We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
341
105
20
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
105
20
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel fresh fruit biscuits venison real ale public car park lovely hotel street parking lovely meal lasagna comfortable beds attention to detail twin room an evening meal lovely room warm welcome couple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2018

The Queens Head is ideally situated in the centre of town. There is some limited time disc parking directly outside (2 hours), and one of the main town car parks, which is free, is a hundred yards away, through the archway.

Check-in was friendly and efficient and our room (number 3) was nicely decorated, spacious, and very comfortable. The en-suite was also smart and had good quality toiletries and super, big fluffy towels. As mentioned by other travellers, the provided fresh fruit, water, biscuits etc are a nice touch and much appreciated.

Breakfast was very nice and included fresh fruits and cereals as well as the cooked options which included a fried breakfast or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.

The bottom line is that the Queens Head is a really good hotel run by nice people. The price represents fair value; the location is ideal; and we would certainly come back again.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Many thanks for your kind & constructive feedback John & great to know everything met your approval. In truth the attention to detail is paramount these days in all departments & we will continue to be pro-active to meet prospective customers needs & wants.
|Unfortunately we have no control over off street parking outside, however you can change the clock within the limits from arrival time 3pm until 11am the following morning or alternatively there is public car park 50 yards away which has free parking all day every day.
Let's hope we may both see you again if your passing through the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2018

Needed to stay over in Berwick for work - a quick search brought up the Queens Head Hotel - duly booked.
pushing 8pm after a very long day I received a fabulous warm, and friendly welcome, offered fresh milk in jug for my room - lovely touch
The room was comfortable and clean - very comfy bed. Several treats that I haven't seen in £200 a night hotels, an apple & Orange in a bowl - 2 bottles of water, biscuits and chocolate too, but oh the bag of haribo!!!
Down for dinner and the Fillet steak has to be the best ive ever had, the attention to detail on the plate, presentation and cooking was outstanding.
Breakfast the following morning did not disappoint - beautifully cooked, great coffee

Do yourselves a huge favour and book this one you will not regret it. I'll be back with the Mrs.

Thank you for a great stay - good friendly chat throughout.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMW_JEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thank you for your kind words Jez & great to know everything was to complete satisfaction & your even considering bringing the boss next time. Praise indeed! We are only providing an overall personal package what our customers expect & want.
Here's hoping we see you both in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Found this place by chance while wandering around Berwick thinking about lunch. Were greeted by a quietly enthusiastic and helpful young lady, who seated us and quickly took and delivered our drinks. We o my wanted a light lunch, and we ordered the soup and sandwich 'special'. We Were served with a delicious and not bowl of soup and a half sandwich, which was also very nice. Good value at under £7.00. The young lady must have been powered by duracell, as she was constantly on the move, efficiently taking and delivering orders with a pleasant and cheerful manner. Place was spotless. Would recommend.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ybsae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Many thanks for your kind words & it is very pleasing to say you found us by chance passing & everything was to your satisfaction. A I will certainly pass on your comments to our staff & in truth they have have durecell batteries which makes my live a little easier!! lol
Here's hoping if your passing through the area again you know where to find us??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

My wife and I stopped off in Berwick-upon-Tweed to break up our drive and to have some lunch and called in here. Staff are all really welcoming and friendly and made special effort with decorating our table as we had just gotten married the week previous, even though they had only just found this out through chatting when we first arrived!

Big and tasty portion for lunch; would recommend the fish and chips and beef with Yorkshire puds.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ww_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Many thanks for your in depth review Wafflesniffer. Not sure how you managed to find us, possibly through search engines & trip advisor but we appreciate your time & effort regarding this.
The personal touch certainly does matter & I'm pretty sure it's appreciated by our customers. Ps hope to maybe see you both again if your passing through the area again?
Regards Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

visited last Friday for lunch and as usual was superb. We both had the baked salmon with brown shrimp and saffron sauce. We followed this with sticky toffee pudding and chocolate cheesecake. if you are in the area and are wanting to eat then look no further as this is simply unbeatable. Many thanks Gary and your lovely staff for a great dining experience. We will certainly be back. Regards Chris and Monica

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chrisandmon176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Kind words indeed chrisandmon.. In truth sounds like you are frequent visitors to the hotel & hopefully long may this continue into the future. Many thanks again for your kind words & hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews