We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is a beautifully situated old fashioned country house hotel. Approached by a long driveway the building and grounds are really lovely. Booked by phone and Elaine explained the features of all the rooms, which are very individual. We settled on one of the "state rooms", room 4 "Tillside". The room was large and nicely furnished, with a 6ft wide four poster, two armchairs, a chaise longue and attractive old wooden wardrobe, dressing table etc. There were 3 large windows overlooking the gardens and a pleasant en suite bathroom.
Best bits
Lovely room, quiet, lovely views. Very good dinner. Beautiful setting.
Worst bits
Despite the quietness, we slept really badly. The mattress was thin and felt old. Small old TV seemed lost in the room - needs a 40in flat screen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have just stayed at this fantastic country house. Very relaxing and not stuffy. The management and staff were attentative but not over powering. The food was excellent the trio of game was cooked perfectly. I tried the Lebanon Chateau Musar. It was the perfect partner for the dish and at a very good price. In my opinion this is a very special building with very dedicated operators.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank eastcoldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

If you are looking for traditional Northumberland comfort and outstanding food, this Hotel - with the longest woodland drive I have ever seen, is worth visiting. It has all the splendor of a bygone era,with an impressive Oak staircase and public rooms, plus the restaraunt still has silver service, but the menu is right up to date with interesting dishes. The wine list is not that comprehensive, but well chosen, without being to expensive, a must visit for anybody who appreciates quality and service. Brian from Suffolk

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianfromyoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and myself stayed in this hotel for a few nights at the beginning of July as we wanted a weekend break for my husbands birthday. I looked online for last minute offers on Booking.com etc but the best price was on the hotel site itself. I rang to book but was told the £99 per night was no longer available I would have an extra £50 per night to have a state room. I then booked with another company for £120 per night. When we arrived we had been allocated a state room anyway which I think must have been the best in the hotel, four poster bed, three piece suit, dressing table in the main area and a lovely large bathroom, it made you feel you were back in victorian times. The rooms are spotless and the veiws breathtaking. The only negative is I would have liked a modern tv not the small old tv that was lost and out of place in the lovely room. The staff were very friendly and chatty in both reception and in the dining room, the lady in charge of the dining room was fantastic, friendly, informative about the menu and also knew the area well and was able to suggest places to visit. There is plenty of parking in the massive drive and also the grounds are lovely. I will definataly visit this hotel again given half the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninacc789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Quaint, traditional country hotel. Menu lacking inspiration and seemed a little dated which was a shame because the food was all excellent. All about 'locally sourced, good quality'. With the range available something a little more exciting/different would have been good.

Service was very friendly and attentive. We'll be back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A rather small Country House Hotel but nevertheless large in charm. It's setting is stunning, from the nature paths through wild garlic fields and pasture lands. Lot's of space (physical as well as mental) to seek moments of withdrawal from the world. Sure, I could find things to pick on if I tried but I had such a lovely time that I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ice-bjorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Recently had a birthday celebration. Family dinner. We were made to feel welcome and the staff made it a special evening. We only used the restaurant on this occasion. Excellent food and service. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornhill-on-Tweed
10.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
495 reviews
24.8 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
22 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
430 reviews
17.2 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
222 reviews
24.2 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel

Address: Cornhill-on-Tweed TD12 4UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill-on-Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cornhill-on-Tweed
Price Range: £114 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alnwick
Tillmouth Park Country Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel Cornhill-On-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing