We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
331
102
20
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
102
20
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel fresh fruit biscuits venison real ale hotel restaurant public car park street parking lasagna comfortable beds kippers an evening meal attention to detail stayed one night town walls twin room warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner here and the food was just excellent. Great service as well. We would highly recommend a meal here and would definitely go again if we are in the area. It was fairly pricey in comparison to other restaurants around but definitely worth it.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank FiMo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, General Manager at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind words FiMo & thankfully everything was to your satisfaction on your visit with us. I certainly take on board your comments regarding price unfortunately we believe in trying to use as much seasonal local produce as possible & this does come at a higher cost price & in truth I can appreciate everyone has their own interpretation of 'value for money'.
Although we are competitively priced it's pleasing to know you would not hesitate on returning back to our hotel & hopefully if you do the food will be as just as enjoyable?
Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful fresh fish and chips AND wonderfully Dog friendly even down to the provision of dog treats!
Highly recommended
Right next to the walls for a walk
Welcoming friendly host
Not expensive
Full bar snacks menu and a la carte too

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank suecwilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind words Sue & were pleased to know your lunch was to your satisfaction. Guessing it's also reassuring to know when you find a place which offers good consistent food but is dog friendly with the added extra of dog treats.
Sincerely hope to see you both again if you decide to return to the area in the future. Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

We stayed here for a week recently and enjoyed it so much we will be coming back. Our room was very comfortable, we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and evening meals, and the staff were lovely and did all they could to make our stay enjoyable. Although the hotel is just off the centre of Berwick the street is very quiet and we weren't disturbed by traffic noise.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank liz195163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Kind words indeed Liz, guessing your a gluten for punishment wanting to return. lol On a serious note though it's great to hear you are both intending to return next year. Also to know everything was to your satisfaction. Fingers crossed we see in the new year & everything will be just as enjoyable. Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for lunch at the Queens Head hotel being dog friendly. Welcomed by smiling helpful staff. A cosy seating area around the bar & two areas for dining.
A nice welcoming atmosphere, very clean. The service was good & didn’t have to wait too long for the food even though it was full.
A very nice menu with a plethora of cuisines all freshly cooked & great daily specials. Delicious!
Good efficient service.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank missinformed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Many thanks for your kind comments & it's very pleasing that everything was to your complete satisfaction. In truth dog owners sometimes receive a frosty reception but business is business, so we try to make everyone welcome, man or beast! lol
Thankfully we do not have a high turnover of staff so friendly competent & efficient staff make such a difference, fingers crossed we can continue to provide this service in the future.
Ps let's hope to see you all in the future if your returning to this beautiful part of the country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Visited here recently have to say the food was good but compared to other places in the area offering similar service and Sunday roast it wasn’t value for money. Was very small intimate affair place but was fine for a Sunday lunch, wouldn’t recommend for large groups. Cutlery and crockery all spotless and felt the food was high standard.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bleaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Many thanks for your constructive review & it's pleasing your overall opinion was an enjoyable one. In truth we are not being detrimental to other food providers in the town but we try to use as much local produce as possible unfortunately this does come at a slightly higher cost price.
Please try not to compare us to other outlets, guessing it;s down to everyone's own interpretation of what's value for money.We also try to be as transparent as possible clearly showing what's available on the menu & prices are also clearly indicated, hence giving potential customers an opportunity to either dine with us or dine at another restaurant of their choice.
You mentioned a small restaurant, guessing you ate downstairs but we also have a larger room upstairs being able to cater for another 40 persons.
Again thank you for your comments & we will take on board your comments. Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews