We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
324
101
20
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
101
20
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely little hotelsmall hotelfish piefresh fruitbiscuitsreal alehotel restaurantpublic car parklovely mealcomfortable bedskipperslittle geman evening mealattention to detailstayed one nighttown wallslovely room
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had lovely lunchtime meal here last week
place was really nice and Gillien was very Helpfull
to us about bewrick info x
the food was very esp the pizza and chips
very nice place to eat thankyou very much

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Queens Head is a gem , we were given a warm welcome, after a long drive, so really appreciated thoughtful personal touches in our room, bottles of water, some snacks and fruit. We were extremely comfortable, the room was quiet and relaxing. As we were passing through, we stayed only one night but would go back and explore the area , it’s a stunning and beautiful coastline steeped in history. Great food at dinner and a tasty breakfast, couldn’t have asked for more. Thanks so much to our hosts, I’m sure we will return!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank dgilr0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Very kind words indeed & we certainly appreciate your comments. I will pass on your gratitude to the staff. In truth the personal touches are what the customers remember & this is what separates independents to the big conglomerates. Hopefully you can continue to support us in the future if you decide to return to the area where as you mentioned in the review Northumberland & the Borders both are a natural place of scenery & beauty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were visiting Berwick on Tweed for just one night on our Coast & Castles cycle ride.
As it was a Sunday our B&B hosts recommended the Queens Head and we weren't disappointed. The menu is varied but we made short work of the delicious haddock, chips & petit pois and some yummy desserts. We would definitely recommend and return.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for you review Gill & please that everything was enjoyable on your visit with us, however it's not recommend eating fish & chips before cycling the follow morning?? lol Guessing it was a short ride the following morning? Again many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in while on a day trip to Berwick-upon-Tweed and not disappointed. A lovely airy restaurant area and friendly, attentive staff. A choice of a set menu (2 courses for £14.50) or the a la carte menu. We went for a mixture of the two: the venison burger was delicious; a very filling kedgeree; and, a good lasagne. However, best of all was the Queen's Head banana split - delicious! Will definitely return on our next visit.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

A big thanks Rachel for you review & it's nice to know everything was to your satisfaction. In truth everyone has their own perception of 'value for money' which can vary?
With regards to the venison burger we make them on site so we can offer them pink as it;s all sourced internally, which I personally find really frustrating when you go to a restaurant & the premise tells you that the burger needs to be cooked through, this shows that they are bought & not fully traceable.
Fingers crossed we may see you in the future if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On a run to Berwick Upon Tweed this is the second time we have eaten in this Hotel!
Menu is a bit more upmarket than your usual little restaurants in the area!
But you definitely won’t be disappointed! I had a beer battered haddock with chunky home made chips, and not too many, just enough! My husband had a beautiful crab salad with a beautiful dressing on it! Just to die for!
The service from the staff was fabulous, especially the girl who is due a baby in 5 weeks! She just made the visit so special! Explained the menu and every dish on it!
Thank you so much and we will return soon!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank hearts65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kind words indeed & thankfully your return visit with us was just as enjoyable as your first visit. The menu changes regularly so in truth local fresh crab will be taken off the menu soon as the shelf life is short & difficult to keep, however hope that doesn't stop you returning to sample so more of our seasonal dishes. Many thanks again for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews