We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing find....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Collingwood Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“An amazing find....”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is such a fantastic find, off the beaten track and well worth a visit. We broke our journey to Edinburgh overnight and were so impressed with what we found - we couldn't believe our luck! Beautifully decorated with stylish rooms, perfect, attention to detail (Molton Brown bathroom goodies), friendly attentive staff and good food. Perfect for either an overnight stay or as a destination in itself. It has all the benefits of a London boutique hotel but without the pretentiousness, in glorious countryside and only an hour to Edinburgh. It is a lovely relaxed combination of being very well looked after and staying with friends in their country house. We phoned on our way to check about booking for dinner but couldn't decide between the bistro or the main dining room. It was no problem for Kevin, he just reserved a table in both and and let us decide when we arrived. He also upgraded us to a glorious spacious room with fabulous views which was much appreciated after a long drive. Will be making a detour next time we head to Edinburgh for a return visit. Do not hesitate to book, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    47
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
51
193
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

An amazing hotel with real care, attention and impeccable style. Kevin made us feel like VIP's and his team followed this up throughout the week of our stay. We fished during the day and anything we caught was kept in their freezer until we wanted it (the Chef even cooked the salmon we caught one evening!). Thank you to all concerned.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Following our wedding here last year, my husband and I have just spent our first wedding anniversary back at the Collingwood - just perfect!
This is a beautiful country hotel with simply the best team of staff and a brilliant manager in Kevin. As always he made us feel so welcome and at home. The service, attention to detail and menu is always first rate.
The Collingwood is our favourite hotel, and it has never disappointed us since discovering it four years ago.
So a very big thank you to Kevin and all at the Collingwood for our fantastic weekend. It was wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuzyML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I've stayed here 3 times now, and each time everything gets better. Every room is welcoming, comfy and spacious. The food is delicious..plenty of choice, the full english is a must! The staff are friendly, helpful and always around with a smile.
Great location for fishing, horse riding, shooting, walking etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaCN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. There is nothing to fault, at all, which is unusual for me! It is beautifully decorated in a cosy modem country style with a super ambiance. We loved:
Staff (breakfast, bar, dinner, housekeeping)
Beds and snugly quilt
Food (restaurant a bit nicer than the bistro)
Wine list
Residents library
Picnic

We would highly recommend this little hotel.

Room Tip: Room 8 Bellerophon was a very nice standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night and had a great time. great decor, superb ambience and friendly service. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We will definitely be going back for a special treat. Don't hesitate - just go!

Room Tip: We got a free upgrade, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitusfanaticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The Collingwood Arms was a treat for us and what a treat it was! Only an hour and a bit from Edinburgh and you are there. The hotel decor is exactly what I like with a boutique style bedroom and a roaring fire in the library. Food in the restaurant was thoughtful and considered. Kevin, Antony and their colleagues were friendly, polite and extremely helpful. There is a guest kitchen with free bottled water available for guests. Nice touch!
This hotel could be used as a base for touring the Borders and North of England or for a wee deserved break away from your usual busy lives.
Thank you Collingwood - we look forward to our return...

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PMHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornhill-on-Tweed
2.8 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill-on-Tweed
330 reviews
22.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,206 reviews
13.2 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coldstream
69 reviews
12.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
405 reviews
8.7 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kelso
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingwood Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingwood Arms Hotel

Property: The Collingwood Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Cornhill-on-Tweed TD12 4UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill-on-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cornhill-on-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Collingwood Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II Listed, luxury Georgian hotel set in glorious surroundings with views over the River Tweed. For 200 years The Collingwood Arms Hotel has provided a colourful focal point for Borders visitors. Guests are greeted in front of an open log fire, while the library offers a homely and restful retreat. The hotel bar upholds the Borders reputation for great hospitality, warm oak, antique leather and a relaxed atmosphere for friends, old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Collingwood Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Collingwood Arms Hotel Cornhill-On-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing