We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Walls Bed and Breakfast(Berwick-upon-Tweed)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Berwick(Berwick-upon-Tweed)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Hotel(Berwick-upon-Tweed)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Rob Roy Restaurant(Berwick-upon-Tweed)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No 11B Boutique(Berwick-upon-Tweed)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed(Berwick-upon-Tweed)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
317
98
20
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
98
20
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfruit bowllovely little hotelsmall hotelfish piebiscuitsreal alehotel restaurantpublic car parklovely mealkippersthree nightslittle geman evening mealtwin roomattention to detailcomfortable bedslovely room
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017

My husband and I were on holiday for a long weekend with our retired guide dog. The landlady at our B&B, Caroline House, in Spittal recommended The Queens Head. We were so glad we took her advice! The food was delicious, the service impeccable, the staff charming to both us and our dog. Yes a dog friendly restaurant with fabulous food! In fact The Queens Head was so good we returned every night of our holiday and on each occasion were treated with the same excellent service and fabulous food. Would we recommend? Would we return? Most definitely!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

A big thanks for your kind words Sandie & we appreciate you returning every night on the duration of your holiday. I certainly agree if you find a restaurant which served good food & is dog friendly your killing 'two birds with one stone'
Great to receive feedback from you & referrals from other accommodation providers in the town. It's an important part of our business. I am not sure the word fabulous is correct word because in all honesty the term 'you are only as good as your last meal' certainly bares some truth & we try to provide seasonal local fresh produce served on a plate without the prententiousness.
Let's hope you return sometime in the future & fingers crossed you enjoy just as much as this time on your visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Arrived on a Thursday Evening and was really surprised how busy the restaurant was in fact it was packed.
The food was to die for.
The ladies has steak they both said it was the best they had ever had.
The service from start to finish was the best.
I must say the whole meal for the four of us was wonderful.
This is a 5 star restaurant .
Will be back

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank bigtweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review & high praise indeed with regards to the ladies mentioning that our fillet steaks were the best they have had.
Although we trim our meat, the process of having the meat at room temperature, sealing & leaving the meat to rest plays the all important factors of a well cooked & presented produce for our customers to enjoy.
Trade can be a bit unpredictable at times, so in all honesty it great to know you all left the hotel more than satisfied & here's hoping to see you all return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Stayed here for one night with a friend on a walking holiday of the Northumberland coast.
Staff friendly and the twin room although slightly small was clean and comfy.
Large shower in the bathroom with plenty of hot water.
Washbasin had cupboards above it which made it difficult to use without hitting your head
Didn't have an evening meal in the hotel but breakfast was good and well cooked.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PETER L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Many thanks for your constructive comments Peter. I certainly take your comments on board. With being a Listed building & our bedrooms slightly varying in size it is difficult to meet everyone/s standards. We refurbished all our bedrooms 2 years ago having bespoke furniture fitted to utilise & make best what space we have. Nice to know everything seemed to your satisfaction, seems slight harsh on your specific title 'adequate' however I respect your opinion. Let's hope to see you in the future if you decide to return & do some more walking in the surrounding area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Looking for a place to eat, we were just passing the Queen's Head and had a browse of the menu on display. Decided it looked okay for us and, we were not disappointed. Food served of the highest quality. I had haddock and chips and it was just about the best ever. Sublime.
My other half enjoyed a lasagne and one of our dining companions had a tiramasu which she absolutely loved.
Staff very attentive and friendly
This is a "must" for a meal and we will return when next in the area

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lochnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

A big thanks for your kind words & guessing the floral display & display menus enticed you in. It is pivotal having an welcoming & attractive exterior which plays a selling point.
In all honesty, once through the door it is down to the staff to ensure all our customers have an enjoyable & pleasurable time whilst dining with us & to leave happy & content, which I think we achieved with you?? Sublime is a word not used very often so many thanks for your very kind words & let's hope to see you all in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This was a chosen location as part of a father and son getaway. The remit was simple.....
'A good pub with good food and ale and a comfy room to crash in when we'd overeaten.'

The Queens Head did not disappoint. There is a real novelty to staying in the pub because when the front door is locked there is that hidden door in the corner leading to the rooms and the pub has a very homely feel.

The food was superb with a local 'catch of the day' available and meat that is expertly cooked. The Venison will take some beating. It was noticeable that food is attempted to be locally sourced too. The breakfast the next morning is also very wholesome.

The rooms are are lovely. A modern, well fitted en-suite with a decent shower and toiletries that are just that little bit better than the standard hotel soap bar. We both woke feeling well rested.

Having both stayed away with work extensively we really value a homely feel location and Garry and his team did themselves proud. All the staff we very helpful and we'd stay again without hesitation.

Although we didn't use the facility, we were both impressed by the collection of DVDs available to watch in the room. It would be great when you are stuck away on business and just want to chill after a busy day.

A great little place to stay, topped off by being only 3 minutes walk away from the river bank and less than 10 minutes away from the Railway Station.

Room Tip: We had Room 1 (Twin Azul 1 on the website) and found it to be very pleasant
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Many thanks for you kind detailed review Andy. It is nice to know your over night stay with us was a pleasurable & enjoyable one, Attention to detail is a requirement these days to stay ahead of your competitors & thankfully to receive repeat business or referrals.
The phrase 'you are only as good as your staff certainly bares truth' & importantly 'value for money' also plays a significant part on a customers perspective.
Again many thanks for your kind words & let's hope we see you both in the future Andy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews