We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
331
102
20
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
102
20
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel fresh fruit biscuits venison real ale hotel restaurant public car park street parking lasagna comfortable beds kippers an evening meal attention to detail stayed one night town walls twin room warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch at the Queens Head hotel being dog friendly. Welcomed by smiling helpful staff. A cosy seating area around the bar & two areas for dining.
A nice welcoming atmosphere, very clean. The service was good & didn’t have to wait too long for the food even though it was full.
A very nice menu with a plethora of cuisines all freshly cooked & great daily specials. Delicious!
Good efficient service.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank missinformed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Many thanks for your kind comments & it's very pleasing that everything was to your complete satisfaction. In truth dog owners sometimes receive a frosty reception but business is business, so we try to make everyone welcome, man or beast! lol
Thankfully we do not have a high turnover of staff so friendly competent & efficient staff make such a difference, fingers crossed we can continue to provide this service in the future.
Ps let's hope to see you all in the future if your returning to this beautiful part of the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Visited here recently have to say the food was good but compared to other places in the area offering similar service and Sunday roast it wasn’t value for money. Was very small intimate affair place but was fine for a Sunday lunch, wouldn’t recommend for large groups. Cutlery and crockery all spotless and felt the food was high standard.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bleaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Many thanks for your constructive review & it's pleasing your overall opinion was an enjoyable one. In truth we are not being detrimental to other food providers in the town but we try to use as much local produce as possible unfortunately this does come at a slightly higher cost price.
Please try not to compare us to other outlets, guessing it;s down to everyone's own interpretation of what's value for money.We also try to be as transparent as possible clearly showing what's available on the menu & prices are also clearly indicated, hence giving potential customers an opportunity to either dine with us or dine at another restaurant of their choice.
You mentioned a small restaurant, guessing you ate downstairs but we also have a larger room upstairs being able to cater for another 40 persons.
Again thank you for your comments & we will take on board your comments. Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

The ambience is nice, the food is generally good too, so is the friendly service.
BUT the restaurant was understaffed today and everything particularly the bill took far too long.
Consequently no tip for the overworked and excellent waitress.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Many thanks for your constructive review Michael & I certainly will take on board your comments. In truth it's very difficult to try staff accordingly as business is can be erratic.
I hope you can appreciate with business fluctuating so much it's also difficult for our chef's to do their mais en place. Over the last few years we have noticed less people reserving tables & showing up ad lib at peak times this obviously putting a strain on all departments & trying to provide a efficient service to the customer. As mentioned I take your comments seriously.
One thing I am slightly confused at is normally customers would leave a gratuity for a person over worked??
It sounds like you have dined with us before & sincerely hope that does not stop you returning to our hotel Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

This small hotel ticked all the boxes for us. A very comfortable night in room 1, divine bed, quiet, loved the treats to spoil us, haribos, felt my inner child there! The restaurant evening meal was top class, sea bass just gorgeous and the puddings just yummy! We loved the town and sadly a second night in this wonderful hotel wasn’t available, will definitely recommend and hopefully return.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wellwood_lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Kind words indeed Wellwood & it's very satisfying from our perspective that everything was to your satisfaction, in truth probably exceeded your expectation.
With small independent hotels like ours it's the personal touch which separates us from the conglomerates & fingers crossed we can continue to provide that personal touch for the foreseeable future. Kind regards & hope to see yo in the future if your returning to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Had lovely lunchtime meal here last week
place was really nice and Gillien was very Helpfull
to us about bewrick info x
the food was very esp the pizza and chips
very nice place to eat thankyou very much

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thank you for your review Stephanie but I think you have the wrong establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews