We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
324
101
20
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
101
20
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely little hotelsmall hotelfish piefresh fruitbiscuitsreal alehotel restaurantpublic car parklovely mealcomfortable bedskipperslittle geman evening mealattention to detailstayed one nighttown wallslovely room
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Good hotel, ideally located near the centre of town. All the amenities you are likely to want were in the room and the breakfast was very good, cooked to order. A bit of noise came up from the restaurant on the first night of my stay, but it was the Christmas party season and it was all over by about 10.30. Parking not ideal - in a public car park 200m away, but at least it was free.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Many thanks for your constructive review Ian & pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate it's difficult to try & control Xmas parties but the noise subsided after 10.30pm so in truth don't think it's too late.
With being within the historic walls parking etc is limited so unfortunately I have no control there but there is a free car park in close proximity which helps. Hope to see you again all being well?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a Christmas lunch with friends and the food was stunning ! Opting for the Christmas menu I stated with the duck pate which was beautiful. Mains was the traditional turkey roast with all the usual suspects. Perfect ! Home made Christmas pud for desert, no complains here. Perfect from start to finish , excellent service, good wines and plenty of choices of beers. A credit to the town of Berwick Upon Tweed !

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank castle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

High praise indeed & great to know everything was to your satisfaction. Appreciate your comments & hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

The salmon dinner was superb! I'd been in Europe for 6 weeks, eating restaurant food and my meal was far and away the best I'd had in all that time. The hosts were friendly and the restaurant was clean and cozy. Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank duffyfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Many thanks & it's great for you to say whilst travelling & throughout your holiday our restaurant was your most enjoyable dinner that you had.
Although we have been here 17 years & have staff who have worked for us throughout that period, complacency is the biggest killer in our trade. You always have to be thinking how you can improve your business & being pro-active to stay ahead ahead of your competitors. I think we achieve that but in truth our offers a a good selection of restaurants & more opening all the time, so as mentioned it is important to continually offer an enjoyable culinary experience without the pretentiousness & added extras. Thanks again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We enjoyed a superb Sunday lunch two weeks ago after a lovely walk around the historic walls of Berwick, Tender roast beef with all the trimmings and beautiful homemade fishcakes with salad. Followed by divine tiramisu and coffee, Excellent staff and service' A great experience. Will be back in April . Many thanks

Stayed: October 2017
Thank chrisandmon176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

A big thanks for your kind words Chris & pleased to know your Sunday lunch for you both was an enjoyable one. All course ticked the boxes & as mentioned previously customers are very complimentary about our tiramisu. Fingers crossed we see you return back in April? Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

I have nothing but positive comments for the Queens Head. We had a table of 12, they formed a nice T shaped table which meant we could all chat. Water ready on the table, lovely menu and we could find plenty of things we fancied. The food was excellent and was good value for money. All our meals came out together which is no mean feat for 12 people. The service was superb, very friendly and efficient. Fantastic experience thank you to all at the Queens Head.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank angelac192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Many thanks for your review Angela & great to know all your party enjoyed themselves whilst dining with us. These days it is the whole experience which contributes to the overall factor, good efficient service, warm atmosphere & nice food provided & ultimately good 'value for money' .
Thanks again & hope to see you all in the future if you decide to pass back through on your bikes?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews