that our guests are giving the best possible service we can provide them. Its all about the whole experience & package.
We pride ourselves on the locally sourced seasonal produce & delivering the presentation of the food to the customers & let it speak for itself. Professional service without being intrusive & friendly atmosphere are also a vital part of the whole experience.
For me personally the 3 vital parts of accommodation, is hygiene, good bathroom facilities & a comfortable bed. Its incredible how many customers sleep in for work & say they slept too well! The hotel is in a quiet area which obviously plays a part to.
We are closed for a refurbishment of all our rooms & re-open on the 3rd March. From my own business perspective you have to stay ahead of your competitors & if the customers see a place looking tired, the damage is already done. Excited because although the rooms are being fitted with bespoke furniture & we are still able to retain the characteristics of a period building with a more modern contemporary feel. Here's hoping it works?
Thanks again for your detailed review & hope to see you both in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick-upon-Tweed
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
21.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#21 of 52 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 52 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Property: Queens Head Hotel
Address: 6 Sandgate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel providing quality accommodation with a contemporary feel whilst retaining old period characteristics. All of our food is locally sourced & seasonal produce is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Head
Queens Head Hotel Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing