We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
341
105
20
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
105
20
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel fresh fruit biscuits venison real ale public car park lovely hotel street parking lovely meal lasagna comfortable beds attention to detail twin room an evening meal lovely room warm welcome couple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Found this place by chance while wandering around Berwick thinking about lunch. Were greeted by a quietly enthusiastic and helpful young lady, who seated us and quickly took and delivered our drinks. We o my wanted a light lunch, and we ordered the soup and sandwich 'special'. We Were served with a delicious and not bowl of soup and a half sandwich, which was also very nice. Good value at under £7.00. The young lady must have been powered by duracell, as she was constantly on the move, efficiently taking and delivering orders with a pleasant and cheerful manner. Place was spotless. Would recommend.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ybsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Many thanks for your kind words & it is very pleasing to say you found us by chance passing & everything was to your satisfaction. A I will certainly pass on your comments to our staff & in truth they have have durecell batteries which makes my live a little easier!! lol
Here's hoping if your passing through the area again you know where to find us??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

My wife and I stopped off in Berwick-upon-Tweed to break up our drive and to have some lunch and called in here. Staff are all really welcoming and friendly and made special effort with decorating our table as we had just gotten married the week previous, even though they had only just found this out through chatting when we first arrived!

Big and tasty portion for lunch; would recommend the fish and chips and beef with Yorkshire puds.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ww_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Many thanks for your in depth review Wafflesniffer. Not sure how you managed to find us, possibly through search engines & trip advisor but we appreciate your time & effort regarding this.
The personal touch certainly does matter & I'm pretty sure it's appreciated by our customers. Ps hope to maybe see you both again if your passing through the area again?
Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

visited last Friday for lunch and as usual was superb. We both had the baked salmon with brown shrimp and saffron sauce. We followed this with sticky toffee pudding and chocolate cheesecake. if you are in the area and are wanting to eat then look no further as this is simply unbeatable. Many thanks Gary and your lovely staff for a great dining experience. We will certainly be back. Regards Chris and Monica

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chrisandmon176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Kind words indeed chrisandmon.. In truth sounds like you are frequent visitors to the hotel & hopefully long may this continue into the future. Many thanks again for your kind words & hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here and the food was just excellent. Great service as well. We would highly recommend a meal here and would definitely go again if we are in the area. It was fairly pricey in comparison to other restaurants around but definitely worth it.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FiMo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, General Manager at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Many thanks for your kind words FiMo & thankfully everything was to your satisfaction on your visit with us. I certainly take on board your comments regarding price unfortunately we believe in trying to use as much seasonal local produce as possible & this does come at a higher cost price & in truth I can appreciate everyone has their own interpretation of 'value for money'.
Although we are competitively priced it's pleasing to know you would not hesitate on returning back to our hotel & hopefully if you do the food will be as just as enjoyable?
Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful fresh fish and chips AND wonderfully Dog friendly even down to the provision of dog treats!
Highly recommended
Right next to the walls for a walk
Welcoming friendly host
Not expensive
Full bar snacks menu and a la carte too

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank suecwilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Many thanks for your kind words Sue & were pleased to know your lunch was to your satisfaction. Guessing it's also reassuring to know when you find a place which offers good consistent food but is dog friendly with the added extra of dog treats.
Sincerely hope to see you both again if you decide to return to the area in the future. Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews