We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome end to walk”
Review of Alannah House

Alannah House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alannah House
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcome end to walk”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

This was the last stop on our walk along the Northumberland coastal path. There's no better place to arrive tired, hot and sweaty. The room was cool and comfortable, the bathroom luxurious, but it was the kindly welcome that stays in the memory. Breakfast one of the best. Full marks.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harikari999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillys-dad, Owner at Alannah House, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thanks for reviewing us and for the kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to make you feel 'human' again after a long walk. We do get many walkers stay with us and we hope that all our guests enjoy their stay with us.
Thanks again and hopefully you get the chance to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
86
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My friend and I have been cycling the Northumberland Coast, and rolled up to Allanah House last Wednesday night without a booking. Unfortunately they only had a double-room, which we accepted most local B&Bs were advertising ‘no vacancies’. However, by the time Steve had helped us with our bikes/luggage and shown us around, to our delight, Lynne had cleared out a private room so that we didn’t have to share a bed! …And for this, they still only charged us the very-reasonable double-room rate. They were both lovely rooms with tea-making facilities, biscuits, TV and ensuite toilet and sink. The shower-room downstairs was a good size and finished in a modern combination of slate and glass tiling. We found Lynne and Steve exceptionally welcoming and helpful – even offering to serve us our (lovely!) breakfast at 6:30am so we could catch the 7:15am train!

I very much intend to visit this part of the world again, and if we find ourselves in Berwick-Upon-Tweed, we will almost certainly by asking Lynne and Steve to put us up again. Thanks again for your hospitality.

Adam & Jon

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adzcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillys-dad, Owner at Alannah House, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thanks for reviewing us. We're only pleased that we could help you, both Lynn and I are keen travellers (when we can!) and know how we would like to be treated when away from home and we try to be as accommodating to our guests' needs as we hope any accommodation provider would be to us.
We are also members of the Visit England cyclists welcome scheme so can provide secure storage for bikes, I am also a cyclist so am aware of a lot of the issues that cyclists encounter on trips away from home and try to be as helpful as possible.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Only stayed one night but would have loved to have stayed more. Only 2 of us but were given the family room. This includes a separate adjoining room which would be ideal for a couple or family with an older child. Lynn and Steve were very welcoming and breakfast was lovely. Nice garden to sit in and ideal for walking around \Berwick. We will certainly be back next time we stay in Berwick.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank searcaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillys-dad, Owner at Alannah House, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thanks for reviewing us. Our family room is large and has a double and two single beds, we can also supply a cot if necessary. We do take pride in our garden which most guests are surprised to find when they walk in off the street, all our guests are welcome to use the garden and the patio area at their leisure.
We are central to the town but in a quiet area and ideally situated for walking the vicinity.
We hope to see you again soon.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed one night , we hadn't booked ahead but was happy to get a family room here at the Alannah , the house is lovely with a beautiful garden at the rear. Our hosts were delightful people, the room was very clean, extremely well equipped down to brollies and shoe shine including all what would be expected in a hotel, very comfy bed. And breakfast was delicious.
Thank you, we will definately be returning
Marcus and Sheila

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillys-dad, Owner at Alannah House, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for generous comments. The garden is Lynn's pride and joy and is a bit of a hidden gem in the town centre. It's totally walled with a patio and all guests are invited to use it at their leisure. We look forward to you returning to us in the future.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed one night in allanah house in berwick and it was fantastic. We had a beautiful room and lynn and steve were very nice. Breakfast was lovely and i had my son with me and they were great with him too and we will definately be back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgow121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillys-dad, Owner at Alannah House, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eskilstuna, Södermanlands Län, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

we recommend every one to stay at Alannahs, it´s a superb service, nice couples who ownes it
Berwick upon tweed is a nice city to stay in. we will come back every time we go by car in England and we will stay at Alannahs

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lasse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillys-dad, Owner at Alannah House, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing Alannah House. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you'll get the chance to visit us again sometime.
Berwick-upon-Tweed is a nice town with plenty of history and historical buildings to visit and explore.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Friendly, convenient, great breakfast, comfortable room and interesting art by the co-owner. Great pains have been taken to assemble information of interest to travellers in room packs and there is lots more downstairs. They really try very hard to please.

Room Tip: Although not in a noisy area the large family room at the back is likely to be best for anyone who d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPrescott2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillys-dad, Manager at Alannah House, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your comment and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Two of our three rooms do overlook the street but it is very quiet in fact the noise of our local seagulls will definitely drown out any human noise whatever part of the Northumberland coast you're on. If this may be of a concern to anyone our single glazed windows (we are in a conservation zone and Alannah House is a listed building so double glazing not allowed) also have wooden shutters which can be closed to block out light and any noise.
We have lived in Berwick for many years now and pride ourselves in having good local knowledge, the packs in the rooms give a good idea of what Berwick has to offer but of course we are always about to give our views or advice on any trips you may plan.
Thanks again for the positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berwick-upon-Tweed hotels
0.2 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
409 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 46 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parade School Guest House
Parade School Guest House
#7 of 46 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#24 of 46 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alannah House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alannah House

Property: Alannah House
Address: 84 Church Street, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 1DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Hotel Class:4 star — Alannah House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Britain 4 star silver award grading in cyclists and walkers welcome schemes. A Georgian house set within the historic town walls, beautiful garden and patio area. All rooms en-suite and tastefully decorated with central heating, tea coffee making facilities, freeview colour TV. Free parking permits available for on street parking. Within easy reach of town centre, beaches, places of historic interest, golf, fishing etc. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alannah House Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing