We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
335
104
20
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
104
20
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel fresh fruit biscuits venison real ale hotel restaurant lovely hotel public car park lovely meal lasagna comfortable beds kippers attention to detail an evening meal twin room stayed one night lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2018

We were visiting Berwick on Tweed for just one night on our Coast & Castles cycle ride.
As it was a Sunday our B&B hosts recommended the Queens Head and we weren't disappointed. The menu is varied but we made short work of the delicious haddock, chips & petit pois and some yummy desserts. We would definitely recommend and return.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Many thanks for you review Gill & please that everything was enjoyable on your visit with us, however it's not recommend eating fish & chips before cycling the follow morning?? lol Guessing it was a short ride the following morning? Again many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Called in while on a day trip to Berwick-upon-Tweed and not disappointed. A lovely airy restaurant area and friendly, attentive staff. A choice of a set menu (2 courses for £14.50) or the a la carte menu. We went for a mixture of the two: the venison burger was delicious; a very filling kedgeree; and, a good lasagne. However, best of all was the Queen's Head banana split - delicious! Will definitely return on our next visit.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

A big thanks Rachel for you review & it's nice to know everything was to your satisfaction. In truth everyone has their own perception of 'value for money' which can vary?
With regards to the venison burger we make them on site so we can offer them pink as it;s all sourced internally, which I personally find really frustrating when you go to a restaurant & the premise tells you that the burger needs to be cooked through, this shows that they are bought & not fully traceable.
Fingers crossed we may see you in the future if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

On a run to Berwick Upon Tweed this is the second time we have eaten in this Hotel!
Menu is a bit more upmarket than your usual little restaurants in the area!
But you definitely won’t be disappointed! I had a beer battered haddock with chunky home made chips, and not too many, just enough! My husband had a beautiful crab salad with a beautiful dressing on it! Just to die for!
The service from the staff was fabulous, especially the girl who is due a baby in 5 weeks! She just made the visit so special! Explained the menu and every dish on it!
Thank you so much and we will return soon!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hearts65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Kind words indeed & thankfully your return visit with us was just as enjoyable as your first visit. The menu changes regularly so in truth local fresh crab will be taken off the menu soon as the shelf life is short & difficult to keep, however hope that doesn't stop you returning to sample so more of our seasonal dishes. Many thanks again for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

What a great find! Staff were warm and welcoming. The food (dinner) was splendid. Best of all were the beds and pillows (Room 1) - so comfortable. I could have slept all day after the clifftop walk at St Abbs Head (recommended). Would we come here again? Absolutely. Well done the Queen's Head.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robric1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Many thanks for the praise & pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a fine line as in truth home comforts cannot be beaten, but it's re-assuring to know you slept incredibly well maybe it was down to the long walk or possible the fresh air?? lol
Let's hope we may see you in the future all being well?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Were in Berwick on a Sunday and surprisingly other restaurants were either fully booked or the newest one (only recently opened) was closing, despite it only being 7pm..
This place was busy but fitted us in, and the food was superb and the drinks fine.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Many thanks for your review Martyn & please to know your visit with us was an enjoyable one, fingers crossed if you return to the area based on your experience this time, you can possible give us a try first. Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews