We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
331
102
20
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
102
20
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel fresh fruit biscuits venison real ale hotel restaurant public car park street parking lasagna comfortable beds kippers an evening meal attention to detail stayed one night town walls twin room warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018

The Queen's Head is quaint and comfortable. It's a lovely old building with all amenities and my room was fine. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were professional and helpful.

Location is good, with a number of restaurants and pubs nearby and you can start your walk on the town's famous city walls nearby.

Room Tip: The street is not noisy, so all rooms should be good value.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RT1Perth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Manager at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Many thanks for your kind comments & I can only assume coming from Down Under you not only enjoyed the charm & history of our hotel but taking in the heritage of our beautiful historic town. Sincerely hope you return to this part of the area, as there is so much to see in close proximity & Berwick is the perect place to explore this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Our train from Manchester was badly delayed, but we phoned the hotel to say we might not arrive until 11pm. And they assured us this would not be a problem. It wasn't! We had a wonderful welcome late at night, were upgraded to a larger room, and enjoyed a peaceful night's rest. The room was great, The extras were appreicated and the breakfast kippers were delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is superb. It is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: There are not many rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 508anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Please accept our appreciation on your kind comments & it's great when customers write glowing reviews, makes our job at little easier. That old cliche service with a smile is certainly an important part of our trade which I think in general our staff try to achieve.
Although the hotel is situated in the town in truth it's surprising how quiet it is but that our secret?? lol Double edged sword I guess with how tranquil. relaxing & beautiful countryside & coastline but the other side to that is it's very seasonal. Guessing you can not have it both ways?
Again many thanks for your kind words & fingers crossed we hope to see you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

The four of us all opted for fish and chips and were well impressed with the well cooked haddock, chips and peas, with the service was very friendly and attentive. The drinks were reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bobail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for your review Bob & in truth there's no excuse living on the coast that you cannot use fresh local seasonal produce. Thankfully we have some great local suppliers who deliver seven days per week which makes our life a little easier. Also great to know that your perception of 'value for money' was to your satisfaction. Ps hope to see you again in the future if you return to the surrounding area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed a night at the Queens head hotel and it was just what we needed. A lovely room with little added extras always makes you feel a bit more special than just a bogstandard room. We had dinner as well which was great, we liked the local produce on offer, and breakfast the next day had a good variety of foid to see you through

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, General Manager at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Many thanks Kath for your kind comments & all the boxes were given the thumbs up from accommodation, dinner & breakfast meeting your approval. The little touches make such a difference & I think the personal touch has a big part to play in the possibility of returning or 'spreading the word'to family & friends. in stead of the bog standard rooms?
On the food perspective again it's imperative that you source your food locally & use seasoned produce, customers do really appreciate that & it does not go unnoticed.
Fingers crossed we may see you return to the hotel & we can provide & continue to deliver the same standards as this visit. Appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

The rooms are lovely and the food is even better. The location is perfect and there is lots of on street parking out front and in the public car park behind. Cyclists will appreciate the private back yard where they can leave their bikes and the fact that the local bike shop is right behind in case they need anything.

The staff were welcoming, friendly and professional. I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TarlCaboto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

A big thumbs up Tarl & great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. I can appreciate that although you are transient cyclist it makes a massive difference where you can rest you weary bones, refresh restock & be ready for the next day. Fingers crossed we hope to see you again if your passing through this lovely cycling area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews