We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely menu and food!!”

The Collingwood Arms Hotel
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 2 January 2024

Fabulous food, especially the cured salmon and the steak, will definitely come back again, absolutely loved it!

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2023

Outdated restaurant with a poor menu. They have a menu in their web site but they offer you a different one in the restaurant. It used to be quite good 20 years ago but not any more. Spider webs, broken lamps on the walls and the tables are not clean. Special mention: the wine glasses! They look like plastic! They need to buy a decent gassware. It is a pity, the place is very nice but it needs a make over urgently. The man who served us seemed to be on a hurry and he was very grumpy. Not a nice experience, i would not recommend this restaurant…

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank medicesvenlodejotodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2022

don't just drive past on a Sunday the lunch is superb as per the last time and is verry good value for money

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank deere3600
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2022 via mobile

Visited tonight with my wife . One of the best in the local area and we live here! The scallops and trout starter both perfect . The home made bread and beetroot butter and unexpected treat . The mains of lamb and pheasant all cooked and tasted lovely . Disappointed we have not tried before so close to home . Very very impressed . Compared to some of the high end places I’ve visited (in my reviews) this is as good as now closed Mizen head in Bamburgh .

Please give it a try . Wasn’t busy but I would book at a weekend . If you like boring food maybe not for you !

Date of visit: October 2022
1  Thank Ainslieburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2022

called in ,not booked ,any chance of a sunday lunch for2?. no problem.
absolutely superb grub beef perfect,lamb excellent puds to die for.we will be back soon

Date of visit: June 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deere3600
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Collingwood Arms Hotel also viewed

Coldstream, Scottish Borders
Coldstream, Scottish Borders
 
Crookham, Northumberland
Coldstream, Scottish Borders
 

Been to The Collingwood Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.