We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Journey Break”
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queens Head Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A good traditional bedroom in an old coaching inn hotel. All the basic needs are provided in comfortable but not over large rooms. The restaurant however is excellent with a good choice of starters, mains and deserts supported by a first class wine list and friendly service.
We were travelling to Aberdeen from Yorkshire and this was not only a convenient town to stop at but provided us with a pleasant evening, good nights sleep and first class breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmdcjsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

A big thanks for your constructive review & pleased we ticked all the boxes. I personally think we provide more than the basics in the rooms ie sweets, fruit, water etc. & that's what sets us apart from the big conglomerates. We try to create the personal touch on all aspects but in an informal way so customers are relaxed. Personally there is nothing worse than someone calling yo Sir or madame!
It is also nice to know you appreciate locally sourced food & your dining experience passed your expectations. Let's hope to see you again if you both decide to break your journey up the east coast. Again many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Before I leave a review I always read the ones left before me, for curiosity but also to see if they can be put into some sort of constructive context.

Parking is not a problem; there is a free car park less than a 1 minute walk from the hotel. This is probably a shorter walk than it is from most hotel car parks. We unloaded our luggage outside the hotel with no problem and it was pretty painless.

Quite a few reviews criticised The Queens for the size of the rooms and the steepness of the stairs as well as the layout of some of the rooms. Let’s put this into perspective, the property is an old listed building in Berwick town centre, what were you expecting? Part of the charm of the place is that it’s not like one of mainstream chain of hotels and it does have its own character. We found the rooms to be quite spacious considering the building itself and were clean and in good order and with some nice touches. A television with DVD and wifi were all present and correct.

The service was good, the staff helpful and polite. We had evening meal and the food was very good, we expected a little more but wasn’t disappointed. It’s always a good sign when you see that they have been given 5/5 by the Food Standards Agency for their Food hygiene ratings. Breakfast for me was also very good however the cook did seem to have a few issues with boiling an egg, we had 3 attempts at this and none of them were cooked enough.

All in all this was a good stay, good location and good food. We would stay again without hesitation however if you are looking for modern spacious hotels with no character then this is not for you.

A little bit on the pricey side unless you can strike a deal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Many thanks for your constructive review & appreciate your honesty. Its nice to know you looked at the bigger picture rather than just forming your own opinion, which I think a lot of reviews are based on these days.
I tend to agree with old listed buidings certainly having character & to incorporate a modern concept is not always easy as it may seem?
We try to create the right impression from the front facade with hanging baskets on show & blackboards indicating what we have on offer to potential customers to the clean appearance inside whilst maintaining the character with a contemporary feel. I think we achieve this but continue to look forward on how we can improve our business on all aspects.
We are pleased we ticked all the boxes & you having no hesitation in returning to our hotel, as repeat business is everything & it shows we are doing something correct because it is a very competitive market out there. Apologies on your boiled eggs & all being well on you return I will ensure that I will cook the eggs to your expectations. Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

There is parking out the front of the hotel - parking spaces that are charged for by the council, after 0900am.

The hotel is an old building, with some low ceilings in places.
I was told that room 4 had a sloping floor - and it did not disappoint in that respect.
I felt like I was on the Costa Concordia, battling to climb up an incline.
Two twin beds - fair enough, not ideal if you are 6ft 3 in.

The view is out the back, onto a wall and not very inspiring.
However, sleep was reasonable and I woke to the sound of some seagulls.

The room has a shower, is clean and has some nice details - packet of sweets, biscuits.

Dinner in the hotel and breakfast were very good - quality ingredients, freshly prepared and well presented.

All in all, good value.

Room Tip: Check if your floor slopes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Many thanks for your constructive review expectant customer, not sure of your title though! As I can see you have taken an enormous amount of time writing your comments on trip advisor which I applaud you on, this being complimentary as well as negative.
Although your comments are constructive & your contributes are of your opinion, I feel as if I need to clarify a few comments that were mentioned in your review. Our parking directly outside the hotel is free for 2 hours up until 530pm & free all night until 11am the following morning so long as customers as for a parking disc when checking-in.
The room which you booked on line clearly states that they are twin bedded rooms & there was an opportunity to book a double room for single use for an extra £5 per night which for a 6ft 3 person I would personally recommend & as mentioned all rooms can be booked on line so the guests know exactly what to expect when coming to reside with us. We have to be as transparent as possible in our business which we try & continually look to achieve
The mention of costa concordia certainly seems very harsh but all listed period buildings were not built with a spirit level! I agree with the view outside the window not being inspiring but we make every effort to make it pleasant with window boxes & unfortunately I have no capabilities of restraining the vocal cords of the seagull population.
As mentioned many thanks for your review & were happy that your overall stay was a pleasant & enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had 2 fabulous nights staying in room no.6. Overlooking the road but wonderfully quiet and we both slept like babies on crisp white linen, smashing pillows and yes.....I took a peek.... the mattress topper was a lovely extra. Fluffy white towels to use after a powerful hot shower and a large full English or any other breakfast we wanted to keep us going during the day......oooh Garry you really have made this a little gem, and that's without even mentioning dinner. The contemporary little bar area was a nice spot to have a pre-dinner drink or two and then a superb dinner of locally sourced food on both evenings, I had fresh asparagus with crayfish & cream pate followed by Doddington lamb which was some of the best lamb I've EVER eaten, whilst he devoured crab cakes and beer-battered local fish with to-die-for chips. Similarly the 2nd evening was just as good and unusual for us to eat in the same place twice. Incidentally parking was easy, either in the street right outside or through the town gate into a free car park. It was the friendliness and attention to detail that we loved.....fresh milk in your room if you wanted it, a liittle fruit bowl, magazines & local guides, sweeties, an extra tartan rug for added cosiness, at dinner a jug of water waiting for us without having to ask, 3 different artisan breads and excellent friendly staff. Fabulous!!! Gold Star!!

Room Tip: Rooms are as you would expect from a Grade II listed old pub, small but excellent. Room 6 was a gene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsyann26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Wow! Many thanks for the praise Patsyann but as mentioned in the previous review, not sure we deserve the accolades as we are only providing a service to the best of our capabilities. Our policy has always been to ensure customers leave happy & content, therefore hopefully to return or best form of advertising to 'spread the word'.
Our rooms have been refurbished in April so to give a contemporary feel but retaining the characteristics of a period building. Its the little touches that matter & customers always remember. It is a quiet hotel which is important & it is also surprising how many guests sleep in & don't make breakfast, not sure if they are re charging their batteries or the peacefulness of the hotel attributes to this?
Will pass on the compliments to all the team that work in our establishment & hope to see you again all being well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It is difficult in this day and age to experience a hotel where the staff are exemplar. We have stayed in top class hotels throughout Europe and we can honestly say that the staff are a credit to the Queens Head.

We had room 5. It was spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the facilities and little extras in the room are a definite plus i.e. fruit, sweets, biscuits and fresh bottled water - something you certainly don't get in some top class hotels.

The food is wonderful. We had booked bed and breakfast but to be honest after the first night, we decided not to venture anywhere else. Why would you when the catering is of such a high standard? The restaurant is used by residents, locals and people passing by - a testimony to its high standards was that people were being turned away. Be warned, you definitely need to book for an evening meal.

The breakfast is cooked to order and as the hotel says, all of the produce is locally sourced so no frozen fare to be had here!

Yes, the hotel is small but that's what makes it so special. It is not pretentious in any way and you feel relaxed from start to finish.

We did not take our car on this journey but used local transport - which is excellent and reliable.

Berwick-upon-Tweed and the Queens Head Hotel are little gems. If you want to go somewhere that hasn't been turned into a tourist hot spot - then this is definitely worth a trip. We will go back and we have already recommended (with confidence) to friends and family.

Thank you all for such a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Such kind words Margaret! Not sure we deserve the accolades that your giving us but we try to ensure that all guests residing here have an pleasurable & enjoyable experience.
The overall experience is paramount & we make every effort for the hotel to be as relaxing as possible, I sometimes think these days chic hotels have a style which is clean & modern but can be very pretentious, therefore making most guests uncomfortable.
Although Berwick is slightly cocooned our travel companies are concious of this & make every effort to provide the amenities required for customers to go to their places of interest.
Again a big thanks for all the praises & hope to see you both in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A very small room, just about OK for an overnight stop but I wouldn't want to stay longer. There was no space for cases, no drawers and a very small wardrobe. The bathroom was small but had a decent shower. There were some nice added touches - complimentary fresh fruit, good biscuits and bottled water.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent. And having real ale available was an added plus point. Breakfast was also very good with fresh fruit and local kippers.
The hotel has a good location close to the town centre and the city walls and free parking is available a short walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Many thanks for your constructive review Stan & pleased your overall experience with us was a happy one, as mentioned in the heading.
Your comments on he room being small is certainly a fair comment but as a business we have to be transparent & this clearly shows any potential guests booking on-line Rm2 is a smaller double. We are a grade 2 listed building so space is not in abundance & have recently had a refurbishment with the approved company fitting the bespoke furniture utilising the space to its best capabilities. With being a credited with English Tourism & AA their are stipulations & requirements in all our rooms, so I am confused as all of the rooms require drawers & suitcase stand?
We are pleased everything else met with more than your approval & all being well may see you in the future. If you would lie to return & require another double please ask for Rm5 or Rm6.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is an excellent location for exploring the city. On street car parking but generally lots of free spaces directly outside. Rooms were good with very comfy beds. Snacks in room are a great idea and well needed after a long day. I was a bit concerned about the sloping floor in my room but think it adds to the character of the place and the hotel is a listed building. The breakfasts are really tasty as is the restaurant food. Very good sized portions.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chih14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letsgoawayonholiday, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

A big thanks for your constructive review & we are please you would either return in the future or recommend our hotel to other friends & family?
We are a grade 2 listed building & as you mentioned old buildings certainly have characteristics like sloping floors etc? You can imagine with our recent refurbishment in the rooms the fitters had a nightmare with the bespoke furniture, but as you said it adds character to the building!
Although we offer little ouches to me the customers priorities are a god power shower & a comfortable bed. Appreciate your comments & fingers crossed we see you in the future all being well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick-upon-Tweed
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
493 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
322 reviews
21.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
14.8 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
220 reviews
16.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Address: 6 Sandgate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range: £92 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel providing quality accommodation with a contemporary feel whilst retaining old period characteristics. All of our food is locally sourced & seasonal produce is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Head
Queens Head Hotel Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing