We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
341
105
20
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
105
20
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel fresh fruit biscuits venison real ale public car park lovely hotel street parking lovely meal lasagna comfortable beds attention to detail twin room an evening meal lovely room warm welcome couple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in the Queen's Head Hotel. The bar, restaurant,breakfast room and room were nicely decorated. Staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the ample breakfast and the good choice of pub food. The hotel provided 2 bands for entertainment on New Year's day which was popular for residents and locals. We would recommend this hotel.
Stuart and Catriona Bonnyrigg.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stuartwellerlynott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thank you Stuart but I have checked our reservations & in truth your review is for another accommodation provider. Great to hear you both had an enjoyable time & your stay in close proximity met your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

Stayed for a night en route from York back to Scotland. The owners/staff are welcoming and friendly, the room well appointed, warm with everything we needed, very comfortable bed with extremely cosy bedding. Made an error in not dining at the hotel, but after dining elsewhere we had cheese/biscuits and pudding at the Queen's Head and it was just the bee's knees. One of the best places I've stayed and I've stayed in a few! Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FeeFeeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Kind words indeed Fee Fee & thank you for the time in posting a review. I may sound biased but reputation is everything & hopefully if you do return & reside with us, you can dine & fingers crossed everything will be to your satisfaction? See you both in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2018

Lunched here with a pal on a Sunday and had a lovely meal, The soup was tasty and the Sunday lunch was nicely proportioned with nicely cooked vegetables. It isnt cheap but neither very expensive. Its decent value for the quality and the menu has a reasonable choice. Around half a dozen choices per course. The service was exceptional - very professional and attentive. It is located close to the River and there is limited parking directly opposite the hotel. Would have no problem recommending.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Many thanks for your kind & constructive comments words Jo. Pleasing to know everything was enjoyable on your visit & in truth it's a fine line on everyone's perception 'of value for money' thankfully the boxes were ticked in that department. Hope to see you again in the future if your passing through either for another Sunday lunch or an evening visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

fantastic family run service,very clean and homely room with two very comfortable single beds some jelly sweets and chocolate bar when normally its a biscuit elsewhere.

felt like a valued customer on my visit and would recommend to anyone thinking of staying in Berwick.

i will definitely be staying again in the future.

thanks very much.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank NorthStar806894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Thank you NorthStar for your kind words. With us being here 19 years now I think it's the personal touches that matter hence all the little goodies & attentive staff who have time to speak to customers & ensuring their stay with us is as comfortable & enjoyable as possible. Lastly to hopefully pass the word in recommendations or a return visit, here's hoping so.
Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

The Queens Head is ideally situated in the centre of town. There is some limited time disc parking directly outside (2 hours), and one of the main town car parks, which is free, is a hundred yards away, through the archway.

Check-in was friendly and efficient and our room (number 3) was nicely decorated, spacious, and very comfortable. The en-suite was also smart and had good quality toiletries and super, big fluffy towels. As mentioned by other travellers, the provided fresh fruit, water, biscuits etc are a nice touch and much appreciated.

Breakfast was very nice and included fresh fruits and cereals as well as the cooked options which included a fried breakfast or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.

The bottom line is that the Queens Head is a really good hotel run by nice people. The price represents fair value; the location is ideal; and we would certainly come back again.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garrygreenaway, Owner at Queens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2019

Many thanks for your kind & constructive feedback John & great to know everything met your approval. In truth the attention to detail is paramount these days in all departments & we will continue to be pro-active to meet prospective customers needs & wants.
|Unfortunately we have no control over off street parking outside, however you can change the clock within the limits from arrival time 3pm until 11am the following morning or alternatively there is public car park 50 yards away which has free parking all day every day.
Let's hope we may both see you again if your passing through the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews