We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
335
104
20
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
104
20
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel fresh fruit biscuits venison real ale hotel restaurant lovely hotel public car park lovely meal lasagna comfortable beds kippers attention to detail an evening meal twin room stayed one night lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Great hotel, with friendly staff. Especially the lady who serves you breakfast Thank you for making me feel so very welcome to everybody that works so hard to make their guests enjoy their stay. Although I did not eat an evening meal the night I stayed, I witnessed a a very busy restaurant. 10/10 guys keep it up. As Arnie, says I will be back.

Room tip: Difficult to say I had a room at the front, but I cannot say for sure if there are river views from the rear?
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank gazzathenorfolkred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Kind words indeed Gazza & great to see we met your approval regarding the 10 out of 10 marking. Fingers crossed if your returning back to the area you decide to stay with us & hopefully you can dine with us & here's hoping you can give us a review marking of 11 out of 10?? lol seriously though hope to see you in the future. Regards Garry & I will pass on your review to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on a trip down the east coast from Aberdeen to Berwick-upon-Tweed. This was a friendly welcoming place great food using locally sourced produce. We had room 5, a family room with a double and single bed. Good linen small but adequate en-suite shower room with lovely towels. A few nice touches like iron and board, fruit, twix and haribos.
There was free parking through the arch at the bottom of the road also on street with a 2 hour ticket provided by the hotel. The staff were helpful and breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit and good yoghurts.
Would definitely recommend here to anyone staying in Berwick.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank margaret076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

A big thanks for your kind & constructive review Margaret & we certainly take any feed back on board so we can continue to improve our business. It's great to see everything was to your satisfaction & all being well you know where to come to on your next road trip if your in the surrounding area?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Stayed here for 3nights on our wedding anniversary no worries. The girl who checked us in knew it was a special dinner that night at the hotel and decorated our table with fairy lights and a banner which was a nice touch. Our table was by the window and was lovely. Our meal was very good as was all our meals there. Plenty of choice at. Breakfast and all staff very pleasant and attentive. Comfortable beds and well appointed room. Would return if ever in the area again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Many thanks for your kind words Graham & I will pass on the review to all staff concerned. In truth it's the smaller & personal touch which separates the independents from the conglomerates. The special occasion whilst dining with us was also recognised obviously with table decor etc & thankfully the old cliche 'only as good as your staff' bares some truth, it certainly makes a difference & thankfully although being here in our hotel for 18 years continuity in staff certainly plays it's part providing consistency & returning guests are able to recognise staff & vice versa.
Fingers crossed we may see you in the future if you decide to return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Comfortable room, very clean. Start of our walking tour and after calling them to let them know we were arriving on a late train, Gary offered for us to pre-order dinner so there would be something ready for us arriving minutes before the kitchen shut. Very accommodating. They also arranged for taxis for us in the morning and held our bags during a day of exploring after checking out. Lovely place!

Breakfast was lovely too!

Room tip: quiet rooms, quaint, rustic, dining, breakfast, helpful staff
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you ladies for your review & in truth it;s about giving a service to all of our customers & guests & catering for their needs, hence being able to pre-order your food on late arrival to the hotel.
Sincerely hope the weather is kind to both of you during the walking holiday & hopefully we may see you both again in the future all being well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

We stayed here recently and used to hotel as a base for a Golf Trip visiting courses in the local area. From the moment we arrived until we left Gary and his staff couldn't have made us feel more welcome. The rooms are comfy and well equipped and have everything you would need. The meals are fantastic and on a par with hotels that would be twice or three times the price. We had dinner at the hotel the first night and it was superb we couldn't wait for breakfast the next morning and we were not disappointed. All in all this a fantastic locally run hotel with a great selection of food and drink and great staff.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Durks275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Many thanks for your kind comments Durks & everything surpassed your expectations. In truth we try to offer a personal, efficient & friendly service without the pretentiousness.
Looks like we certainly satisfied your perception of 'value for money & quality with regards to the evening meal you all had with us.In truth don't think I would have a business if we charged twice or three times the price of what we charge at present.
We try to source all of our food locally taking into consideration seasonal produce & demographics certainly play their part but being here for 18 ears thankfully we have gained a reputation for consistency which again is important regarding location.
Sincerely hope to see you again if you all decide to return to golf in the area again which as a fellow golfer I would recommend & the courses are great value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews