We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming, good food and cycle friendly.”
Review of Queens Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queens Head Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Friendly and accommodating. Locked yard for cycles. Very good food, both dinner and breakfast. positioned right in the town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyclingFarrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2010

Stayed here for one night. Find Berwick-Upon-Tweed to be a great little getaway and this hotel is a wonderful place to stay over. Will definately return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 051910a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided this was the place to stay for my "significant" birthday tied in with a day at Kelso Races. We were not disappointed. Rooms were very comfortable with the added bonus of fresh fruit and jelly beans laid on. The restaurant was excellent - it's obviously a well used venue by locals. But beware - they don't do "small portions"! The owners really know how to provide a welcoming but unobtrusive service. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuSut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The Queens Head Hotel, Berwick does what is says on the tin - informal, relaxed ambience and centrally located at the lower end of Berwick's main street, within easy walking distance of the shops and pubs. Meter street parking is available directly outside the hotel and only costs 85p per hour. If you have an early breakfast, the meter only starts at 0900hrs and therefore free! Room 6 is a small front-facing double room with ensuite bathroom with corner bath and separate shower cubicle, the facilities of which are adequate. If you are a light sleeper then I suggest this is not the room for you as there is a lot of street noise. The restaurant located within the hotel is excellent and I have no hesitation whatsover in recommending to others. Evening meals vary in price between approx £10-20 for a main course and the proprietor, Gary, will bend over backwards to accommodate any culinary request. I think the burning question is always "given your experience, would you stay again?" - and the answer is YES.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L-A.Davidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

this hotel is centrally located and easy to find but lacks a private car park. on street parking available at reasonable cost.
Friendly welcome, all advertised facilities available.
Excellent breakfast and good restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We booked without knowing the area, but couldn't have found a more comfortable hotel - room spotless, staff helpful and knowledgeable, breakfast excellent and evening meals regarded by locals too as best for miles around - we agree. Certainly enjoyed our five-day stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

A most professional service delivered in a very friendly and unintrusive way but with such attentiveness and attention to detail that this hotel served-up a 5 - star expereince for myself and my wife at an extremely competitive price. Our basic package was for 3 nights B & B but the cosy ambience of the bar and dining rooms together with a wide choice of a la carte menu that we were seduced to dine at the hotel for the 3 evenings that we stayed; and delighted we were too, again at very resonable costs for both food and drinks. The bar has real ale, other beers/lagers and a stock of wines and spiits to cater for most tastes. The hotel dining in open to the public for lunches and evening meals which makes for a a lovely vibrant atmosphere at times.

The hotel has 6 rooms. We had room 6; a lovely room with an en-suite bathroom with separate shower, a flat screen TV with free view and a DVD player - the hotel has DVDs' to borrow (not rent!) or bring your own. Free WiFi is also available in the rooms; so bring your laptop if you must keep in touch with the world beyond Berwick.

We loved the small town of Berwick. It is quaint, packed with history and a good range of shops, coffee houses, bistros, bars and plenty of shops. The scenery in and around Berwick is stunning scenery with plenty of opportunities for walking as strnouusly as you want, or not. Lots to do and lots to see. The Queens Head hotel is very close to the towen centre. There is plenty of car parking around the town, both on and off the street but Northumberland Council make a charge for this albeit at a reasonable cost. There is street parking immediately outside the hotel and three other parking areas within 50 metres.

There were so many aspects of our stay at the Queens Head that we liked that it is difficult to pick out what we liked best - however I would say that friendliness and flexibility of mine hosts, Garry and Joanne, to meet our every need ensure that our stay in Berwick was not just good, but very good. I would be nit-picking to find anything that we least liked. If I had to pick anything to report in this category it would be car parking arrangements; however this wasn't a problem or a nuisance for us as our hosts helped us to get the best of the parking system.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kishorn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick-upon-Tweed
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
311 reviews
21.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#33 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 45 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Head Hotel

Address: 6 Sandgate, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range: £93 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel providing quality accommodation with a contemporary feel whilst retaining old period characteristics. All of our food is locally sourced & seasonal produce is essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Queens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Head
Queens Head Hotel Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing