We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Queens Head hotel, good value worth more stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queens Head Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Loved Queens Head hotel, good value worth more stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

The Queen’s Head is a beautiful old building with several attractively appointed b&b style hotel rooms (ours had private facilities, although that may be on request - not sure), a bar for hotel guests at Reception level and a elegant restaurant serving top notch food. The host (with advance notice) even catered for my partner’s celiac diet which we thought was just great and very unexpected, making the stay there just that much better.Parking on street & nearby in carpark outside the walls seems plentiful and convenient for those with (hire) cars, but metered/charged most of the time. Hotel is well located adjacent to the "old" bridge & walls in Sandgate, and easy walk into town centre. A good base to visit Alnwick (Alnwick "Hogwarts" castle) and border abbeys (such as Kelso, Jedburgh & Melrose). My parents recently rang me looking for somewhere to stay & eat in Berwick, and I recommended Queen’s Head without hesitation.

  • Liked — Beautiful food, quiet well appointed room, charming hosts
  • Disliked — - (no issues)
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    86
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
56
183
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

£85 seems a lot for a B&B. Berwick seems to be expensive and the Queens Head is. The owner was very nice and helpful but the drinks and food seemed very expensive £6.25 for a White wine and lemonade and a pint of beer? Still you don't have to eat there and we didn't

The room was not as clean as I would expect for this price. The toilet brush had items left attached to it from previous occupants and a smell of drains built up overnight ,it seemed to eminate from the strange plastic box under the toilet that had an unknown function to do with the plumbing. The bath was not clean and the room looked like it was due for refurbishment.

This was all made worse by comparison with the fantastic B&B we stayed in at Whitby the next two nights.

Breakfast was okay.

You have to pay for your parking if you want to leave your car for more than 2 hours during the day. I would recommend purchasing a full day ticket as ours allowed you to park in any Berwick car park including at Holy Island.

Berwick seems to be a town in decline with few restaurants and not many interesting shops. I would recommend trying Bamburgh which was very pretty and seemed to have more nice restaurants than Berwick.

  • Liked — the breakfast
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

As group of 12 we meet up once a year and have stayed in York, Ipswich and Chester to name a few. We normally stay in 3/4 star Best Western Hotels, However The Queens Head Berwick with 2 stars beats them. We have stayed there 2 years running and have booked 1 year in advance to go back because we would not want to stay anywhere else in Berwick. If you have already booked somewhere else then go to The Queens Head for your evening meal and you will understand why it gets such good write ups here

  • Liked — Clean and well maintained
  • Disliked — All good
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohngCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2008

Stayed here for four days in June. Excellent small hotel with a superb restaurant. Staff very friendly and helpful, even though I struggled with the lovely accent at times.

  • Liked — Restaurant food
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrimsbyCockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2008

We stayed here for 1 night on 12th February as a stop over from Scotland and it was excellent. The room was clean and spacious with a great little bathroom and tea and coffee facilities. We had a family room for 3 and was great. We chose to eat in the restaurant in the evening and we were not disapointed the food was great and we had 3 courses each. Breakfast the next morning was superb. We will defninatly stay here again on our journeys home from Scotland. Everything was excellent value and quality.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2007

We have just come back from a weekend in the Queen's head hotel, and would definitely recommend it! Our room was spacious, with a large corner bath and separate shower (room 6). We ate in the restaurant both nights. The Christmas menu was brilliant value for money, but the usual menu was really tasty too. The restaurant was full both nights, so the atmosphere was great too.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, and thanks to the owners for a very warm welcome.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — No reception area
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpaddiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2007

I found this hotel and read the trip advisor reviews and wasn't at all disappointed. The price is great, the welcome is very warm and friendly, the meal was fantastic and we were really treated like very special guests in their own home.

Our room was small, there really wasn't much room around the bed but you didn't really need it and we found it so sweet and bijou that it was all fun. We had the best selection of free sweets and biscuits that we've ever had and the breakfast was fantastic.

I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly to anyone who wants to visit Berwick upon Tweed, we loved it and we'd definately go back.

  • Liked — Dinner and Breakfast it was excellent
  • Disliked — The size of the room - but I think most others were a bigger size so don't let this put you off!!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick-upon-Tweed
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
21.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#22 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Property: Queens Head Hotel
Address: 6 Sandgate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel providing quality accommodation with a contemporary feel whilst retaining old period characteristics. All of our food is locally sourced & seasonal produce is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Head
Queens Head Hotel Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing