We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Borders hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Collingwood Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best Borders hotels”
Reviewed 24 February 2010

This our third visit this and hotel gets better each time. Kevin and his team really look after you and make you feel special. The rooms are modern and very comfortable - our bed was the most comfortable I have slept in. The food is excellent - the kitchen coped with my special diet without fluster. Public room are filled with art and books and the lounge has a log fire for those lazy afternoons. This is the kind of hotel you are reluctant to recommend in case it gets too popular, but that would be selfish. Go and enjoy it!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursus-Maritimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    46
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
51
192
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

My wife and I were travelling to Scotland for a wedding and spent 1 night at the Collingwood. Nothing was a problem for the excellent staff. We received a warm welcome when checking in and were extremely happy with our large room. The hotel has recently been refurbished and therefore is modern in style. We also ate in the restaurant which was also good and well priced.We could have eaten in the bar area that provided a good selection of food to. There was no extra cost for eating in the restaurant You are made to feel very much at home with the log fire burning. Out thanks go to Shona, Jody and Kevin who ensured we had a comfortable stay even though it was bilzzarding snow outside. If you want a warm welcoming weekend away or sightseeing or fishing trip look no further than the Collingwood Arms Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alistair24Morpeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

My wife and I recently dined at the fully refurbished Collingwood Arms Hotel, Cornhill. The transformation of the hotel from it's previous internal appearance is stunning.We found the staff attentive and friendly, however on the night we dined the food was average to poor in quality. I sampled a ham hock starter that was so rubbery I'm sure it could have doubled as a pencil eraser , and the sirloin steak was so fatty that it was like eating a bag of rubberbands. I doubt very much if we will ever return to the Collingwood for a meal, perhaps it's more suited to stop off point for a quiet drink, rather than an enjoyable culinary experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shark3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Great breakfast and massive soft bed - and a proper kennel for your dog if you have one

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menston62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2010

My fiancee and I stayed at the Collingwood last November and we both agreed that it was the best hotel that we have ever stayed in. Kevin and the team have worked hard to make this hotel the fine establishment it is and their efforts really show.

The service levels are excellent, food is delicious and extremely reasonably priced, whilst the bedrooms are furnished to a stunning standard.

We actually visited the Collingwood on purpose having read the reviews to see if could be suitable for our wedding reception in 2010. As soon as we walked through the front door we both felt like we were at home such was the relaxed and cosy atmosphere. Speaking to Kevin you get the feeling that nothing is too much trouble and he'll move heaven and hell to look after you during your stay. Suffice to say we have now booked the hotel for our wedding and have 100% faith in the team to make our day a truly memorable experience..

Well done Collingwood I say, It's a pity more hotels can't follow their example. Whether you are in the area or not the Collingwood is well worth a special trip; it truly is a gem!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

we spent two nights at this hotel as a result of the feedback on Trip Advisor and other websites.

We dined both in the restaurant and in the brasserie. Both were very good.

The hotel is well finished with appropriate decoration and style.

The service was welcoming and attentive but not overwhelming.

The room was large and well appointed. The bed was of good quality (good for my back) and comfortable with good quality bedding.

They even have kennels for your dog. Ours gave them a good quality rating.

Overall a lovely experience. We have rebooked for next April ;-)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Very enjoyable. Warm welcome from Kevin. Lovely room - we were in Mars. Good food and a relaxing atmosphere. Perfect for a visit to the Northumerland coast.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornhill-on-Tweed
2.8 mi away
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hot...
#1 of 2 in Cornhill-on-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
22.4 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
13.2 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
8.7 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Collingwood Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collingwood Arms Hotel

Property: The Collingwood Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Cornhill-on-Tweed TD12 4UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill-on-Tweed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cornhill-on-Tweed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Collingwood Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II Listed, luxury Georgian hotel set in glorious surroundings with views over the River Tweed. For 200 years The Collingwood Arms Hotel has provided a colourful focal point for Borders visitors. Guests are greeted in front of an open log fire, while the library offers a homely and restful retreat. The hotel bar upholds the Borders reputation for great hospitality, warm oak, antique leather and a relaxed atmosphere for friends, old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Collingwood Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Collingwood Arms Hotel Cornhill-On-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing