We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Upminster, Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed as a family of five for three nights and were made to feel extremely welcome. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and spotlessly clean. The bathroom showers are amazing. This is the first time that both my husband and myself have woken up and not had a backache from being in a different bed - they were soooooooo comfortable. The breakfast is varied and caters for all needs, Gemma even went out of her way to please one of our fussy daughters and got her to eat, which is no mean feat!! Gemma and her mum were very informative and offered lots of ideas of things to see and do in the area. Whilst we were there we visited the Maltings.... a very quaint theatre/cimema on two evenings and had a wonderful experience. I would recommend to check out what's on. We would definitely come back for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wattsclan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
383
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berwick upon tweed
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Having stayed in many B & B's over the years, The Walls B & B trumped them all. Set in a delightful location, with spectacular views of the river, this establishment, spared nothing with attention to details in the décor and soft furnishings. Greeted warmly by the owners Eric and Suzanne, they made us feel like one of the family. Breakfast was freshly home cooked, with an excellent choice of food on the menu. Great walking distance to the centre of down with all local immenities on the doorstep, and only a car ride/bus journey to nearby Holy Island and Bamburgh. Have stayed many times now, and will be back without hesitation in the spring. 11/10 for me!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had all the family stay here whilst in Berwick for a funeral, Suzanne, Eric and Gemma, looked after us very well, and although S & E went on holiday during our stay Gemma managed just fine even when I asked to stay an additional night.
We took over the Tweed, Swan and cygnet rooms, which all have fantastic views of the Tweed and the bridges, the tweed is a nice size with en-suite, great shower, Swan has a Super king bed and my daughter was lucky to have this and the boys had to have the little cygnet room which has two singles, pity this room wasn't a bit bigger and could have done with a TV, but if you have 2 small kids not 2 lads over 17 and 6ft it will do just fine.
Great breakfast, and nice lounge
All in all a very pleasant stay, this B & B is spotlessly clean, has a great breakfast offer and is very well placed

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor have the best view, Tweed or Swan
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owenski37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just 3 rooms, so book ahead. But what a place! No detail overlooked.
Where do I start? Beautiful bedroom (we stayed in 'Tweed'); great bathroom & shower; wonderful views over the Tweed and the Old Bridge; fantastic location, just a short stroll from the best of Berwick (which is a special place, by the way); absolutely delicious breakfasts with a great choice (if anything, the home-made fishcakes were even BETTER than the Full Northumbrian brekkie); and super-super-helpful, kind and friendly owners... Suzanne is Yorkshire's finest (yes, she's an 'ex-pat), as is Carol who was there to help out during our stay. Oh, and there are maps & lots of other useful local info for perusal in the very comfy lounge.
Only one fly in the ointment: the 'For Sale' sign up spotted outside...
Eric / Suzanne - PLEASE DON'T SELL... we want to come back next year!!

Room Tip: ONly 3 rooms - all good - so more important to book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Brilliant place. Visited here last year and loved it so much we decided to come again. Last year we were in the Tweed Room (really nice) and this year the Walls Room (also really nice). Would happily stay in either again.
Breakfasts are to die for. Service is top class and the owners are genuinely friendly people. To be honest, I do like Berwick-upon-Tweed but if I had to be honest, the Walls could now be located in a small layby next to a multi-story carpark and I'd still come to visit it! It really is that good.
The owners offer a really personal touch to what they do and the quality of the food on offer is exemplary. Genuinely great people with a building in a genuinely great location offering genuinely great food and service and a genuinely great price...
My wife and I said we'd be back - we were, and will again!

Room Tip: Tweed Room has better views but the Walls Room is up to the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ActualEducation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Hi,

We spent a couple of days at this Bed and Breakfast. The lady that manage the B&B was extremely kind. Since we arrived at her place a bit late she made some phone calls for us to look for a restaurant still open.

The rooms were very spacious, clean and nice. From the rooms at the first floor you have a wonderfull panorama of the river.

We were a family but we think it can be a wonderfull location also for a couple.

Room Tip: We really enjoy the rooms at the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamigliaGiramondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I went in this lovely and super luxurious B&B with all my family (I have 2 children: 5 and 7 years old) and another family (2 children : 6months and 3 years old) on august...we spent a very good time!! the rooms are very conformtable and big such as bathrooms!! Suzanne, Eric and their daughetr are fantastic ...and the breakfast is really delicious!!!

Assolutamente da consigliare! il B&B di Suzanne Eric e figlia è lussuoso ed al tempo stesso familiare grazie alla cortesia, disponibilità ed al calore con cui lo gestiscono. la colazione è sempre stata ottima, freschissima ed abbondante. Le camere sono enormi, molto confortevoli (c'era anche un bellissimo camino!) i bagni anche grandi e con ogni confort..insomma perfetta. Tutto assolutamente pulito (per non dire lindo!)...bellissima la vista dalle camere...insomma da non perdere!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffaella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
0.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
No 11B Boutique
No 11B Boutique
#5 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle Vale House
Castle Vale House
#10 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#23 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.5 mi away
West Longridge Manor
West Longridge Manor
#3 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walls Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walls Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Walls Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8 Quay Walls, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1HB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Walls Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Walls is a beautiful and elegant period townhouse overlooking the Tweed Estuary, right on the Elizabethan Walls and in the tranquil heart of the old town of Berwick. Recently restored to its former Georgian splendour. The Walls offers luxurious comfort but with modern conveniences such as free Wi-Fi internet access and full Sky TV on large flat-screen TVs. We also have secure storage for bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Walls Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walls Bed And Breakfast Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing