We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in the middle of tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B in the middle of tranquility”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hay Farm is located in the middle of some of the most beautiful English countryside to be found.

The room we had was a lovely double room overlooking rolling hills, fields and nearby Ford Castle.

We were received warmly by Tina, and had a lovely stay - even utilising the lounge's Trivial Pursuit boardgame to pass some time in the evening.

Tina recommended two local pubs for dinner, and the one we opted for (The Red Lion Inn in Milfield) was wonderful.

The cooked breakfast was wonderful and, as we wish to visit some more of the nearby attractions, we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RinnyWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi,
Thank you, so pleased you enjoyed it. I really look forward to seeing you both again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
78
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrowford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I plus 4 friends spent 3 wonderful nights here in April.All the rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfasts - well the choice was fantastic.On arrival we were greeted by Tina with a tray of Tea and biscuits - just what was needed after our journey. Always a lovely fire in the lounge whenever we arrived 'HOME'.Tina was easy to talk to and had lots of advice as to what to see and where to visit.We will most certainly be back.I would recommend Hay Farm to everyone who wants perfection in a B&B.

Room Tip: all rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you. What a really lovely review. Glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston,
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had a two night stay here mid march by way of a recommendation, so glad that we did,as Tina the host makes you feel so welcome on arrival with tea and cake and a laugh.Must agree with all the other comments and give it a big thumbs up and 100%.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed it and that we lived up to the recommendation. Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My hubby and I just got back after a WONDERFUL stay in Hay Farm House. The location was gorgeous! Surrounded by farmland and totally peaceful. Tina (the lady who runs this B & B) is fab - friendly and helpful but not in your face at all. The breakfasts were HUGE and delicious - all sourced locally. You'll definitely need your car to get around as it's pretty much in the middle of nowhere. We enjoyed using Hay Farm as a base to explore the Northumberland coastline and had such a good time. I would highly recommend this homely B&B and I hope we can visit again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which was very comfortable with good facilities. The view was incredible! TV wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meganpenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi, Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased you had a good time here. I look forward to, hopefully, seeing you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent 3 nights here in February. A lovely house with great views of the Cheviots and situated in the Ford and Etal Estate. The room was well up to 4 star rating and Tina was very welcoming with an open fire in the lounge and great breakfasts. The house is ideally situated for visits to Lindisfarne and Bamburgh.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JBiggadike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am thrilled that you liked Hay Farm House so much and enjoyed your visit to North Northumberland. I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Another wonderful weekend stay at Hay Farm!! Lots of fun and laughter and happy memories made! Our children had a wonderful time too!!
Beautiful views and roaring fires and delicious food!!
We had wonderful walks on the beaches at Bamburgh and Cocklawburn....
Thank you for having us again!!
We can't wait for another visit! ;-) x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hay Farm House for two nights in October whilst visiting family. The accommodation was everything we were hoping for after reading the reviews. Tina could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Our room was perfect, large with so many little thoughtful touches and amazing views. And as for the breakfasts! A proper hearty meal, I was so full I had no room for lunch on either day. We will be back in the spring and I am looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyblue1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is much better to be able to pick and choose what you have from the breakfast menu, everyone seems to like it.
Thank you for the lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornhill-on-Tweed
4.5 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill-on-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
17.5 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Estate House
The Estate House
#1 of 2 in Ford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 2 in Crookham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
9.2 mi away
Caroline House
Caroline House
#2 of 4 in Spittal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Old Mill B&B
The Old Mill B&B
#1 of 18 in Wooler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hay Farm Ford & Etal Country Estate | Ford & Etal Country Estate, Cornhill-on-Tweed TD12 4TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill-on-Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cornhill-on-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast on the beautiful Ford and Etal Country Estate in Northumberland; situated midway between the vibrant city of Newcastle upon Tyne and historic Edinburgh. We are only just over an hours drive from either and only 15 minutes from Berwick on Tweed Railway Station on the main East coast line. Coast or countryside this is the ideal location for visiting the many attractions of the splendid ' Secret Kingdom' of North Northumberland and the wonderful border region of Scotland.Hay Farm enjoys an elevated position giving spectacular panoramic views over the surrounding countryside. To the south the mystical Cheviot Hills, a walkers paradise on the edge of the Northumberland National Park and to the west over the Scottish borders with the Eildon Hills in the distance.We have 3 beautifully appointed guest rooms with a well stocked refreshement tray, mini fridge, flat screen tv, exceptionally comfy beds and ensuite with super, thick, soft, fluffy towels.Our breakfast menu is extensive, with something to suit all tastes and we offer a tasty, hearty two course supper 3 nights a week and succulent two course dinner with a Sunday roast at the weekend. We use as much locally sourced produce as possible. A varied and interesting vegetarian option is always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hay Farm House Bed And Breakfast Cornhill-On-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing