We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff and beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We arrived on 12 th July to a warm welcome help with our luggage and shown our lovely green room on the first floor . Food was excellent dining room beautiful, staff we'll trained and friendly . Shirley who served us all week was a font of knowledge and a treasure . The hotel is lucky to have her . We can t fault the hotel or the area .

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile


Stayed here Friday night on a Groupon deal
Sad that such an outstanding old country house has to succumb to doing deals these days
We had a glorious stay in the Garden Suite overlooking the lawns .
We enjoyed a faultless evening meal served by attentive staff .
Breakfast too was not to be missed . Too marks all round .

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Wedding celebrations for our son and new daughter-in-law - welcoming and friendly staff who remembered our names all weekend and always had a smile. Garden room suite was spacious and comfortable - and the bathroom toiletries were lovely too! We ate in the restaurant on the Friday and had an excellent meal from a good menu, breakfast next morning also good. The food at the reception was perfect, the room just right for the number of guests and the staff were unobtrusively attentive. As it was a lunchtime reception we decided we needed something to eat later in the evening and Shirley assured us it would be no problem if we just wanted a starter - some of us did, though my son had a steak (!) which looked very tasty! Quite agree about the standard of the staff - excellent. A very enjoyable weekend for so many reasons (and the sun managed to come out too!).

Room Tip: The Garden Suite rooms (2) are a very short walk from the main hotel, are spacious and have views ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maisiesmum008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

its my 2nd time now iv stayed at Tillmouth country house. from the moment you arrive you feel so relaxed its a beautiful place so peaceful and tranquil and the food and service in the restaurant is 5 star shirley is a wonderful lovely women she always makes your stay feel specials thank you and the rest of the team for a lovely relaxing Weekend. i will look forward to returning once again in the near future

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karl-sugden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a Groupon deal. Room on top floor (no lift) spacious and clean. Breakfasts and evening meals superb. Shirley in restaurant a gem - couldn't help us enough and nothing a problem. Phillippa on reception very helpful also - in fact best overall team of staff we've ever come across in a hotel. Made us feel at home from the moment we walked through the door. Impressive building and extensive grounds. Cant wait to return !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate_and_Mike_0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Public rooms are beautiful with original wood & glass panelling. Not too much modernisation which means the layout is still more like a country house than a hotel and as such provides a glimpse of what life must have been like for the wealthy 100+ years ago. The dining room & several lounges are light & airy with views over the expansive gardens. Not 5* opulence but great 3* comfort.

The grounds are large enough for a pleasant stroll around formal paths & wilder wooded areas. The location in a quiet corner of beautiful north Northumberland is within easy access of the many local attractions. If you don't know this area you are missing a treat.

Food is locally sourced, well cooked & presented with a decent choice on menu and additional daily specials. Portions are quite large and more traditional in style rather than 'fine dining' but still delicious & excellent value. Wine is very reasonably priced. We were NOT on a groupon offer but still found hotel's own rates to be very fair (and we paid extra for a state room!)

We had a couple of very minor niggles: no Wi-Fi in bedroom / old fashioned TV/ only one pack of biscuits for 2 for 2 nights. BUT these things are not important and are far outweighed by the many positives.

As mentioned in other reviews the staff here really do go the extra mile to provide good service.
The young local waiters & porter are lucky to have the consummately professional senior staff as mentors.

Room Tip: Go for one of the state rooms, large overlooking the grounds & well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aporo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights bed and breakfast we had dinner on the second night. The hotel was just lovely. Like a private country house. I had booked a room with a four poster bed. It was like staying in a national trust property. The food was good, nice menu well cooked and the restaurant a lovely big room . All staff very friendly and helpful. We were able to walk our dogs around the grounds in the evening. They were allowed in the bar too. From our room we could see the ruined towers of Twizzel Castle in the distance so walked to it across the medieval Twizzle bridge. The modern road bridge was next to it. If you like history you will love this. We visited Kelso, Cragside and the Northumberland coast. I would go again and recommend to anyone. The only thing I might suggest is a fan for the room as we got the afternoon sun and it got too hot. Excelent free wifi in the big lounge.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornhill-on-Tweed
10.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
495 reviews
24.8 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
22 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Queens Head Hotel
Queens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
430 reviews
17.2 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
222 reviews
24.2 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel

Address: Cornhill-on-Tweed TD12 4UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cornhill-on-Tweed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cornhill-on-Tweed
Price Range: £114 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alnwick
Tillmouth Park Country Hotel
Tillmouth Park Country House Hotel Cornhill-On-Tweed, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing