We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
324
101
20
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
101
20
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely little hotelsmall hotelfish piefresh fruitbiscuitsreal alehotel restaurantpublic car parklovely mealcomfortable bedskipperslittle geman evening mealattention to detailstayed one nighttown wallslovely room
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On a run to Berwick Upon Tweed this is the second time we have eaten in this Hotel!
Menu is a bit more upmarket than your usual little restaurants in the area!
But you definitely won’t be disappointed! I had a beer battered haddock with chunky home made chips, and not too many, just enough! My husband had a beautiful crab salad with a beautiful dressing on it! Just to die for!
The service from the staff was fabulous, especially the girl who is due a baby in 5 weeks! She just made the visit so special! Explained the menu and every dish on it!
Thank you so much and we will return soon!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank hearts65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kind words indeed & thankfully your return visit with us was just as enjoyable as your first visit. The menu changes regularly so in truth local fresh crab will be taken off the menu soon as the shelf life is short & difficult to keep, however hope that doesn't stop you returning to sample so more of our seasonal dishes. Many thanks again for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

What a great find! Staff were warm and welcoming. The food (dinner) was splendid. Best of all were the beds and pillows (Room 1) - so comfortable. I could have slept all day after the clifftop walk at St Abbs Head (recommended). Would we come here again? Absolutely. Well done the Queen's Head.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robric1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for the praise & pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a fine line as in truth home comforts cannot be beaten, but it's re-assuring to know you slept incredibly well maybe it was down to the long walk or possible the fresh air?? lol
Let's hope we may see you in the future all being well?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Were in Berwick on a Sunday and surprisingly other restaurants were either fully booked or the newest one (only recently opened) was closing, despite it only being 7pm..
This place was busy but fitted us in, and the food was superb and the drinks fine.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Many thanks for your review Martyn & please to know your visit with us was an enjoyable one, fingers crossed if you return to the area based on your experience this time, you can possible give us a try first. Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Great hotel, with friendly staff. Especially the lady who serves you breakfast Thank you for making me feel so very welcome to everybody that works so hard to make their guests enjoy their stay. Although I did not eat an evening meal the night I stayed, I witnessed a a very busy restaurant. 10/10 guys keep it up. As Arnie, says I will be back.

Room Tip: Difficult to say I had a room at the front, but I cannot say for sure if there are river views from the rear?
Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank gazzathenorfolkred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Kind words indeed Gazza & great to see we met your approval regarding the 10 out of 10 marking. Fingers crossed if your returning back to the area you decide to stay with us & hopefully you can dine with us & here's hoping you can give us a review marking of 11 out of 10?? lol seriously though hope to see you in the future. Regards Garry & I will pass on your review to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on a trip down the east coast from Aberdeen to Berwick-upon-Tweed. This was a friendly welcoming place great food using locally sourced produce. We had room 5, a family room with a double and single bed. Good linen small but adequate en-suite shower room with lovely towels. A few nice touches like iron and board, fruit, twix and haribos.
There was free parking through the arch at the bottom of the road also on street with a 2 hour ticket provided by the hotel. The staff were helpful and breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit and good yoghurts.
Would definitely recommend here to anyone staying in Berwick.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank margaret076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

A big thanks for your kind & constructive review Margaret & we certainly take any feed back on board so we can continue to improve our business. It's great to see everything was to your satisfaction & all being well you know where to come to on your next road trip if your in the surrounding area?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews