We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Very Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Very Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is our second visit to Hay Farm and at the end of 7 days we did not want to leave. Tina makes you feel like one of the family and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are amazing and you could have something different from the menu every day. The rooms are very well appointed and the views over the Cheviot hills are spectacular. It is certainly 5 star and we cannot wait to return again. Well done Tina.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to see you both again and we look forward to seeing you for another stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
75
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is the best B & B we've ever stayed at. Tina is very friendly and hospitable and a very good cook. She also has a lot of local knowledge which we found very useful. Our bedroom was spacious and had a fantastic view over the countryside. There is also a lovely sitting room for guests to use with a coal fire in the evening. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henryheller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. Middle of May almost and the coal fire still going!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here and will definitely come again. Tina is a fantastic host, friendly, hospitable and makes the most fantastic breakfasts. It will take me a month to lose the weight !! Everything so good it is hard to resist. The bedrooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean. The view from our window was breathtaking as is the surrounding countryside. If you want a calm peaceful escape to chill out and relax, get booking right away you won't regret it.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gwyneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Hi,
Thank you so much for your great review. Thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much. It will be a pleasure to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I've stayed in £800per night hotels that I enjoyed less than this. Wonderful location overlooking the Cheviot hills; silent, starry nights; perfect host; lovely food; superb value. We were two adults and one 5-year old.

Room Tip: Call Tina to discuss your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I'm not sure where to start saying what is good about Hay Farm House, as soon as we arrived we knew we had made the right choice in staying here. Our room was beautiful and immaculate and contained everything we needed plus more- complete with little chocolates on the bedside tables! Breakfast was delicious- we went for fresh fruit salad with yoghurt to start with, then either full english or pancakes with bacon- all locally sourced where possible and it kept us going for most of the day.

The recommendations for restaurants and places to visit during our stay, including the fabulous Milan in Wooler, were spot on, there seems to be nothing that Tina doesn't know about! She was a fantastic host- chatty and funny and made us feel completely at home during our stay.

We are definitely coming back again to visit in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniW_267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Hello, thank you for the delightful comments. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Speechless! So good I don't know where to start so let me tell you this - We booked to go again before we'd even checked out. Room fabulous, House amazing, Breakfast delightful, Service
exceptional. The area unbeatable. Northumberland has always been a favourite of mine always
drawn to its beautiful coast but have to say I have fallen in love with its countryside even more too

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slamdunc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for lovely comments. Looking forward to seeing you both in a few weeks time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed there with my elderly mother for 3 nights. Having just read all the previous reviews I feel that my contribution is now superfluous. But I just wanted to tell everyone that this place is still as good as all the other reviews say it is. Absolutely top notch. Large rooms, bright & airy, but also warm, incredibly comfortable without being "fussy" (thanks for not having resorted to a teddy on the bed!!), every facility we could have needed, clean and bright, perfect high quality linen, furnishings and towels, fabulous breakfast - excellent choice and quality. Lovely house altogether, beautiful residents lounge with open fire, perfect hostess - friendly, chatty, efficient - but not imposing. I could go on & on.... I have just had to promise my wife to take her sometime soon.!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you! Believe me your review is not superfluous at all. I look forward to you returning with your wife. I promise you, there will never be teddy bears or any other soft fluffy toys on the beds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornhill-on-Tweed
4.5 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill-on-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
17.5 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Estate House
The Estate House
#1 of 2 in Ford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 2 in Crookham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
9.2 mi away
Caroline House
Caroline House
#2 of 4 in Spittal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hay Farm Ford & Etal Country Estate | Ford & Etal Country Estate, Cornhill-on-Tweed TD12 4TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill-on-Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cornhill-on-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast on the beautiful Ford and Etal Country Estate in Northumberland; situated midway between the vibrant city of Newcastle upon Tyne and historic Edinburgh. We are only just over an hours drive from either and only 15 minutes from Berwick on Tweed Railway Station on the main East coast line. Coast or countryside this is the ideal location for visiting the many attractions of the splendid ' Secret Kingdom' of North Northumberland and the wonderful border region of Scotland.Hay Farm enjoys an elevated position giving spectacular panoramic views over the surrounding countryside. To the south the mystical Cheviot Hills, a walkers paradise on the edge of the Northumberland National Park and to the west over the Scottish borders with the Eildon Hills in the distance.We have 3 beautifully appointed guest rooms with a well stocked refreshement tray, mini fridge, flat screen tv, exceptionally comfy beds and ensuite with super, thick, soft, fluffy towels.Our breakfast menu is extensive, with something to suit all tastes and we offer a tasty, hearty two course supper 3 nights a week and succulent two course dinner with a Sunday roast at the weekend. We use as much locally sourced produce as possible. A varied and interesting vegetarian option is always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hay Farm House Bed And Breakfast Cornhill-On-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing