We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“....again..... Fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Another wonderful return visit to Hay Farm.... Breakfast delicious, Evening meal delicious, room very clean, comfortable and spacious with plenty of room for our travel cot and luggage. The separate bathroom- very ornate and spacious with a great bath!!!
Tina gave us lots of local knowledge and gave us some great suggestions on places to visit. We had a wonderful visit to Floors Castle.
Free Wi-Fi- very quick and easy to connect to- Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

Many thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you both and your absolutely lovely little girl again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hay Farm House for two weeks and we were splendidly looked after - nothing was too much trouble, and I have never known such comfortable beds and rooms. Everything is catered for - wonderful and enormous breakfasts with kippers to die for ! Decor is brilliant and we loved the big old fashioned bath tub, so Tina please keep it if you can. Hay Farm house beats most hotels we have every stayed in and as for B+B's I do not think it can be bettered! If we tell too many people about it we will never get another booking! So well done Tina, and Oscar too ! Oscar is the grey cat y and a very important part of Hay Farm House !

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasty22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2010

So pleased you enjoyed Northumberland and your stay here at Hay Farm. I am still playing hide and seek with Oscar every morning! Thank you for choosing us and hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We really liked our 2 night stay at Hay Farm. Whilst the weather was not great there is plenty to see & do in the area so this wasn't a problem. Tina the landlady was very friendly and laid back but efficient with attention to detail evident in both the good sized clean and comfortable room and in the 2 course dinner she provided for our first night. We had bought our small dog with us as agreed in advance and he was accommodated without fuss. The house is spacious and although there are 4 letting rooms you don't feel that everyone is on top of everyone else. We thought the dinner was just right and quite stylish and leaving the bottle of house wine on the table so you could have as much or as little as you wanted was a classy touch as wine was not as far as I recall formally included. The quiet location was ideal and just what we wanted. Hopefully we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thewinetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2010

Thanks for your very nice review! Glad you enjoyed the area. Hopefully the weather will be kinder to you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

My mother in law and myself have just spent 4 nights at hay farm. We were made very welcome with the landlady making us a sandwich when we arrived as we were too tired to eat out.(no charge!) We found the b&b very friendly with every convenience you could think of from a dish of sweets and bottled water in the room to shaving cream and razor in the bathroom.
The breakfast was excellent with a good choice of local produce.
We only had an evening meal one night. £16 for 2 courses plus wine and coffee. The meal was ok , it was nice to have the option not to go out.
Over all Hay farm was an excellent b&b and we had a lovely stay, close enough to all the local attractions but out in the country side with wonderful views.
We would love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlsontourPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

This was the best B & B we have ever stayed at, everything was perfect. Tina has thought of and supplies every little luxury you can imagine. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and had amazing views over the surrounding countryside. Beakfast was excellent, with a superb choice of menu. Tina supplied masses of local information and was always willing to give advice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2010

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
The recipe is on its way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

The room was excellently presented after a warm sincere welcome from Tina, and we soon settled in to something like home, the 4 stars awarded are fully justified for the standard of the room and also the little details that make it special, a full selection for the well stocked drinks tray. The view from room 1 was worth seeing. The rest of the hotel is very pleasant which adds to the overall experience, you can either watch a flat screen tv with freeview in your room on a full size sette or go into the common room and watch tv or a choice of DVD's in armchair comfort.
Overall I would like to highly recommend the hotel as a place for peace and solitude or you can easily go to Alnwick, Bamburgh etc because all are within easy travelling

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dillaneous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cam24, Owner at Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2010

Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the brilliant photo of the view from your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

As soon as we arrived at Hay Farm we felt at home. Tina invited us into the lounge for coffee and some home made scones with jam which was very welcome after our journey. Our room was beautiful, and all the little touches were much appreciated. We had a lovely view over the snow topped hills and fields with a variety of wildlife to watch, The breakfasts were superb and there is a brilliant choice to suit all tastes.
What more can we say than we cant wait for our return visit!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazy_Sunshine41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hay Farm Ford & Etal Country Estate | Ford & Etal Country Estate, Cornhill-on-Tweed TD12 4TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill-on-Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cornhill-on-Tweed
Price Range: £50 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast on the beautiful Ford and Etal Country Estate in Northumberland; situated midway between the vibrant city of Newcastle upon Tyne and historic Edinburgh. We are only just over an hours drive from either and only 15 minutes from Berwick on Tweed Railway Station on the main East coast line. Coast or countryside this is the ideal location for visiting the many attractions of the splendid ' Secret Kingdom' of North Northumberland and the wonderful border region of Scotland.Hay Farm enjoys an elevated position giving spectacular panoramic views over the surrounding countryside. To the south the mystical Cheviot Hills, a walkers paradise on the edge of the Northumberland National Park and to the west over the Scottish borders with the Eildon Hills in the distance.We have 3 beautifully appointed guest rooms with a well stocked refreshement tray, mini fridge, flat screen tv, exceptionally comfy beds and ensuite with super, thick, soft, fluffy towels.Our breakfast menu is extensive, with something to suit all tastes and we offer a tasty, hearty two course supper 3 nights a week and succulent two course dinner with a Sunday roast at the weekend. We use as much locally sourced produce as possible. A varied and interesting vegetarian option is always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hay Farm House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hay Farm House Bed And Breakfast Cornhill-On-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing